Wisdom Wednesday: Your Wisdom…a video

I am so completely grateful for all of the wonderful opportunities that have manifested from this new blog!  I have met some amazing people who inspire me to reach higher than I thought possible, smile bigger, challenge myself to learn and grow. 

One such blog author is Kate Swoboda from Your Courageous Life .  As you will discover, Kate is incredibly talented with words, photos, and videos.  All that she creates and shares, inspires me in some way, encourages me to be “me” and to celebrate all that is me.  I was honored to be included in the following video called “Your Wisdom”. 

I want you to get to know Kate, and to visit her site, because she has some fabulous retreats coming up that you may be interested in, and because she is so creative I know that her writing and her productions will touch your heart in some way.  Although her schedule is extremely busy, Kate took the time to answer a few questions for me. 

1.  You put your heart and soul into your words and your videos.  What inspires you to be so free and generous with your creativity?

Thanks, Joy–and thank you for inviting me to say hello. 😉 To answer your question, I think of it as the world, and the people in it, as being generous. The world provides all of these great, beautiful images (and the sunsets! the sunsets!). And so many people have provided so much wisdom, whether that’s the wisdom with the most recent video project or just in general, the assorted investments of time and love that people have put into growing who I am. I’m inspired to give back and I love collaboration.

 
2.  When you realize you have free time with no commitments or obligations, what are the first two things that come to mind?

Ahhhhhhhhh! would be the first! 😉 The second is just taking things slowly, that quality of just being. I can people-watch all day and find that immensely restorative.

 
3.  I like to encourage my readers to look at something familiar in a different way.  We have recently discovered new ways to view fog and dark.  How do you feel about fog and/or dark?

Well, my initial impulse is that I dislike both! 😉 I’m a sunny days kind of girl all the way. However…If I’m reframing, I would move towards a photographic perspective (I freelance as a portrait photographer as a side bit to what I do as a coach). I think that people’s skin looks the most velvety smooth delicious in overcast light, even though the expectation would be that sunshine would be best. In reality, sunshine creates more shadows on a person’s face, whereas an overcast light (the kind we might get if it were foggy in San Francisco, which is what prompts my association to “fog”) is the most beautiful.

 
4.  You combine your love of travel with your quest for spiritual balance and  creative freedom.  What place have you been that speaks most loudly to your heart?

At the top of the list is Italy, always Italy. In fact, I’ll be combining my love of travel with spiritual balance and creative freedom with a retreat I’m offering there, in October. I think what I love about Italy is that there’s this serenity to it–I pick it up in the light, in the reverence for the past, in the inclusion of nature. And yet there’s vibrance and energy, too–lots of passion infused in food, in speaking. It balances me in a lot of ways, because I think there are strong pulls within me that crave what is sacred, what is serene, and yet if I get too much of that I am restless and appreciate some time doing something really vibrant, full of energy. So there’s this lovely balance in Italy that I appreciate, and it allows me to sink more deeply into myself. I experience Italy as a visual and sensory feast!

Thank you Kate!  And to view this very inspiring video–which I am pleased to have participated in– please click here: 

 Your Wisdom

**Please join me this Friday May 21st for my first ever

Fearless Fun Friday Dance Video

filmed on the dock by my boat…..

inspired by my new blogging friend Joy at

Being Joy.

Stepping out of my comfort zone and giving you a glimpse of my life…

because I *am*

Fearless

and Life is

Fun:)

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Tess The Bold Life on May 19, 2010 - 8:26 pm

    Hi Joy,
    This is so great. I love her videos and I can’t wait to see you dancing by your boat. You rock…and I’m rockin’ with ya. Congratulations on your first video. xo

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 20, 2010 - 12:31 am

      Tess,
      Thank you! Kate’s blog and website are amazing. She is extremely talented, and all that she creates inspires me to try new and different.
      Today is a bit windy, so the boat is literally rocking, so in that sense then yep, I rock *grin*.

  2. #3 by Joy Tanksley on May 19, 2010 - 11:46 pm

    YEAH! I am SO EXCITED about your dance!!!!!! Super cool! WOO HOO!

  3. #5 by Keith on May 19, 2010 - 11:50 pm

    Hello Joy!

    Thanks for sharing about Kate’s blog. I am off to check out as soon as I finish here at your wonderful blog. I am really enjoying what I am reading so keep it coming!

    Thanks!

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 20, 2010 - 12:33 am

      Keith,
      Thank you for stopping in:)
      Kate’s blog is one I believe you will enjoy–she creates such stunning pieces, and her words allow you to gently challenge yourself if you wish.

  4. #7 by Joy Tanksley on May 19, 2010 - 11:56 pm

    Okay, I got carried away about your dance before I had a chance to watch the “What’s Your Wisdom” video. I loved it. So much. What a beautiful project. I’ll be sharing that link with lots of folks I love.

    XO!

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 20, 2010 - 12:34 am

      Joy,
      The “Your Wisdom” video is one of the most touching things I’ve seen in a while. Each time I watch I take away something new. I’m absolutely inspired by all that was shared in it. I’m glad you will be sharing it with your loved ones:)

  5. #9 by Lance on May 20, 2010 - 2:50 am

    Joy,
    This video is so moving. And to see you in there, too – wonderful! And so filled with wisdom. As I watched, it just touched me how meaningful all of it was.

    And it’s great to learn about Kate!

    Now…looking forward to that dance!!!!

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 21, 2010 - 2:58 am

      Lance,
      Thank you!
      I enjoyed being part of the project, and the finished result is so insightful!
      Tune in tomorrow for the dance:)

  6. #11 by Zeenat{Positive Provocations} on May 20, 2010 - 3:18 pm

    Joy Gal,
    I await you shaking your stuff and rocking ….what fun that will be 🙂
    And this interview is amazing. I watched one of her videos when you emailed me the link..i have to say..I fell in love with it….and now i know Kate a little better cause of you. Thank you.
    And Kate you are amazing.
    Much Love,
    Z~

  7. #13 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on May 20, 2010 - 4:07 pm

    Absolutely this is a generous and abundant world, and we all reflect off each other. Years ago, the reflections I saw were painful because inside of me was so much pain. These days, I see light, joy, love and peace — and moreover, I see FUN! I love that we all have the opportunity to grow and transform ourselves however we truly want to.

    The video was beautiful, too, and of course (while I loved them all) I absolutely ADORED Joy’s shared wisdom.

    Much peace and joy to both of you!

    • #14 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 21, 2010 - 2:56 am

      Megan,
      I appreciate your thought about reflections: years ago when I was in pain, I reflected then attracted pain. Now that my heart is overflowing with faith, joy, peace, love…that goodness touches those around me, and allows me to accept the good reflected back to me. What a beautiful cycle!
      I greatly enjoyed all of the wisdom in this video…something new speaks to me each time I watch it.

  8. #15 by Evelyn Lim on May 21, 2010 - 2:26 am

    Hey, Kate’s site sounds like after my own heart. Words, photos and videos? I am going to check it up! Thanks for the recommendation!

  9. #17 by Jodi Sloane on May 21, 2010 - 10:13 am

    I loooove these videos. Thank you for sharing Kate with us!

  10. #19 by kateswoboda on June 23, 2010 - 11:10 pm

    Joy, I’m so late in doing this–finally, I did get you linked up: http://www.yourcourageouslife.com/collaborate/

    ~ big love ~
    Kate

Leave a Reply

