What Lives Within Me: Freedom

Hello. Welcome to the “Unfolding” community..it is a pleasure to share energy with you here!

“What lies behind us and what lies ahead of us

are tiny matters compared to

what lives within us.” -Thoreau

What lives within me is: love, peace, joy, beauty, truth, passion, gratitude.  This is the overflowing well that All that I create is drawn from.  This is the foundation of my life, my essence, my being. 

I woke this morning and looked around my boat..a dream come true, full of love (priceless).  And then I went outside and took the kayak for a predawn ride around the harbor loop: still harbor waters reflecting the sky, the clouds, the boats, and birds; the sun shining through the clouds as it rose; two huge cranes flying so closely overhead that they almost skimmed the water; ducks accompanying the kayak as it quietly glided over the water: utter peace, bliss, beauty.

I believe that what I focus my energy on grows.. I have been focusing my energy on being love.  I made the conscious choice to *live love*…not to merely share it with words or photos or stories, but to *be love* in each and every moment. As an energy worker, I may focus my energy on healing you; as an empath, I may focus my energy on understanding you; as an intuitive, I may focus my energy on guiding you.  I made the decision to apply these gifts to my own life as well as to share them externally.

I made the choice to open my heart through fear to lean into discomfort so that I may fully embrace completely new and different in a relationship that is like no other I’ve experienced. Every day, I open my heart to the concept of “showing up” regardless of external circumstances..to allow love to lead..to be love, unconditionally. I Know that what is reflected to me through this relationship are significant lessons that when I choose to process rather than deflect transform into nutrients that are vital to my own heart growth.

I made the choice to simplify my home life and to release routine so that I may love my children through a few transitions in their life.  I may not always understand the issues that my children deal with, but I Know the answer is love..always.  In simplifying our life and allowing for quality time and transparency, I am making the space for genuine connection.  Our home is full of joy, laughter, creativity, comfort, peace.  It is our haven, our cocoon, our place to create as well as to rest and just be. 

Making this conscious choice to be love has amazing benefits..I have blossomed in ways I couldn’t have imagined; this relationship is a gift that enriches my being, enlivens my spirit; my children are settling into the newness in their individual lives.  My heart is full of gratitude at the transformation that takes place when love is applied.  There have been what some might label consequences: what I do not focus my energy on wilts…I have been relatively quiet online, I have allowed “routine” to fall to the wayside, there are chores left undone, and a “to-do list” that is so long I cannot imagine doing it.  

Embracing love, living love, being love often sets me apart from mainstream society. I truly believe that my life is as magical as I allow it to be: because I remain open to receiving and to Flow, I experience magnificent beyond what many believe is possible; because I open my heart and practice transparency, the connections I make are genuine.. a rare gift.  It is my heart whisper that All may experience the peace, the beauty, the joy of genuine, pure, life enriching. What lives within me is: faith and hope, courage and spunk, and the willingness to serve, to share, to model so that you may experience it, too.   

What ultimately lives within me is: Freedom.

I recognize that some people fear inner truth; knowing self so well that you know when you are living a life aligned with your internal beliefs (or not). I Feel there is great freedom in Knowing what lives within me.  Freedom to be me, in each and every moment.  Freedom to release “me” in each and every moment. I do not exert energy on building barriers, or creating masks, or playing a game; instead I have the Freedom to explore World, to experience genuine, to receive love as readily as I share it.  I have the Freedom to create in different mediums, to try new and different, to release what no longer fits, to embrace Truth. I have the freedom of movement..in all areas…in all realms.   

I reflect this to you today, because you have this freedom too..the moment you open your heart to what lives inside of you, is the moment you are *free*.

Article inspired by Katie Tallo: \”I Want to Encourage You\”

Much peace,

Joy

photo credit : Raam Dev

  1. #1 by Rand on September 11, 2011 - 3:43 am

    Thank you Joy,

    Beautiful words, photograph, and message of freedom.

    I have not been on my kayak for about a month, but your morning paddle has kindled my memory of similar times on the water. The moon will be full soon…I love being on the kayak during a full moon!

    Two evenings ago I was surf fishing at Torrey Pines State Beach. Yes, the same evening of the power outage that affected 5 million people. I stood knee high in the very calm surf watching a group of dolphin lounging about 30 yards directly between me and the massive orange sun melting into the Pacific. There was a power outage, but the *true power* of God’s glorious, majestic creation was given to me *freely* with all his *love*.

    Simply said: There is so much I am grateful for…

  2. #2 by Rand on September 11, 2011 - 4:45 am

    …back again. Its been a busy day, so I went to bed after I left the above comment. only to reflect on your morning …my evening…the world…my children…God

    Which once again brought this poem back to me:

    THE PEACE OF WILD THINGS

    When despair for the world grows in me
    and I wake in the night at the least sound
    in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
    I go and lie down where the wood drake
    rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
    I come into the peace of wild things
    who do not tax their lives with forethought
    of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
    And I feel above me the day-blind stars
    waiting with their light. For a time
    I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

    • #3 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on September 11, 2011 - 3:43 pm

      Hi Rand,
      Thank you for your encouragement and support:)
      I love the poem! Very timely to this day that I am in.
      As I open my heart to new and different in life; I also open my mind to new and different ways of thought and processing…so I am learning to balance both, a heart led, well thought out life..
      What a beauty filled affirmation, one I shall use as I Feel my way through this day: “For a time I rest in the grace of the world and am free” ..

  3. #4 by Katie Tallo (@katie_tallo) on September 11, 2011 - 1:56 pm

    Joy, you have inspired me as well with your beautiful words. I shall learn from your loving approach to life. We can accomplish so much more of what is important when we simply love what we’re doing and who we are with on this journey. I think it’s great that you’ve turned that loving energy towards yourself as well as others. Much love and peace to you dearest Joy.

    • #5 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on September 11, 2011 - 3:57 pm

      Hi Katie,
      Your beautiful article definitely encourages *me* to embrace my inner truth and to allow my light to shine. In matters of the heart, I tend to shy away when I am afraid; this time around I lean into fear and allow wonder filled to flow into the space..it has been the most magnificent experience to allow my light to shine brightly, my heart to open to full transparency, *and* to be loved for who I am..I use all that I learn to create in every area of life.
      Thank you for being you..I appreciate you!

  4. #6 by Tess The Bold Life on September 11, 2011 - 2:08 pm

    Hey Joy,
    My favorite lines from A Course In Miracle is “Heaven is here there is no other place. Heaven is now, there is no other time.” That’s what you’ve got for yourself heaven on earth. What a grand choice.

    • #7 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on September 11, 2011 - 3:38 pm

      Hi Tess,
      Thank you for this beautiful reflection. When I open my heart to inifinite possibility, and allow my heart to lead..I do experience a peace like no other. Althought the label certainly fits, to call it “heaven on earth’ would intimidate many; I Feel it requires a certain level of heart opening to experience fully…I also find few are reluctant to open their hearts and be so transparent–fear tends to appear and many do not know how to process fear. So, I prefer to open my heart, set the space, and allow for those who wish to share to join me..
      I need to re-read “A Course in Miracles”..
      Thank you for being you…I appreciate you!

  5. #8 by Evita on September 12, 2011 - 1:57 pm

    Hello Joy,

    True and powerful wisdom….what we focus on our energy grows. This alone can transform people’s lives instantly, however many choose not to accept the responsibility that comes with this truth. And so life is, as life is.

    But when we rise to the occasion and fully embrace the significance and power of those words, boy can we ever change the world! Our world! It takes discipline, but the rewards are so worth it.

    And as for freedom…I could not live any other way 😉

    • #9 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on September 15, 2011 - 3:06 pm

      Hi Evita,
      Thank you:)
      What your comment reflects to me is: personal responsibility and accountability as it relates to the steps I “choose” to take..I am responsible for *all* that I share, so I take great care to be mindful and aware of all that I ingest as well as all that I invest into and then create from and share. When I choose “less than” quality, I am in essence choosing struggle..
      As for freedom, I am recently exploring all of the ways I have allowed “my story” to restrict my life..and how embracing commitment to quality and simplicity..to peace and love..may be liberating on all levels:)

  6. #10 by winsomebella on September 12, 2011 - 2:02 pm

    So many words here clicked for me but the words that shouted to me were “I truly believe that my life is as magical as I allow it to be.” I have changed my life to a radical degree in the last 2 years and some friends/family seem to find this perplexing. These words help affirm my direction and give me peace. Thank you.

    • #11 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on September 15, 2011 - 3:12 pm

      Hi winsomebella,
      Thank you:)
      Sometimes in the midst of personal transformation, we reflect to loved ones possibility and potential..hopes and dreams..that they personally are not ready to receive or embrace so they may resist ‘us” when in reality they are resisting “self”. I have found through experience it is important to surround my self with nurturing, inspiring people of the same values–not because I would like a “cookie cutter” base (believe me, my base is far from cookie cutter!), but because I watch as they step and it encourages *me* to step and create..I resisted this lesson for most of my life..still do to some degree..but just as my body requires specific nutrients to thrive, so too my spirit requires certain connections to create from a safe and nourishing place.
      I celebrate the magic within your life..and your desire to share it with others..what we focus on grows..may abundant magic be yours:)

  7. #12 by dearbrenn on September 12, 2011 - 10:55 pm

    Joy, you warm my heart with your loving heart…may love surround and embrace you ..always..thank you for sharing your spirit and your joy…hugs!

    • #13 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on September 15, 2011 - 3:13 pm

      Hi Brenda,
      So lovely to see you here:) Thank you for the kind words and wonderful blessing..it is a *joy* to share with you:)
      May love surround and embrace us..indeed!

Leave a Reply

