Endearing

Hello. Welcome to the “Unfolding” community..it is a pleasure to share energy with you here!

Love is a verb, not a spoken word;

Presence is Felt, rather than spoken.

I share this reflection with you because I find it very endearing, most precious..it speaks loudly to me as I create within my life. 

I write this reflection while listening to Ben Harper’s song Forever .

I was at work (the hospital), not feeling well at all..my heart hurt and my body responded with an all over shut down.  (My next article will address how I heal my heart wounds, but for now the mere fact itself is relevant to this reflection).  One of those just trying to exist and be there kind of days..not give too much, yet not close down entirely (rarely happens, but there I was in one!).  I was doubting my heart led essence..in a roundabout way for a few moments doubting love.  I had told Universe I would be open to affirmations and reflections. I then had the honor of witnessing this beautiful reflection.

I was coming out of the staff elevator. A transporter was wheeling in a patient on a gurney.  I noticed that the patient was an older lady, alert with complete awareness, yet with an expression of worry and panic.  She didn’t seem as if she was in pain, just worried.  I think she was being taken from her room to another unit for tests; perhaps these tests were on her mind.  When I saw her expression, I sent to her an energetic wave of peace and stillness…and I began to try to catch her eye to offer a smile, an assurance of “I See you and all will be well”…

Her gaze shifted to something beyond me; I don’t think she saw me, she was looking around me.  As her vision focused on something behind me, her entire being lightened, a feeling of relief flooding through her, touching her eyes.  She immediately had this huge smile on her face, her eyes lit up, and she gave a little wave.  Almost as if she was so happy she wanted to giggle.  My own smile brightened as I watched hers..whatever she felt was radiant and beauty filled; as I looked at her I Felt it, too.  

Of course, I looked behind me.  Standing there was an older gentleman with the same radiant and beauty filled expression on his face as he looked directly into her eyes and gave her a little wave back.  As if he was suppressing his own little giggle. He was completely focused on her, she completely focused on him. Nothing else in the world existed for them, except this moment, this connection.

Tears of gratitude filled my eyes..I just don’t see this expression in a hospital setting..a place where worry and fear reside.. here is comfort, peace, love, great joy at connecting..and the relief she felt was palpable.  He gave her the most precious gift.. with his mere presence, just by being there and investing the energy. As she so readily returned it with her gaze.  So simple, yet so beautiful.  Endearing.

We often go out of our way to offer grandiose–or perhaps become overwhelmed with the thought of “having” to offer grandiose–when simply being present is more than enough.  We often use words on autopilot (“I love you”) when the action of love is simply focusing our gaze on the one we would like to share the gift with. We often think we “are not enough”, “not ready”, “not able” and allow our fears to complicate what in essence is so simple..we may love exactly where we are, with exactly what we have, by simply opening our heart to share the moment as it is.   

We may choose to be messengers of love by celebrating love and sharing it when it is reflected to us.  We may choose to be ambassadors of love when we openly model the action of being love within our own lives. Indeed, love is a verb and presence is felt..and when I open my heart through pain/fear/doubt I become love

To complete this reflection: here was this couple simply being love.  Even in circumstances that must have felt “less than” (in a hospital, receiving tests) love was shining through. Talk about “forever”…

As the gentleman stepped into the elevator, I smiled and said “thank you”.  My gratitude was toward this couple who chose to openly be love..and to Universe for allowing me to See as I do. 

Thank you for sharing this moment with me.  May you open your heart to the examples of love around you and when given the opportunity, may you choose to be love.

Much peace,

Joy

   

 

 

 

 

 

  1. #1 by Moshe on September 16, 2011 - 8:16 pm

    loved it.

  2. #3 by Leslie on September 16, 2011 - 9:00 pm

    Thank you, Joy. You brought tears to my eyes. Yours was the first message I saw touching down after a long flight. Just now taxiing on the runway. Thank you for being a reflection of love to me.

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on September 17, 2011 - 7:52 pm

      I believe tears are the heart’s way of showing that it has opened just a “bit more”..gratitude for a breath of fresh air…
      May your trip present you with many opportunities to *be* as present to your self as you are to others. I know that your relatives and loved ones greatly appreciate your choice to be present to them at this time!

  3. #5 by Jeffrey Willius on September 16, 2011 - 10:33 pm

    Joy, this story really moves me. You’ve nailed the simple power of not just love, but some of the things I try to write about that weave in and out of love — awareness, openness, gratitude, faith.
    Thank you for sharing this thoughtful piece!!

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on September 17, 2011 - 7:55 pm

      *grin* I’m not sure I “nailed it” but I opened to reflecting what I experienced and saw..which was huge for me because I witnessed this as an Answer to my own heart whisper while I was feeling quite vulnerable. Often when in a vulnerable place, we choose to close to love..I chose to embrace new and different and open to love and allow it to heal me. Very empowering and enlivening, something we may all share as we magnify love together.

  4. #7 by Sandra Pawula on September 17, 2011 - 5:37 am

    “Simply being present is more than enough.” May I glue that on my forehead? I’m so touched. Thank you!

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on September 17, 2011 - 7:57 pm

      Please *do not* glue it on your forehead *grin* but you may stamp it on your heart:)
      Being present may be energetically as well as physically; it’s a choice we make to invest into rather than to withdraw from. I witness many physically present yet not truly “there”..and many geographically distant yet so close the energy is almost tangible.

  5. #9 by Rand on September 18, 2011 - 10:23 am

    Good morning Joy

    It is actually 3:00 am and I have finished a three shift work day. My last time here you inspired me to go kayaking in the early morning, which turned out to be so awesome as it enriched me with gratitude. This time my dear you have allowed me to see through your eyes so let me now go to bed and sleep with dreams of love. When I awake may I see love in its many forms and be love myself… Genuine with Gratitude.

    Thank you Joy for being you…

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on September 19, 2011 - 10:44 am

      Nurturing gratitude allows us to access our center of peace and love; an overflowing well of abundance that is a joy to create from. Awesome, indeed:)

Leave a Reply

