A “Buddha Chick” and a Magnificent Giveaway

Hello.

Welcome to my peace filled space.  It is my pleasure to share energy here..especially today because I am thrilled to be a participant in a blog tour by Jan Lundy..and I am excited for you because Jan is offering a huge giveaway to one lucky reader! 

I love giveaways!!!

And, I love Jan! 

Janice Lynne Lundy is the woman behind “Buddha Chick™” and the creator of “The Mindful Makeover Kit.” She is an educator, interfaith spiritual director, retreat leader and celebrated author of 6 personal/spiritual growth books for women. Visit her at BuddhaChick.org and AwakenedLiving.com.

Dear Joy and Guests, thank you for allowing me to be with you today. It is always an honor to connect with kindred spirits who are passionate about growth and living with peace and joy!

Can I share a secret with you? Actually, it’s my Buddha Chick™ Magic Formula for lasting inner peace. If you are feeling a bit lacking in the love-peace-joy-department today, this can help.

Calm + Clarity + Wisdom = Lasting inner peace

Here is how my Magic Formula works.

In order to change or enhance the quality of our lives, we must be centered and calm as much as possible. When we are agitated or upset, the clarity we need to make good decisions for ourselves is not there. Practice inner calm and we’ll find ourselves getting clearer and clearer each day. As calm increases and clarity comes, our inner wisdom begins to rise to the surface. This inner wisdom is sourced in our true nature (our essence) and it expands. We can trust it; base our life upon it. It is our guiding light, but it is dangerously dim when we cannot access calm.

So what can we do to access inner calm more often? Every day, many times a day! How about enjoying a “Pocket of Peace”: a simple embodied practice to soothe your body and calm your mind. I LOVE Pockets of Peace. They work every time. Plop me in the lap of peace in nanoseconds.

In honor of Joy, because I know how much she loves water, here is a Pocket of Peace just for her—and all you mermaids and mermen out there!

The Calming Power of Water

To stand at the ocean’s edge and give one’s self over to the rhythm of the waves invites inner peace. Is it their patterning, their predictability that lures us into a saner experience of life? Or perhaps the sound of gentle lapping simply brings ease? For me, even gazing out upon the horizon with its great vastness invites me into inner spaciousness. Tension leaves and breathing space is mine once again.

What is it precisely about water that has such a calming effect upon us? I have three theories, all of which could explain why we feel so at home in or near the liquidy stuff, though I’m sure there are more.

~ Our bodies are composed of (on the average) 60-70% water. When we are in proximity with water we may experience a tuning fork effect. Our physical form resonates with a similar form and relaxation naturally occurs.

~ For nine months as fledgling human beings we live in a watery sac of protectiveness. Within our mother’s womb is safety, calm, warmth, as we are nurtured into life. Water represents a place where all is well.

~ Water is the primordial stuff of which life is made. As evolving beings, we may have arisen from the waters of creation to become who we are today. Water may (on an archetypal level) represent divine origin, spiritual homecoming on the most profound level.

In all of the world’s spiritual traditions, water is central to rituals. Water, used ceremonially, baptizes, affirms, and blesses. Water transforms and heals. It nourishes us in this life, bonds us together, and carries us forward into the next. Any of these important acts offer the recipient a benediction of peace for body, mind, heart and spirit.

Create a Watery Welcome
In the course of our day, there may be many ways to connect with the emotional relief or peace that water provides. While a lunch hour spent seaside could work miracles, most of us do not have that luxury. But we can wash our hands, shower, or bathe with the intention of making the moment sacred.

Washing your hands: As you place your hands under the faucet, bring all your attention to the act. Go slowly, breathe. Feel the water flow over them. Stretch your fingers, allowing them to receive, open, and relax. Visually attend to what is happening and watch the water caress and comfort your hands—lovely extensions of you and your heart in the world. Receive this liquid benediction.

Showering: Close your eyes and mindfully feel the water cascade over you. Bring your attention to the top of your head and feel the water slide down your body. Move your attention to other areas of your body—shoulders, back, stomach, feet, for example—and notice how they feel as the water touches them. Breathe deeply and evenly and allow all negative thoughts and feelings to fall away. Imagine them blending with the water droplets as they slide off your skin and go down the drain. Receive and give thanks for this watery transformation.

Bathing: Immerse yourself in what feels to be a watery vessel—a mother’s womb or the womb of the universe—one where you are connected with Source, divinely protected and loved. Relax, breathe deeply and evenly. Move about a bit and feel the water gently lap at you like waves, soothing you even more. Slowly slide beneath the surface until your ears are beneath the water. Listen to your own heartbeat—the primordial heartbeat. Listen to your own breathing—the breath of the Universe.

May inner calm be yours today as water welcomes you “Home.”

©2010, Janice Lynne Lundy. BuddhaChick.Org

 Thank you, Jan!  And now..drum roll please…

Jan is so generously offering one Buddha Chick Mindful Makeover Kit (retail value $97) to one lucky reader who leaves a comment on this post by Saturday June 4th at 9pm PT.   The winner will be announced in the Sunday Scene segment June 5th. 

 

“The Buddha Chick™ Mindful Makeover Kit”

Empowers women to live physically calm, mentally clear, openhearted lives, handling life’s challenges with ease. 12 hours of downloadable recordings, Workbook, Buddha Chick™ Affirmation Cards, and private mentoring support. Nothing short of a complete life makeover using mindfulness and self-compassion.

$97 value..free!

Thank you, Jan, for a wonderful visit…and thank you, dear reader, for sharing in this portion of my journey–absolutely fabulous!

I ask you: what magic are you creating in your life?

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Simon Hay on June 2, 2011 - 11:42 am

    Hi Jan. I love water, not a great swimmer though 😦 I see energy fields as having similar properties to water. You can have that in womb floating feeling working with energy. Great to see you here. Hi Joy 🙂

  2. #2 by Ellene/AuthenticAbundance on June 2, 2011 - 11:54 am

    Joy and Jan –

    I’ve realized something from your post that I didn’t realize before.

    My daughter was much more intuitive than I am, especially about water. You see she was a Cancer, born July 1. And just loved anything about water.

    She passed from this life in 2005, due to recurring breast cancer and after reading this post, I can see how she used water as a healer and for peace in her world. Now I wonder if she used her pockets of peace to take her to a quiet inner place when things were so bad for her. A large part of her passing was related to water and now I understand.

    Thank you for pointing out that even the seemingly simple act of washing our hands and taking the time to feel the water pour over them can be very soothing and quieting when there is so little time in our every day life for creating a calm place.

  3. #3 by Jan on June 2, 2011 - 12:07 pm

    Hi Simon, I appreciate your comment. I very much agree with you about water. It has an amazing energy to not only center us, but heal us. Blessings on your good work in the world!

  4. #4 by Jan on June 2, 2011 - 12:08 pm

    Welcome Ellene,
    I am sorry about your loss. Your daughter sounds like a beautiful soul. As I said above, I believe water is VERY healing – and connecting to the parts of us that hold the memory of wholeness. Our body and its senses can be such a beautiful gateway to true peace if we allow it to. May you love and be happy today…

  5. #5 by Jan on June 2, 2011 - 12:11 pm

    Joy, thank you, thank you, dear hearted one for having me here today. Your peeps are beautiful wise people and it is a gift to spend some time with them. Your joy is always contagious and I love how you share it with others.

    Here’s to a fun blog run and to one lucky winner of my new Kit. We can all use a little more peace and joy in our lives, yes? xo

  6. #6 by Elaine Hodges on June 2, 2011 - 12:18 pm

    After being knocked to my knees by life once again, I am trying to find and trust myself again. In reflection and searching, I have reconnected with some things that I knew about myself but had forgotten. Water is one of those things. I have always been drawn to water. Specifically the ocean which I have not physically seen in over 10 years. . When I am not calm, if I can visualize the ocean I do find fleeting moments of calm. Hopefully soon the universe will show me how I can make the journey to the ocean.

  7. #7 by Laura on June 2, 2011 - 12:37 pm

    Thank you Ellene for sharing your story about your daughter. She sounds like a beautiful soul…both of you. : )

    I plan to practice mindfulness with water…thank you for the inspiration today,

    Laura

    • #8 by Jan on June 2, 2011 - 2:23 pm

      Hi Laura, oh, yes, practice away and soothe yourself. I love how water can bring us back to a mindful (present) state because so often we are truly mind-less. Zombie Chicks! It is so important that we choose to be present to ourselves, to calm and soothe ourselves, throughout the day. Peace is our true nature, not upset or Zombieness. 🙂

  8. #9 by Hilary on June 2, 2011 - 12:52 pm

    Hi Joy and Jan .. I love the idea of pockets of peace – something we can all work for ourselves as we go through life … just those moments of time out – quietness, solitude of mind, bringing life to equanamity .. a balance of love .. a floating of peace ..

    Great to see two calm, loving and peaceful souls together .. all the best Hilary

    • #10 by Jan on June 2, 2011 - 2:24 pm

      Hilary, so nice to see you here my friend! Yes, Pockets of Peace are for you, especially with your busy life and its challenges. I like your words: a balance of love, a floating of peace. This is our true nature, I believe. We just have to access it more often during the day until it becomes habit and lifestyle. xo

  9. #11 by Greta on June 2, 2011 - 1:16 pm

    Joy and Jan,

    I loved this post! Life, water, energy – it’s all fluid and dynamic, and that knowledge is where my peace comes from. I may have to start taking baths more often, since you made it sound so delightful. Thank you, thank you, for the wonderful insight and giveaway.

    • #12 by Jan on June 2, 2011 - 2:26 pm

      Hello Greta, nice to meet you! Life is fluid and dynamic, yet we get so stuck don’t we (in our minds, our egos) and then we forget how to flow with life, to live our happiness and love…Peace truly is just a breath away – if we know how to access it. Blessings! Enjoy your baths. 🙂 I, for one, could not function without a bathtub.

  10. #13 by Mary MacGowan on June 2, 2011 - 1:20 pm

    Hello,

    Joy, “Welcome to my peace filled space” was just the clarity I needed today, as I woke up after 6 hectic (but joyful) days. It is a lovely welcome!

    Jan, As my children and extended family gathered around Spider Lake, I had the pleasure of viewing their expression every time they first got a full view of the lake – it was an “ahhhhh” moment for everyone! On my Dharma Sisters blog, I wrote about using a large glass bowl of water to remind us of the Love that is always there, even when you can’t see it. If you use a big enough bowl, the water shows tinges of blue, and it is really lovely to put out on a coffee table, with a small flower floating on it.

    Blessings to you both!
    Mary

    • #14 by Jan on June 2, 2011 - 2:28 pm

      Mary, thank you for this beautiful suggestion to add a watery welcome to our homes. I love the idea of the glass bowl and the flower. Very Zen too! Water does provide that Ahhhhh response. When I get to the water’s edge, I feel that deep release – like a sort of homecoming. And the longer we sit there, the calmer we get. Enjoy your summer on the lake! And may you find many many Pockets of Peace.

  11. #15 by Melody on June 2, 2011 - 3:41 pm

    How coincidental that you should talk about water today! Yesterday I went out to the ocean (Nahant, Massachusetts). I sat on the rocky beach for a long time, just enjoying all the beauty: water, cliffs, sea and shore birds, wildflowers. I got an urge to dip my feet in the ocean, so I walked to the edge, took off my sandals, and walked in up to my ankles. It was cold, but not cold enough to make my feet numb like the ocean farther north. I let the waves break around my legs, and I watched my feet sink into the sand. I didn’t want to leave. It was a perfect moment. Thank you for reminding me of wonderful water.

  12. #16 by Jan on June 2, 2011 - 6:40 pm

    Hi Melody,
    Thanks for dipping your toes in here. Nice to see you. I am glad you listened to your wise self and took care of you—body, mind, heart and soul. Water does that. May your day be full of mindful moments…

  13. #17 by Baker on June 2, 2011 - 7:31 pm

    Hey there,
    I resonate well with the element of water, and how that keeps the flow of life metaphorically in our lives. As we tune into this “flow” we become more fluid and open in our experience. Nicely done post!

    • #18 by Jan on June 2, 2011 - 9:36 pm

      Hi Baker, from one watery soul to another, may we flow on with ease and joy. May our loving-kindness flow, as well.

      Lovely friends, may I give another plug. Check out my Facebook page. You will find it here.

      Each day I offer a recorded “90-Second Blessing” to calm and restore ourselves. I’d like to hear your thoughts and it would be nice if would “Like” it too. (wink). I thank you. Blessings!

      http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Buddha-Chick/183891558298431

  14. #19 by DeLynne on June 2, 2011 - 10:47 pm

    I have been taking long walks on the beach lately and the pull of the sound, the smell, and the sight have hooked me all over again after many years of it just being something I live close to. On my walk this weekend I realized that one of the things that calms me so much is the continuity, the fact that it has not stopped since the beginning of time. That gives me a sense of peace in this world that seems to always be looking for the next big thing…

    • #20 by Jan on June 3, 2011 - 1:53 am

      Hi DeLynne, this is a beautiful observation. Timelessness – that sense does root us in peace, naturally. As does the vista of ocean, no borders, no boundaries….we are free. And isn’t that what all of us want, really? To be free – especially interiorly free? Blessings to you! Enjoy your walks. 🙂

  15. #21 by Michelle on June 3, 2011 - 3:06 am

    Thank you, Jan for this post. I, too, have found much healing through water: many lunches are spent next to the lake, and a hot bath at the end of the night is my favorite de-stresser.

    • #22 by Jan on June 3, 2011 - 3:53 pm

      Hi Michelle, these awarenesses are so important because our inner peace truly is a choice. We need to be able to drop into this mindset and give ourselves what we need. Our inner peace is crucial to our health and well-being and water is key to that. Thanks for stopping by!

  16. #23 by Lizbeth on June 3, 2011 - 1:32 pm

    Dear Jan and Joy, et al….Thank you for another amazing article – I am always looking for other ways to go to that quiet centering place within while I am stressing over my 12 hr work days…this idea of washing my hands to find a few seconds of “peace” will be a welcome addition – super idea!

    • #24 by Jan on June 3, 2011 - 3:54 pm

      Lizbeth, nice to meet you. I sure hope you WILL take some watery breaks during the day if you are working 12 hrs. a day. Eek! Be sure to drink plenty of water too because the brain is approx. 82% water and if we don’t rehydrate our thinking gets very unclear and we can feel even more stressed. Blessings to you!

  17. #25 by Christen on June 4, 2011 - 2:50 pm

    I’ve currently found myself at a standstill in life spiritually and physically; and because of that have given myself a 12 week challenge to really explore who I am. Jan I love seeing your posts on FB from day to day, but was oddly intrigued by this. Even though, I might have clarity in so many areas these days, my day always finishes with a bath just to clear my mind and connect to me. Who know that I could take a few minutes, while washing my hands in the middle of the day, to do the same. Thank you both Jan and Joy for sharing another moment of peace!

    • #26 by Jan on June 4, 2011 - 6:13 pm

      Christen, I am glad that you are taking time “in” to clarify your life. It sounds powerful! My sense is that your mind/body intrinsically knows what you need at the end of day- nurturing, a detox from the day (water is great for that) and time remembering your inner calm. Sounds very good to me!

  18. #27 by Kris on June 4, 2011 - 2:53 pm

    I’ve always found a strange comfort in washing my dishes by hand. The hot, sudsy water is so comforting to me, and I usually end up staring out the window in a “mini-meditation.” Interestingly, I’m also alone for virtually the only time during the day. Children are not too fond of being near dirty dishes when they might be asked to help. As I’m solo-parenting my brood while my husband is deployed for the year, this is about the only alone time I get. While this may not fit the typical water moments you describe, I’ll take any moments I can! 🙂

    • #28 by Jan on June 4, 2011 - 6:15 pm

      Kris, I too have a window right above my sink. I actually enjoy standing there looking out, locating what is new in my garden or what the birds are doing at the feeder. That, with the warm water and gentle movements of rubbing dishes, definitely soothe me. It is very good alone time. 🙂 I am glad to know you see it as that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

