Monday Blessing: Diamonds and Pearls….

There are signs everywhere; sometimes it takes me a bit to catch on.  As in every single morning this past week, the moment I woke the song “Diamonds and Pearls” by Prince popped right into my head.  Every single day, and sometimes throughout the day, the refrain “diamonds and pearls” would pop into my mind.  It’s the smidgeon of the song that I know, not much.  I used to love Prince’s music but hadn’t heard it in such a long time; this song might have been one of my favorites, but it would have been so long ago.  I did not see the relevance at all. Am I literally wanting jewelry?  Figuratively wanting nuggets of wisdom?  Why was Prince’s song standing out to me?

After a few days (okay sometimes it takes me a while to catch on!) I looked up the lyrics as I listened to the song on You Tube.  This is what stood out to me:

“There will come a time, when love will blow your mind,

And everything you’ll look for you’ll find

(Take a look inside, yeah)

That will be the time, that everything will shine,

So bright it makes you colorblind….”

Sing it to me Prince:

Catchy–makes you move a bit. A gift from the Universe in a way I can understand….it’s like God/the Universe telling me, here you are little one…look around you at the abundance in your life.  Each time you question, there is an Answer.  When you doubt that Love makes a difference, I magnify it for you.   When you question your Brilliance, look to the stars and allow them to reflect yourself back to you.  When you don’t know your Way, I hold your hand and bring you the best way possible. 

I *am in* the place where Love has blown my mind.  Literally. Love as the ultimate Answer. The past month has been one of huge transformation for me.  I allowed my heart whispers to reign free, and the result was not A like I had wanted or even B like I would have settled for.  The result was an explosion clear in my face.  Ouch.  I had a clear choice.  Choice A to let my hurt shrivel my heart and close me down, or choice B to accept each moment as it is and let the energy from that explosion reverberate through each area of my life.  I chose B.  I needed that explosion because I was heading a good way, but not the ‘right way for me’.  So, bam, explosion. 

I am in the time “that everything I look for I’ll find”.  I cleaned the rubble, healed the wound, began rebuilding.  Allowing God and the Universe to make beauty from those pieces all around me.  Nice pieces–strong Faith, open heart, each piece all of good within me– but I was trying to jam them into the framework of a puzzle they didn’t belong in.  I said okay, I get it, here I am, please show me…so God and the Universe took what I have and magnified it, led me down this new path that already in one month has been so amazing I have no words yet to describe it.  I have always had vision boards and dream boards; I focus on healthy, whole, positive, simple so that Energy and Love may expand to the space and I may soar.  Yet, now, I find myself soaring far past that which I could have asked for.  Higher than I have yet in life.  Amazing view.  I asked for relational, and I learned to love myself. I asked for abundant finances, and I learned to appreciate the value of all in my life.  I asked for a well maintained and working boat, I learned to allow my heart to occupy my boat and it has become the space that many visit for the peace and comfort found within.  I asked for direction in my career, I was given a completely new direction for my life. 

“That will be the time that everything will shine”…I choose to focus my energy on growing the good in my life.  When the thought of something I may not have enters my mind, I think of all that I *do* have, and that gratitude fills each and every space that could potentially have been a void.  God and the Universe meet me exactly where I am at.  Last month, I took a most wobbly, tentative baby step and I began this new blog.  Which jump started a completely new direction for me–a direction in which my heart shines radiantly and huge changes have been made in my life to accomodate all of the opportunities that have been given to me.  Opportunities my heart has whispered about my entire life, and are now being presented.  Do I have “A” like I had originally wanted?  Nope, not even close….but what I do have is a boat load of *diamonds and pearls*…

May you find yourself wrapped in Love and Light,

May your heart remain open

each and every moment-

so that

you may recognize the

Diamonds and Pearls

purposely placed in your life

to delight and astound you.

May your eyes be open wide

to multifaceted brilliance

found in abundance around you.

May your mind be free of clutter and alert

to the abundance of

pearls–

sometimes in forms you may not even have known existed

sometimes in forms you are most familiar with.

May you receive graciously

the blessings bestowed upon you

whether you have asked for them or they differ from ‘your plan’

and let that energy

multiply and radiate

to each and every area of your life……

From “Diamonds and Pearls” and my heart to yours:

“If I could I would give you the world,

All I  can do is just offer you my love…”

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Jay Schryer on May 17, 2010 - 11:28 am

    This is another really great blessing. Thank you so much for doing this series (The Monday Blessing); they really help start the week off on a good, positive note.

    I like this one especially, cause Prince is one of my all-time favorite artists, and this is one of his most beautiful love songs, because of it’s purity and innocence (unlike much of Prince’s other music) 🙂

    “All I can do is just offer you my love” – What more is there to offer in life? What better gift to give anyone? Surely, love is the greatest treasure of them all. Worth more than all the diamonds, pearls, and Little Red Corvettes in the world added together 🙂

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 18, 2010 - 2:35 am

      Well Jay,
      Thank you for stopping in….
      I’m glad that you enjoy the Mondays series. I love Mondays because they are fresh and clean, and I enjoy fresh and clean…..
      “Purity and innocence” –Wilma would say trademarks of a child’s heart, and isn’t *that* the best way to view the world? Maybe that’s why this particular Prince song spoke to me..I like to believe in the hope and promise each new day, each new moment in the day, offers……

  2. #3 by Sulwyn on May 17, 2010 - 2:19 pm

    I so needed this today! I love your openness and faith and your willingness to share it with us. I am on the healing side of a betrayal of trust that I allowed to contribute to horrible depression and some physical problems, and just knowing that there are people “out there” who have had their world blow up in their faces can choose to find the gifts in it and share that choice with others give me hope and courage.

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 18, 2010 - 2:31 am

      Sulwyn,
      A betrayal of trust stinks…no way around those feelings. However, in my life I see that it is my choice to find the lesson, incorporate the good, and use the Energy to create something new…
      Time heals wounds, but perspective can allow that time to pass quickly and joyfully if we allow for it…
      Much peace to you!

  3. #5 by Joy Tanksley on May 17, 2010 - 6:18 pm

    Gorgeous, my dear. And when the title of your post popped up in my RSS reader, I immediatly starting singing the song – one of my favorites. But I didn’t think your post would have anything to do with Prince’s song. HA!

    Blessings to YOU.

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 18, 2010 - 2:29 am

      Joy,
      Expect the unexpected then:) LOL–I can find the “joy” in just about anything….
      And Prince has no idea!!!!!

  4. #7 by Tess The Bold Life on May 17, 2010 - 7:04 pm

    Joy,
    I didn’t know the song! LOL but I recognized the love and meaning, the abundance and full-heart. I have everything I need and more, enough to share and pass around. Because I do my life is always overflowing. And the beat goes on.

    The background is white today! And all is well in blogger land.

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 18, 2010 - 2:28 am

      Tess,
      What insight…”I recognized the love and meaning, the abundance and full heart…” *That* is the key to life, to recognize such Energy–even in unfamiliar:)
      Life is certainly overflowing..each moment has potential to shine if we allow it to….

  5. #9 by Patty - Why Not Start Now? on May 17, 2010 - 10:07 pm

    Hi Joy – Thanks for coming by to leave a comment on my blog and for writing this heartfelt post. You so clearly see the meaning of those diamonds and pearls, and I love it that you understand a song is more than just a song!

  6. #11 by Jodi Sloane on May 18, 2010 - 3:38 pm

    Hi Joy! I love it that the song randomly popped in your head for days on end–and then actually holds a ton of meaning for you! How fun and wonder-ful. We never know where abundance and joy will find us!!
    Thank you for this post, it was a pleasure to read!! xo, Jodi

    • #12 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 19, 2010 - 4:01 am

      Hi Jodi,
      Ah, *because* the song repeatedly popped into my head, I tried to find the meaning to it. When a lesson presents itself it is truly a gift, so I like to see what it contains:)
      Abundance and joy are everywhere, in every moment–it is my choice to allow myself to see them…..

  7. #13 by Jan on May 19, 2010 - 12:42 am

    Joy, I love the notion of diamonds and pearls. Diamonds of glistening joy within us. Pearls of wisdom too. They are always there. We just need to uncover both. As you are discovering… they are just waiting for our discovery and to be brought to the surface…I am so excited for you and this new journey you are on. Shine on!

    • #14 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 19, 2010 - 3:56 am

      Jan,
      Thank you for stopping in!
      I continuously work on removing any barriers so that I may experience fully. I believe the Energy around me recently is absolutely electric! It is fun to uncover all of the treasures in my life:)
      Everything that I need is already there. I just have to be wiling to receive it 🙂

  8. #15 by Wilma Ham on May 19, 2010 - 3:27 am

    Oh Joy, how stunningly beautiful. You make me look in the mirror and see a beautiful person, you make me look at life and it shines.
    Oh Joy; “I asked for relational, and I learned to love myself. I asked for abundant finances, and I learned to appreciate the value of all in my life.”
    You mention that you are responsible that you receive what you ask for; in your’ about me’ you say; :“It is my job to have done the work to be ready to process the answers, to be quiet enough to listen, and observant enough to see. I am a Light worker.”
    Yes, you are a light worker if receive this, you make us look at our lives like this as well. We do get pearls and diamonds, I see them in the trees and raindrops right now.
    Joy, “bless you” is all I can add and much love and peace, Wilma

    • #16 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 19, 2010 - 3:54 am

      Wilma,
      I appreciate all that you share in your comment–my heart overflows with joy at your reaction–for now you see diamonds and pearls in the raindrops and trees–how beautiful! Thank *you*!
      We are reflections of the other. What I learn from all that you share enables me to shine brighter in my life. You present to me a variety of ideas I hadn’t yet considered and actually challenge me to contemplate much about life that I’d perhaps taken for granted. Divine!

  9. #17 by Tony Single on May 19, 2010 - 5:26 am

    Joy, I must confess that Prince has never been my cup of tea, but the insights that you gained from this song were very much worth reading. Diamonds and pearls is a potent image for an image maker like me. Cynic though I am, I was able to relate to this quite strongly because of that beautiful metaphor.

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • #18 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 19, 2010 - 11:44 am

      Hi Tony,
      *grin* I must admit, then, that I knew many readers would either not be familiar with the song, or dislike Prince; however, my point in sharing was that this particular song repeatedly popped into my mind, so I wanted to discover it’s meaning for me. My curiosity about what is presented to me often leads me down paths I would never have considered. And allows for much gratitude along the way:) Thank you for reading past the song into the meaning of the story I shared….

  10. #19 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on May 19, 2010 - 12:24 pm

    Oh, Joy, another wonderful post that resonates with my soul. Thank you! In watching you this past month, you’ve highlighted things I need to keep an eye on, too, and I’m most grateful for that. Consciously acknowledging that which is good in my life, in order to expand that energy and bring more of it to me. It’s easy to get caught up in “I want” or “that’s missing,” or “I wish it was more like…” That’s the habituated human way of it, and it’s a way I’ve outgrown, yet still (as you so beautifully put it) try to jam myself into from time to time. Like I’m sleepwalking or something.

    You poetically wrote, “Each time you question, there is an Answer. When you doubt that Love makes a difference, I magnify it for you… When you don’t know your Way, I hold your hand and bring you the best way possible.” That soothed my heart and mind today, my friend. As your words so often do.

    ( * bow * ) My deepest gratitude for what you’ve shared here.

    • #20 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 20, 2010 - 12:37 am

      Megan,
      You are precious!
      This last month has been one of tremendous growth for me. I’ve doen the prep work and am now allowing for the most beautiful unfolding to take place. In sharing I also learn so much.
      Sleepwalking is a perfect analogy. We are still ‘here” yet we are often not present. And in not being present we miss so much. Thank you for that insight.

Leave a comment