Monday Blessing: A Resounding Yes….

I find that the lessons I learn from my relationship with my children often teach me the most about my relationship with God and the Universe. In my household, I am a single mother of two young children.  That makes *me* the head of the household, kind of the Goddess of my little Universe.  I love my children whole-heartedly, enthusiastically, unconditionally.  Just as God/the Universe loves me.  Our interactions mirror each other; as I raise my children lovingly, kindly…God/the Universe looks upon me in the same parallel ways.  Parenting my children is my greatest pleasure…just as guiding me pleases God/the Universe. My children are my Little Ones…just as I am God/the Universe Little One.

My children and I speak openly; we often frequently compromise to make sure that our time is used in ways we all enjoy, that we are all three thriving in our environment. I often ask for their input on most family things, yet it is recognized that I have the final say. I like to think this is the same way my relationship with God/the Universe works.  I speak openly, I remain quiet and listen for answers, there is frequently compromise, we want our time used wisely so Spirit thrives as I grow.   I want to talk to God/the Universe and know I am heard, just as God/the Universe wants to talk with me and know They are heard.

In my family’s little Universe, going to a theme park is a very special treat.  It requires preparation, a rather long drive, quite a lot of money, and at this time in my life while I heal from surgery I am not allowed to participate in riding the rides (an activity I absolutely enjoy!) so on my part it requires patience and an open heart.  We all three greatly enjoy theme parks–we often go to celebrate a birthday, a holiday, or a special day…but since a theme park is a treat for us we have never casually gone “just to go”. 

My children and I had a weekend off together during which we had absolutely no commitments.  This is a very rare occurence, so quite special for us.  I asked them what they would like to do.  My son looked at me and said “Go to Universal?”  (Universal as in Universal Studios, Hollywood–a theme park).  With no hesitation, I said “Yes”.  He was astonished.  My daughter was speechless.  He said “Really?  Are you serious?” barely able to believe that is how easy it was…ask and you shall receive.  I said “Yes, I am serious. We will go during this particular weekend because you asked.”  We decided we would like friends to join us if possible, so made our plans. 

Over the next two weeks, my son would check in with me to make sure we were really going.  Yes, we were.  Just the thought warmed his heart, which also warmed mine.  So simple.  We went to Universal Studios.  We had an amazing time.  The children were joy filled to spend the day together with friends at this theme park, they were appreciative of all of it, they were just so *happy*.  The day flew by.  A very very special treat. 

Before I share the ending of our Universal trip with you, you need one bit of information..My son’s birthday is in the month of June.  He previously told me that what he truly wanted for his birthday was to go to Six Flags on his actual birthday with friends.  His request was heartfelt, yet with my current resources (time, money, state of my car) I couldn’t see how to fulfill his request.  I believe in manifesting–a concept my children are learning.  When he originally told me of his request, I gave it to God and the Universe.  On the day of our trip to Universal Studios, I asked God and the Universe to please address my son’s wish and to guide me in allowing for it to manifest.  Our day at Universal was so successful that at the end of the day, my friend told me she had six tickets to Six Flags and would we want to go with her family since this day we had spent together was so enjoyable.  I asked if she was able to go on my son’s birthday, she was.  So…on a spontaneous trip to Universal which I agreed to just because my son asked, and the children were so awesome, my son manifested his birthday wish. Did your jaw drop???  Because mine and his did. 

On our drive home, my son was absolutely incredulous.  He said “I can’t believe I asked and you said yes, then my birthday trip happened.”  I smiled.  I’ve been there myself.

I’ve been in the spot where I thought God/the Universe just knew but I asked anyway.  I boldly asked for the treat that would make my heart happy.  On a whim.  Almost didn’t ask because my mind thought how could it be granted, it’s so unreal; yet I asked because my heart said please this is what I’d truly like as a reward.  So, I asked…and  I received a resounding “Yes”.  Just like my son, my reaction was astonishment as in “Really????  You really mean Yes?”  It’s *that* easy???  And then, I received my wish happily enjoying every second of it. 

In the beginning of this post, I shared with you I am the Goddess of my little Universe, because often I learn my life lessons from parenting my children.  My son reminded me of the pure joy of asking, then receiving, and reveling in the reward.  A resounding Yes!  all because he had the faith to just ask…..but, he had to actually ask, believe it was a possibility, then enjoy it when it is given….

Just as I need to Ask, believe it’s a possibility, and enjoy it when it is given.

Each day may there be something delightful–

Perhaps even unexpected–

That touches your heart.

May your heart remain open,

Faith filled,

So that you may ask

With a childlike innocence,

For the little treat that your heart truly desires.

And when you receive

A resounding YES!

May you allow your heart to leap in joy,

Your smile to illuminate your face, your eyes, your being.

May you revel in every single moment of your treat

Knowing that you absolutely deserve it–

Absolutely deserve the joy in it

And may you share it with others if applicable

Or savor the delicious moments for yourself if applicable.

May you continue to ask for, then receive…

A resounding YES!

May you also recognize the moments when

God and the Universe

are gently asking you for a treat that gives great joy,

when you hear the question..

may you also give

A resounding YES!

And may you always remember to say *thank you*

With pure gratitude in your heart….

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Jay on May 24, 2010 - 12:23 pm

    That’s really cool that he was able to manifest his birthday wish. to use one of my favorite quotes from Star Wars: The Force is strong in that one!

    I like how you emphasized that he had to ask – it’s the same with God/the Universe. You have to ask for what you want; without asking, the Universe can’t provide. I know many people (myself included) that get hung up on that part, so it’s a good reminder.

    Thank you for another wonderful blessing!

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 26, 2010 - 4:32 am

      Jay,
      “The Force” is definitely strong…and it’s accessible to us all. I think we all tend to ask, but sometimes not for the big things/the thing our heart truly desires. There are fears to overcome, and really the second part is graciously receiving what you’ve manifested…..

  2. #3 by The Exception on May 24, 2010 - 3:55 pm

    Sometimes the most challenging thing is asking – and yet it is the aspect of it that starts the ball rolling “ask and you shall receive.”

    What fun – what a great time you will have – and what a great lesson for all of us!

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 26, 2010 - 4:30 am

      The Exception,
      Asking is sometimes most difficult because we often have to sidestep past fears to ask for what we presently desire. Yet, when the resounding Yes! comes what joy there is, and the only way to experience *that* is to ask…..

  3. #5 by Tony Single on May 24, 2010 - 10:36 pm

    So cool that your son got to go on the Universal trip AND will get to go to Six Flags. 🙂

    And please pardon my ignorance but I had to wiki Six Flags as I’ve never heard of it before (not being American). Now that I know what it is, I WANT TO GO! 😛

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 26, 2010 - 4:29 am

      Tony,
      So cool that my son manifested his own personal miracles:) And we can too!
      I did not explain Six Flags because it never crossed my mind someone would be unfamiliar….I’m glad you wiki’d it and now have a theme park to plan for LOL!

  4. #7 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on May 25, 2010 - 12:15 pm

    Your son inspired me with his “ask and you shall receive” methodology. Isn’t it funny how sometimes we forget — actually forget — to ask for what we want? We lose sight of the fact that we are the wizards and witches of our lives (good wizards & witches, that is!), able to wave our thoughts around and get exactly what we want!

    His innocence and ability to believe that EVERYTHING is truly possible stirs my cells. They dance for him, and celebrate his victory!

    We are all one, and his success is OUR success.

    You have some amazing kids, Joy, and you, yourself, are amazing.

    Namaste, my beautiful friend!

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 26, 2010 - 4:25 am

      Hi Megan,
      *You* are the queen of manifesting–you teach me so much in this area! At this point in his life, my son is thinking that yes, absolutely anything is possible, because he has seen/experienced most frequently that which he felt impossible becoming reality. I tend to point that out to my children, while some people might not even be aware.
      You are right, Megan, we are all One, so let’s share the joy of his victory and let that amazing Energy prompt us all to manifest miracles within our own lives:)

  5. #9 by Wilma Ham on May 25, 2010 - 11:49 pm

    Oh Joy, yes, children are wonderful in their innocent perception and I so agree with you that parenting and God’s ways are similar. God is very practical and down to earth, so is parenting. Ask from a place of innocence, receive from a place of joy and life will happen.
    My jaw did fall and yet this is really how life is meant to be, isn’t it?
    I am thrilled for you all and I love you as my role model, much love Wilma

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 26, 2010 - 4:22 am

      Wilma.
      As I read your comment, I realize I am always trying to ‘understand’ God….so I use my parenting relationship as a mirror because it is familiar to me. I will need to process that, I truly believe the concept of God/Universe Energy is heartfelt not mind led. Hmm…
      Yes, Wilma, manifesting miracles should be a ‘normal’ celebrated part of life, yet as you point out it requires asking from a palce of innocence, and most of us at some point in our lives have felt far removed from that place…..I am glad we are all standing together:)

  6. #11 by Evita on May 26, 2010 - 12:55 am

    Wow, this was an incredible story Joy!

    And yes, my mouth did drop 🙂 I know things like this are not supposed to shock us, as it really is that easy (or I should say …. it can be that easy) with us too. But we do not trust enough, have enough patience or faith of whatever it is that holds so many of us back.

    You DID an AMAZING thing just by saying that beautiful word “yes”. I am so thrilled for your kids to grow up with a mom like you – they are so lucky. But I know you feel the same way having them 🙂

    • #12 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 26, 2010 - 4:19 am

      Hi Evita,
      In my own life, I am still wonder filled about the miracles that manifest, but I am most open so it does happen frequently; however, it is most glorious to watch “beginners” manifest. Watching my son’s reaction is priceless:) I think our minds hold us back, while our hearts beg for the freedom to manifest.
      I learned long ago to say yes…and the details will follow. As far as parenting, I know *I* am blessed to be my children’s mother…what I learn from them enriches my life in many ways!

  7. #13 by Keith on May 26, 2010 - 1:18 am

    Hello Joy,

    Wow! That is so awesome! When things like this happen I can’t help it…my jaw drops every time! It’s exciting and wonderful. Each time I experience such a thing, which I admit is not often enough, it fills my heart with wonder and the knowing of what is possible…and that’s anything!

    Thank you so much for this powerful reminder of the nature of the Universe we share.

    • #14 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 26, 2010 - 4:15 am

      Hi Keith,
      Exciting and wonderful are awe-some adjectives to describe the power we have to say yes and receive amazing surprises! We have the potential to experience this daily–many times throughout each day–if we allow our hearts to be open to this beautiful cycle. You are absolutely right–*anything* is possible; let’s celebrate that!

  8. #15 by Hilary on May 26, 2010 - 8:48 am

    Hi Joy .. that was wonderful .. and so beautiful that it all fell into place and happened exactly as was desired and wished for .. a happy family on two days! This will be a fantastic memory for you all .. you are so good at expressing your thoughts to us out here .. and I admire you with the way the children are growing up – they will so appreciate your thoughtfulness and care now .. a brilliant Mum .. Happy Days – Hilary

    • #16 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 26, 2010 - 4:26 pm

      Hi Hilary,
      My son is absolutely thrilled with his results….and what we’ve noticed is that the energy from that keeps multiplying so that each day has something delight filled in it. Admittedly, my son is also now most aware, which is also key to manifesting–to be open and aware.
      I share his stories because such delight is possible for each one of us…..

  9. #17 by Keith Davis on May 26, 2010 - 7:22 pm

    Hi Joy
    Super story and so well told.
    As you say most of us never ask especially as we become adults.
    Reminded me of things that I asked my mum for when I was a child and only now do I realise how she struggled to give me what I wanted.
    I would bet that this post has stirred memories in all your readers and given us all something to think about – simple story, powerful post!

    • #18 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 26, 2010 - 11:19 pm

      Hi Keith,
      My philosophy in general is to say ‘yes’ to life/the Universe/God and figure out the details, or watch them unfold, as it happens….I embrace life and the rest follows:)
      Knowing this, though, my son rarely asks for anything. So, when he does ask I know it is a special, most dear request for him. This was a poignant reminder that I am not the puppet master at all–a hand far bigger than mine is guiding my son along….and I love watching wonder unfold in my children’s lives…reminds me to allow for wonder in mine…..

  10. #19 by Angela Artemis on May 29, 2010 - 3:17 am

    Hi Joy,
    What a wonderful post and demonstration of manifesting you received! I love the happy ending. You are certainly setting a great example for your children.

    • #20 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 29, 2010 - 4:11 pm

      Hi Angela,
      Thank you:) As happens with us all when we are open to Energy, this is only the beginning of manifesting for my son…already he has seen many more resounding “yes’s”…it is great fun to dream then watch them come true:)

  11. #21 by Chania Girl on May 30, 2010 - 7:04 am

    Hi, Joy. I’m so glad you stopped by “my place” because it led me to “your place.” This post resonated with me in many many ways, not the least of which was the miraculous asking and receiving (a similar situation in my own life landed me in Greece!).

    I grew up in a very religious household, but it was a household where God seemed to be a big meany, only giving things when he wanted and reserving the right to say no to any requests if they weren’t in my best interest = a lot of them, at least as it seemed to me. As such, over the years I began to just not God for anything. Why would I if He was that stingy in granting favors? Fortunately for me, my relationship with God changed in my late 20s and so did my understanding. The God I speak to now is a God who loves me infinitely and is the source of all abundance, and abundance that He wants to share with me and encourages me to participate in the making of. I ask God all the time now for things, even the things on a whim, and I am amazed how often He says, “You know what? Yep! That’s a great idea!” I’ve also learned to be part of the making of some of my own miracles, and that’s wonderful too.

    The reason I say all this is because your post reminded me that many times we don’t receive simply because we do not ask. But I think there may be many people (like me at one time) who don’t see the point of asking because their idea of God is one of limits and conditions and demands. It took the transformation of my idea of God to transform me. Maybe this is something we should all be striving to help change, to help others know that God is no big meany (or some broken down vending machine). I have relationship with God: I think that’s the key. But it wouldn’t have been possible if I’d still dreaded talking to him. What do you think?

    • #22 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 30, 2010 - 11:02 pm

      First, I’m way jazzed to have found your site….I love your humor and your insight, so I look forward to knowing you!
      Okay. God and asking. Whatever force you believe in, I think it’s important to know that you may ask, you may ask *anything*; and then to be ready to receive because the Answer is always given.
      You may receive a no–which is not personal, based upon whether you are deserving or not, or anything about you at all…a no just means that what you are asking for would somehow distract from the moment you are in. A no also means that there is something more right, probably bigger and better than what you have asked for; so there are times I receive a no and think oh wow something way cool is in my future!!!
      You may also receive a resounding YES! Easy, effortless, placed in your life at exactly the right moment. A yes does not mean you are ‘more worthy’ or somehow better than when you received a no, nor more worthy or better than anyone else…a yes means it is appropriate to move you forward in your journey, touch your heart in some way.
      “It took the transformation of my idea of God to transform *me*.” Well put…we are integral to anything that happens in our life…so any time we allow for transformation, we have healed and grown and embraced in a big way…that is surely a resounding YES! all on it’s own:)

  12. #23 by Jodi Sloane on May 30, 2010 - 10:56 pm

    What a sweet story, Joy! How amazing that your manifesting your son’s birthday wish worked out, too. There is much to be learned from the children in our life. Thank you for those fun comparisons you made from mothering your kids to God/the Universe mothering you.

  13. #24 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 30, 2010 - 11:28 pm

    Hi Jodi,
    So good to see you:)
    I speak to my children of God, of Energy, of Love…but haven’t really used the term manifesting. As I read your comment, it hit me that my son manifested an invitation a few weeks ago as he wished and I used the term manifestation and we spoke about it together, and now “manifesting” is almost the norm for him. Neat little lesson for us all I believe:) When you believe anything can happen, and you remain open to it, then…truly anything *can* and does happen:)

  14. #25 by Meredith on June 20, 2010 - 4:31 pm

    Ah, beautiful story of manifesting! Very refreshing. I am in awe of your children getting to learn these important lessons directly from their own mother, and so early on. How wonderful for your whole family — an even better gift than the trip to Six Flags. 🙂

    • #26 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 20, 2010 - 6:20 pm

      Hi Meredith,
      Thank you!
      Manifesting is a resource that my children are delighted to share…It is a way of life for them..as natural as drinking water…they have not learned fear of power or of realizing dreams..and for that I am grateful..I had not known manifesting was an option until my adult life..I think how rich and multi-layered my childrens lives will be as they are Aware of the flow of Energy at such a young age..Life may as magical as I wish it to be..I just have to allow for it….
      We just went to Six Flags yesterday..it was awesome in many many ways…

Leave a comment