Sunday Scene: Rewards of a Simple Life

Hello. Welcome to the “Unfolding” community..it is a pleasure to share energy with you here!

To find the universal elements enough; to find the air and the water exhilarating;

to be refreshed by a morning walk or an evening saunter… to be thrilled by the stars at night;

to be elated over a bird’s nest or a wildflower in spring – these are some of the rewards of the simple life. 

~John Burroughs

I live a simple life. 

The foundation of my life is peace; I believe out of this space of utter peace all else flows abundantly and effortlessly. 

Material possessions don’t interest me much..in fact, I have to be mindfully aware to maintain the material that I *do* have.

What captivates me is the sun rise: I’ve released my early morning “routine” of waking to write and have begun to embrace a new, very simple routine of: wake.  Eat fresh fruit. Run or kayak at sunrise.  I Feel it sets the scene for magic. 

What captivates me is the night sky: the sunset, the moon at each stage, the stars.  I’ve released my evening routine of investing energy into social media connections and have begun to embrace an evening walk around the harbor or at the beach followed by time just sitting under the stars allowing gratitude to flood my heart. I Feel it energizes my spirit.

What captivates me is the ocean, the beach, the hills, wide open fields, forested areas, gardens.  I’ve begun to allow for more “free time” so that I may experience nature in all of these areas.  I Feel it refreshes my being. 

What captivates me is artistic expression in all mediums..a guitar riff that wraps around my heart, bass so strong I Feel it..words that take me everywhere and allow me to be anything..paintings that reflect and/or absorb my essence.. I Feel enlivened in the midst of artistic expression.

What captivates me is transparency.  The freedom to just be..”me” and “you”…and to express this energy labelled me, this energy labelled you as openly as we feel comfortable with.  I Feel this allows for genuine heart connections that enrich my life. 

I do not need grandiose, complex, larger than life, multi-layered, expensive, custom designed (although the exception is words meant for me..I *love* words written for me especially to delight me).  I do not need the biggest and the best, the latest and the greatest, I often do not even know what that is. 

What I do need is to: open my arms wide to World each and every day…open my heart to the moment as it is presented to me..allow my center of peace and my life filters of love and gratitude to guide each creation.  What I do need is to recognize that I am the creator of the moment I am in, external circumstances have no bearing on what I choose to create or how I choose to move through this world.  What I do need is to be as receptive of receiving as graciously as I am at giving generously..to be completely open to Flow, carefully removing barriers as they appear and mindfully aware so that new barriers are not erected.

What is the reward of such a simple life?  If the sunrise and stars are not “enough”..then the reward is this:

 My life truly is as rich, as lush, as magical as I allow it to be..

Thank you for sharing with me in this space!  As you move through your day, may you open to World and allow all that is simple to delight your being.

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Moshe on July 17, 2011 - 5:56 pm

    Hi Joy,
    This an awasom writing, I enjoy it alot . thanks Moshe.

  2. #3 by Cinderella on July 19, 2011 - 3:46 am

    It feels like you have a wonderful life with what you describe, Joy!

    Inspiring and true words that resonate with peace.

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on July 20, 2011 - 11:56 pm

      Hi Cinderella,
      Thank you for your comment:) Peace is my foundation, it is my hope that we are Aware of peace filled choices as we move through our daily lives…

  3. #5 by Evelyn Lim on July 19, 2011 - 2:31 pm

    Hi Joy, you’ve just described a truly magical experience with life. I love it. Your love and abundance continues to fill my heart with joy. Even though I have not physically met you, what captivates me is your delightful energetic presence in this world. Thank you!

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on July 20, 2011 - 11:58 pm

      Hi Evelyn,
      It is always a pleasure to see you here! Thank you for your kind words:)
      I am at peace with my essence and with allowing for abundance in all forms in my life..it is my pleasure to share this to inspire others to cultivate the same within their own life…
      Thank *you* for inspiring me to create and to tap into abundant flow!

  4. #7 by Ellen Eassa on July 19, 2011 - 11:46 pm

    Hi there, Joy…

    I’m just dropping by, happy to see you! And sending you hugs and love in my key tapping! I smelled the ocean air as I read this entry.

    It’s wonderful to hear someone talk so gratefully about the gorgeous show that nature puts on each day.

    Lots of love to you, and gratitude as I think of the help I’ve had along the way!

    Blessings to you and your children,
    Ellen

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on July 20, 2011 - 11:59 pm

      Hi Ellen,
      It is a pleasure to see you here..thank you for sharing energy through your comment!
      I receive your hugs and love:)
      Nature does put on a gorgeous show daily..it is a joy to observe and experience the delights of nature..soothes my soul, energizes my being, enlivens my essence:)

  5. #9 by Tess The Bold Life on July 20, 2011 - 11:52 pm

    Hi Joy
    Sounds wonderful. I went to the zoo for three hours today and we spent it all in the red barn and barn yard both filled with animals Henri could pet and run free. Amazing. Joining you in lovin life.

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on July 21, 2011 - 12:00 am

      Hi Tess,
      Thank you for joining me in lovin’ life:) Your zoo excursion sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

