Monday Blessing…Light….

 

I love my harbor at night.  There are nights I am off work in the middle of the night.  I walk down the dock past about 14 boats to get to mine.  I look at the night sky to find the moon and revel in Her Beauty.  The night sky above my boat is clear.  I sit and look at the stars–sometimes I pick out constellations, sometimes  I just look and marvel at the expanse of the sky, at the placement of the stars, at the Energy in it all.  I let it fill my heart.  I listen to the almost imperceptible sound of waves lapping against the hull of the boat.  I hear crickets.  I hear a fish jump out of the water.  I breathe deeply, fresh, clean air while inhaling the Energy of the Moon, the sky, the peace of my harbor.  I inhale stillness.  I am in love.  In love with my world, with life, with everyone, with myself.  I fall asleep with the moon shining down my mast, shining in through my hatch.  I fall asleep bathed in moonbeams.  Each and every night.  On warm Summer nights, I leave the hatch above my head open, I love Night, and I love sleeping in Night. I am a child of the stars sleeping among the stars.

Upon waking in the morning, to fully greet the day, I open the back hatch; double doors flung open.  The first thing I see is the morning sky.  When I work, it’s early in the morning, so the sun is not yet up.  I repeat my evening ritual–look at the Moon, stars, breathe it all in.  When I’m off work, I wake at sunrise.  I see the colors of the sunrise stretched across the sky, sometimes the moon is hovering above, sometimes the clouds have rolled in.  But, the sun is there to greet me.  Still inside the boat, from the opening of my hatch, I can see my beloved hills in the distance–the hills I play in–hiking, off roading, biking, walking, swimming in the water holes, soaking in the hot springs, sunning on a big rock.  Oh beautiful day.  I inhale vibrant life.  I am in love.  In love with my world, with life, with everyone, with myself.   I wake and allow the sun to warm my face, Light my heart.

The days on the docks are full of movement.  Neighbors coming and going; maintenance work on the docks and boats; local fishing boats, sail boats, power boats, leaving through the harbor entrance and returning later; people kayaking or motoring in inflatable dinghies.  Smells from local restaurants or boaters in the harbor define the day…breakfast, lunch, dinner scents all wafting through the air.  The sun streams in my boat all day–first port side, then top deck, then starboard side. Then the moon follows.  Each and every day. 

As I exit the boat, there are often groups of ducks (I guess called a paddle of ducks) right at my steps or in the water right behind the boat, just waiting to be fed.  As I stand on the dock outside of my boat, I can look down into the water and see schools of sardines and little fish knowing the bigger fish are underneath.  There are often cranes, pelicans, and other birds hanging out on boat steps or the docks.  There are a few harbor seals that play in the fingerlings between the boats.  When I walk out of the dock gate there are numerous crabs, starfish, sometimes even octopus on and around the rocks.  Peace, utter peace.  This is my world, where I live.  Upon exiting the gate I breathe in and take it with me, upon entering the gate I breathe in glad to be home. Always a full enriching breath.

There are days of wind.  Light wind, high winds, gale force winds.  Sometimes whipping through the harbor, clanking the lines against the mast, howling, screaming, shaking the floorboards, causing high surf that slams against the hull of the boat rocking it every possible way. There are days of rain. Light rain barely misting the deck, heavy pelting rain soaking the steps, the boat, streaming in through various little leaks, takes days to get completely dry again.  In the last few months, there has been electrical storms, an earthquake one mile away, a tsunami, a tornado. During extreme weather there is absolutely nothing I can do during the storms except to sit them out–I listen, I wait, I hope the damage is minimal knowing even if it’s extensive, even if it takes the boat it’s meant to be and will somehow be manageable, and eventually it will pass. I’ve even learned to celebrate the storms–running in a wind storm, drumming at the jetty at high surf, hosting a party at the clubhouse on a rainy day. Yes, these days can be challenging, but they are usually also quite invigorating–to *feel* nature at such extremes, is to feel myself at such extremes.  To *know* nature, is to know myself. From the Energy of the Moon, the peace in stillness, the Love in the sun, the  joy in the hills, the variety in sea life, the beauty of it all, the power of the ravaging wind, the healing of the rain. I have chosen to Live in Love.  In love with my world, with life, with everyone, with myself. 

May your home

be a reflection of your soul.

May you understand

that

the beauty you choose

to surround yourself with–

shares its’ energy with you.

The sun shines to warm your skin

The moon shines to Light your Soul.

May you allow Light

to wrap itself around you.

In the morning let the warmth of the sun

allow your heart to feel safe enough

to open completely

to embrace each moment

as it was made for you to embrace.

In the evening, let the moon

soothe your soul

and allow your heart to feel safe enough

to close completely

so your rest may be peace filled.

May you allow Light to wrap around you

Day and Night

a Blanket of Love.

Much peace,

Joy

The winner of Jill Badonsky’s book “the Awe-manac” is Sulwyn from http://www.wildoakcottage.blogspot.com/. Yay Sulwyn!  Thank you to all who took the time to comment on Jill’s post.  Look for more Fearless Fun  each Friday……

  1. #1 by Sulwyn on May 3, 2010 - 5:32 pm

    I was soaking in the beauty of your post today when I saw the announcement at the end… how exciting!

    The way you describe truly embracing all moods and expressions of nature as they unfold around you really struck a chord with me, remembering my childhood habits of running races with the wind on the hilltop where my parents live, going out walking in the hushed silence of the occasional fog… wonderful memories and certainly wondering when I lost that connection to nature.

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 5, 2010 - 6:23 am

      Sulwyn,
      I’m glad precious memories visited you as you read; how fun is that!
      I happen to cherish my connection with Nature so I’ve chosen to live and play in it. Life gets busy and we focus our energy on different things; communing with nature can be as simple as going outside for fresh air and inhaling a big deep cleansing breath as you look at the sky. When I can’t get out to the islands or hills, a nice cleansing breath and a few moments looking at the sky works wonders for me!

  2. #3 by Jay Schryer on May 3, 2010 - 5:59 pm

    This is another really beautiful blessing. I especially like the part about finding the Light even during the night through the moon. It’s a powerful reminder that the Light is always there, even in our darkest times.

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 5, 2010 - 6:18 am

      Jay,
      Thank you for stopping in.
      I love the Moon, so I look for it’s Light always. Others have something else that lights their hearts; it’s just important that regardless of the source we take the time to look for and appreciate the Light.

  3. #5 by Tess The Bold Life on May 3, 2010 - 8:07 pm

    Hi Joy,
    Ohhh how this is so perfect. We are getting our cottage ready for summer renters and we’ve no clutter or junk that steals the clean, breezy air and bright sunshine coming through the windows. Roger is cleaning the windows inside and out and I just took blankets off the clothes line and took in the somplicity and smell of it all. Even the blankets are happy here;)

    The lilacs are in bloom and the fields of cherry trees look like dancing ballerinas. Torch Lake is filled with all shades of blue and it glistens as it welcomes the excitement of summer.

    We’re leaving tomorrow and going back to Daughter no. 2’s to get our last fix of Henri joy! His favorite word is “hiiii, hi, hiii.” And I’ll be giving him one last wagon ride around the block and play a few more games of hide n seek. Then we’ll fly back to AZ. Thanks for sharing your joy and giving me a space for mine. xoxo

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 5, 2010 - 6:16 am

      Tess,
      I love the feel of your cottage as you’ve described it. I can smell the lilacs (one of my favorites!), and picture the cherry trees! How fun! I love that you have this time with family and grandchildren–I am sure you are enjoying each and every precious moment!

  4. #7 by Evelyn Lim on May 4, 2010 - 2:34 am

    My husband just bought an iphone application that helps us check the constellations in the sky. It is amazing!

    Bet the view from your boat looks awesome. Oh gosh…you have such a beautiful life!! I can just imagine how it is like. I used to go boating during my weekends. I have to say that I am a touch envious of your life experiences! Do continue to inspire us more with your posts!

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 5, 2010 - 6:14 am

      Evelyn,
      An iphone app–how fun! We have a book we use, or we just make up stories as we look at the stars.
      I chose my boat life–it was my dream, so it is perfect for me. I think the view is awesome, I think my backyard is paradise, but others might enjoy the forest or mountains better. I think we should all live where our hearts are happiest and allow our homes to be reflections of, and filled with, that happiness.

  5. #9 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on May 4, 2010 - 3:00 pm

    I love the poetry in your prose… and I could see each moment you painted so vividly with words. Thank you for sharing this blessing with all of us; and thank you for making me think about how my home is a reflection of ME. What and who I am, in spirit and in form.

    ** ** **
    Now, I have to laugh a little because as I read about the octopus, the seals, the sardines, and more I thought, “Hey, those things weren’t out when I visited! What the heck?!!” I guess that just means I’ll have to visit you again to get a glimpse of those creatures.
    (smile)

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 5, 2010 - 6:11 am

      Megan,
      Thank you. When I think how my boat is a reflection of me, daily boat chores are almost pleasing. With each chore, I am taking care of *me*, cleaning my space, making room, decorating it just so–much like I do when I ready myself each morning.
      And *grin* I would love for you to visit again, and I will show you all of the treasures you missed. Perhaps part of the “problem” is that each time we were by water togethe it was foggy, but the other thing is that it is not as easy to catch sight of it all in passing, you actually have to sit or stand at water’s edge, let your eyes become adjusted to the light, and observe. I happen to notice those things because that is what I’m looking for, but I’m sure there is much that I miss while I watch for sealife.

  6. #11 by Sara on May 4, 2010 - 5:35 pm

    Joy,

    This post was so present for me. I could feel the boat and see the moon, the water, the ducks. It reminded me of when I was young girl and we had fishing boat. The place we kept the boat had absolutely beautiful water at high tide. You could look down the docking poles and see all the tiny colorful fish nibbling at the pole. I have fond memories of that time.

    On the hand, I felt like you were talking about a sanctuary. I have that too at my house. I am not near a body of water, which I regret, but the trees, the birds, the crickets, the moon, stars and sun share themselves with me everyday when I sit on my porch and watch the my little world busy with life. It is my sanctuary.

    Thank you for sharing this lovely post:~)

    • #12 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 5, 2010 - 6:06 am

      Sara,
      A sanctuary indeed. Shouldn’t our homes be sacred places– inviting us to sit, rest, replenish, and just “be” ourselves exactly as we are. I love the visual of you sitting on your porch, observing your world; how perfect:)

  7. #13 by Wilma Ham on May 4, 2010 - 10:13 pm

    Hi Joy,
    While I read this I hear the wind rustling the leaves and see the sun playing hide and seek. Children notice these things and have time to look, hear and smell and they often share their observations but they fall on deaf ears.
    Your observations are like those of children and this time I will not let them fall on deaf ears. I will listen to the wind, I will smell the garden when I go out and pick the veggies for lunch. I will stand still for a moment and feel the sun on my face, forgetting to be the busy adult. xox Wilma

    • #14 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 5, 2010 - 6:04 am

      Wilma,
      I am blessed to be living a dream, and many of my life lessons come from my time spent in Nature. I find myself and my answers when I take the time to allow my senses to lead. It is my honor to spend as much time as possible just be-ing in the world, and my world is here by the ocean, so what a pleasure! I am glad you took the time to allow your senses the freedom to explore your world:)

  8. #15 by Jodi Sloane on May 18, 2010 - 7:36 pm

    Joy, your blessing really speaks to me. Thank you so much for it. xo, Jodi

  1. Wisdom Wednesday: A Celebration! | Unfoldingyourpathtojoy's Blog

Leave a comment