Monday Blessing: Delight…

This past December, a good friend surprised me with my very own djembe drum.  Put it in the cockpit of my boat on a star filled night so that when I returned home I would find it.  I had been to drum circles–I loved the energy, I loved the rhythm, I loved the vibe of it all.  I priced drums only to find they were out of my price range…my friend’s surprise delighted my heart, and continues to delight my life each time I use it.  The most perfect gift for me, given unconditionally, with no expectation, to enrich my life in huge ways.  One example of delight.

Today, I participated in a drum circle at the harbor close to my comfort beach.  The sun was shining, the  sky was clear, the day was absolutely gorgeous.  I had to work in the afternoon, but I decided to forgo sleep and chores to participate in this drum circle. I was unfamiliar with the host, and I knew many people would gather to watch because it was a holiday weekend at a busy tourist location–so I was a bit nervous.  When I arrived, the host was absolutely, amazingly talented (I later learned he has toured nationwide and entertained on many major talk shows) and the drum circle itself had quite a few participants on a platform so the crowd could watch them rather than join them as I am used to.  Fear trickled in.  I didn’t think I was talented enough, my drum in comparison seemed small, many excuses came rushing in.  But the beat of the drums, the warmth of the sun, the opportunity to participate called to me,  so I took my drum and sat in the circle. 

Speechless.  As I found my rhythm, as the host led, as the energy from the circle and the crowd soared all under the warmth of the full sun by the beach that I love….I felt absolute delight.  Absolutely worthy of the moment…worthy to sit in the circle, add my own particular beat, learn from the others, share when it was my turn, bask in the sunshine, let the Energy from the circle magnify and flow through me.  Delight.

Each day I pick a friend and  I communicate with them in some written form–may your heart be open to the delight filled treasures of the day, may the delight of the day fill your heart.  As I send the words, I accept them for myself.  May *my* heart be open to the delight filled treasures of the day, may the delight of the day fill *my* heart.

To experience delight, I must be open to the moment as it is with no expectations, no criteria, no barriers….I must be ready to accept and embrace, to receive graciously.  I must be alert to surprise, to joy, to little treasures sprinkled throughout my day.  Delight requires that I leave fear, hurt, worry, doubt, disappointment, disillusionment, obligation behind me so that I may fully appreciate all that is given in this moment.  Delight requires that I feel thankful for what I *do* have, not bitter about what I do not. 

Delight may be as simple as waking in the morning to see the suns’ rays streaming through the window, lighting my space and knowing this is the perfect beginning.  Delight may be as complex as planning out an event and watching it flow smoothly.  Delight may be obtaining a goal.  Delight may be releasing anything hindering.  Delight may be accepting anything that allows me to move forward. 

Delight means that my heart is saying YES! to the Universe.  Delight means I am standing in Faith, believing anything is possible.  Delight means that my Spirit is mindfully present celebrating this moment.  Delight means that my space is clean and ready for anything.  Delight means that I am allowing God/the Universe to surprise me in whatever method best suits my personality, in a way that makes me want to dance, sing, shout out THANK YOU!!!!  because something has touched my heart, my soul, my spirit.

I may be an instrument of delight when I allow myself to share graciously, which sometimes requires stepping outside of my comfort zone, or a sacrifice on my part.  I may be an instrument of delight when I take the time to say any of the following: thank you, I love you, I forgive you,  I am thinking about you, I am sorry, I am so glad for you, you are awe-some and you matter.  Even more delight filled, I may actually expand upon those words and with a thoughful gesture, gift, note…*show* that I love you,  I forgive you..etc.

As you experience this day,

this week,

this new month with all that it offers….

May your heart be open to the delight filled treasures of the day, and may the delight of the day fill your heart.

May you allow yourself to be used an instrument of delight,

Even as you graciously accept the delight

Divinely placed in the day for you.

May you be open to delight,

may you graciously receive delight,

may you generously provide delight,

May you be thankful for each delight filled moment,

and how your heart expands,

your spirit soars,

your soul celebrates

as delight is presented to you.

 

**If you missed Friday’s guest post by Lisa from Sacred Circle, you may want to check it out Lisa\’s guest post because she is sponsoring a fabulous giveaway to one lucky reader who comments.  **

Please join me this Wednesday for a guest post by Simon Hay, a healer and a writer who inspires me to embrace all that I am and allow my Light to shine to it’s capacity.

Delight filled indeed:)

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Jay Schryer on May 31, 2010 - 6:32 pm

    This post, like all of the rest, is a source of delight in itself. I love how you experience delight in your life, and share it with us here. Truly, you are an instrument of delight. May we all learn from your example, so that we, too, can be instruments of delight for those around us.

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 2, 2010 - 2:03 am

      Jay,
      Thank you!
      When you let your heart lead, you may experience delight as well…..each moment has amazing delight filled potential that is available the moment we make the choice to tap into it. Some are content to sit on the sidelines, some just jump in….

  2. #3 by Evita on May 31, 2010 - 11:04 pm

    Hello Joy

    Oh a djembe drum how wonderful indeed!

    You know, over a year ago, my husband who has never touched a musical instrument got an inner call to get drums. He started with a set of congas, which were his first choice and I couldn’t believe that he was a natural. So a few months later he got a djembe. And we both LOVE the energy of the music and the vibration.

    It really does touch something deep within and so I totally understand your delight Joy with the drum circles. We have never been to one, but hope to in the future. I have tried the drums on and off, but somehow what he makes look so easy, my coordination cannot fathom 😉

    Lovely piece – thanks for sharing Joy and may we all continue to expand our hearts!

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 2, 2010 - 2:01 am

      Evita,
      Thank you!
      If you feel uncoordinated, you may use a ‘shaker’ to add your own rhythm as your husband plays, or you may allow the Energy to envelop you and use that to share in another way….There are online drum circles you may want to try, you still share amazing energy even if you are not physically together. One day, perhaps we will play together…now that would be delight-filled indeed!
      As you say….”may we all continue to expand our hearts….”

  3. #5 by Jodi Sloane on June 1, 2010 - 2:47 am

    Hi Joy, What a wonderful story! I really like how you describe delight. I also love this line in your drum circle story about how your delight led you to feel “absolutely worthy of the moment”–that is truly spectacular!

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 2, 2010 - 1:56 am

      Hi Jodi,
      Thank you!
      I have found that sometimes people are reluctant to participate in a moment in life because they do not feel worthy– they are judging themselves so allow the moment to pass. When fear trickles in, I cling to faith and I enjoy the moment anyway. I would hate to miss out on anything just because my mind overruled the whispers of my heart!!! The Energy I shared, and the Energy I received from the circle and the audience was fantastic, and continues to add to my life days later…..

  4. #7 by Wilma Ham on June 1, 2010 - 6:46 am

    Oh Joy, this I absolutely love; “I may be an instrument of delight when I allow myself to share graciously”
    That is so spot on, when you share you heart, when you are self expressed with the drum, you become an instrument of delight and you delight a lot of people that way.
    You delight me as I somehow see you there drumming; it does help I have sen you on your video but still.
    Drum on, you instrument of delight. Much love, Wilma

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 2, 2010 - 1:54 am

      Wilma,
      Thank you!
      For you, I will have the next drum circle video’d….
      When I share my heart, when I celebrate my own rhythm and allow it to mix with others’ *that* is true collaboration that you’ve written about…the stuff of life…..It’s expressing my joy even if I’m afraid, it’s allowing the sunshine to warm my skin as I celebrate life…..

  5. #9 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on June 1, 2010 - 11:05 am

    In a word, reading this post was “delightful.” And truly, being friends with you is equally so. I loved reading about your experience in the drumming circle and see many more experiences like that in your future. YOU are rhythm. YOU are the undercurrent of this beautiful world we live in. YOU provide music that those around you dance to throughout their days.

    Thank you, and bless you!

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 2, 2010 - 1:52 am

      Megan,
      Thank you for your kind words. There are days I wonder if my rhythm is all my own, and how isolating, so to mix it with others is fantastic on many levels. The drum circle is one of the most healing, accepting places, but in this instance I thought that the audience might be judgmental. I focused on the good if it..the audience clapped and danced and I know many members found their own rhythm even as we helped to set the beat….Something we all do in our own way…I just seem to do it most publicly these days–LOL:)

  6. #11 by Tess The Bold Life on June 1, 2010 - 11:25 am

    Hi Joy,
    I couldn’t help but think of my grandchildren because they are “delight” and bring it to all around them including me because I’m so in love with them and see nothing but their light.

    So today I will participate in delight by being de-light! You bring out the best in me my friend;) Have a wonderful and delightful day and month as well.

    And the drum circle sounded like the perfect activity for a day on the beach.

    • #12 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 2, 2010 - 1:49 am

      Tess,
      How insightful….you love them and see nothing but their light, so your grandchildren delight you….Isn’t that the way???? For me to allow my heart to remain open to express love fully, to turn my mind off so I may see Light in all and find delight in the world around me.
      And, yes, the drum circle–quite delightful in many many ways. One of the ways I realize only in hindsight exactly how blessed I truly am. I was so fearful of where my little drum would take me, now I embrace it all even as it takes me to places I could never have imagined:)

  7. #13 by The Exception on June 1, 2010 - 7:19 pm

    What a delightful post!! This weekend I experienced delight as the motorcycles shared our space with their giving of time and energy in memorial. I shared my daughter’s delight in the rides at our little festival as she shared in my delight at adding more life to my garden.
    I loved how you described delight! Keep living to the beat of your drum!

    • #14 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 2, 2010 - 1:45 am

      The Exception,
      Thank you!
      You kept your heart open and in return received wonderful surprises, joy filled moments *and* life in your garden:)
      My children remind me of delight as I do all possible to provide them with delight, then to remain open to receive it as innocently and graciously as they do….

  8. #15 by Amy on June 1, 2010 - 11:56 pm

    I love that you do these things. It feels good to step out and do something like this. Glad you enjoyed a beautiful day with your drum.

    • #16 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 2, 2010 - 1:42 am

      Hi Amy,
      Thank you for stopping in 🙂
      Perhaps it’s the spontaneous delight that thrills my heart…the remaining open to anything and everything and allowing God’s hand and the Universe to guide me….
      I love my drum. I love that someone knows me enough to delight me in such a way–to present me with an “instrument” that allows me to stretch and grow beyond my current state….

  9. #17 by Hilary on June 2, 2010 - 6:54 am

    Hi Joy .. what a wonderful story – I can feel the rhythm in your words, and your story .. let alone the gentle rumble through the universe .. what a fantastic time you had .. & which will offer you and the children lots of opportunities and fun times –

    Enjoy the weekend .. Hilary

Leave a comment