Sunday Scene: Blind Faith

Hello.

Welcome to my peace filled space.  It is my pleasure to share energy here!

Joy and Faith

During a  recent visit to The Gentle Barn, I was drawn to this particular cow.  Such sweet energy, peace filled. I breathed in love..then let it flow through my hands as I stroked her fur, felt the energy through her muscles..she stood perfectly still, absorbing it all..and my heart expanded. 

The Gentle Barn is a local rescue farm that is one of my family’s favorite places to spend time.  Each animal there has a story rife with pain and abuse.  I asked the handler what was this precious animal’s story?  She is blind.  What is her name? Faith.
 
In a week of pondering a huge decision in my personal life..what, where, when, why, who..How? 
 
When I create, it is my belief that as I begin to create the “how’s?” are taken care of.  So, for me to ask how? shows me that fear is present.  Even in the presence of fear, I keep my heart open and I spend time at my favorite places in nature..because the Answer is within, but these places reflect that Answer to me in ways that I may best receive. 
 
I received my answer loud and clear!  How? How? How???  I do not know “how”. 
 
Blind Faith.
 
Got it.  Yep, I sure do!
 
This video shows a calf rescue and explains a bit about the work of the Gentle Barn Calf Rescue at E6.  My entire being understands that each animal’s story mirrors that of a human… My Story is one of faith..so to be reminded of how far blind faith may allow me to open my heart is a gift.  Universe/God/Divine speaks to me always..it is up to me to be open/quiet to listen.
 
Tell me, dear reader, is there an area in your life that you are reluctant to step into?  And how do you summon the oomph to take that step?
 
My friend, Raam Dev, recently shared this thought on his blog; resonated so strongly within me–an affirmation for my current journey– that I am sharing a small portion here..Please follow this link to read the entire thought: Worthy of Influence! 
 
“To lead a life worthy of influence we must avoid the urge to ‘fit in’, even if doing so means risking judgement. We must be eager to set an example, unafraid to stand alone, and always ready to step into the darkness.”
 
What would it require to step into that darkness?  Blind faith perhaps?  
 
Much peace,
Joy 
 
 
, , ,

  1. #1 by Sandra Pawula on May 29, 2011 - 5:01 am

    Dearest Joy,

    Oh my goodness, I’ve been reading about so many blind animals lately. My heart goes out to them. A rescue farm is such a precious place! Thanks for giving us this glimpse of faith and your current tangles with it! Or is that tango with it!

    The challenge for me is putting so much stock into my thinking mind and validity in the material world, when that is only part of the picture. Faith is big on my horizon ~ I need more faith.

    And I’m so happy to meet faith here. Thanks!

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 29, 2011 - 7:06 am

      Hi Sandra,
      I am glad that places such as The Gentle Barn exist and that we have healers for animals and people; yet my heart wishes that we would collectively be so full of love and joy and minus fear that abuse wouldn’t occur at all. I love this “tango with faith”..when I am asking How? I am expressing doubt…and perhaps limiting my own power as well as Universal Power..kind of like the quote about “if you think you cannot, then you can’t”..oh, but I surely can, so I am..with poignant reminders such as Blind Faith whom I shared in this space..
      We do live in a material world, so your challenge is shared by many..I love Raam’s thought because my lifestyle allows me to spend lots of time not in mainstream flow, and I’m learning to embrace that difference even if/though it sets me apart from many.
      I think when we feel we need more faith, we are like a blossom reaching toward light, straining to grow..maybe if we realize Light shines upon us always, we may delight in the brilliance of it and feel the abundance each day…

  2. #3 by Rand on May 29, 2011 - 5:41 am

    Hello Joy!

    I am going to resist the urge to “fit in” and agree with Mr. Raam Dev’s suggestions regards a life worthy of influence.

    From my experence of ‘Saving the Hay’ on a farm in West Clare, Ireland an *insight* that comes to mind is that I “stood alone” on top of a stack of hay ‘receiving pitch forks of hay from others, which I would have to layer down. You see… though I “stood alone” on top, I was but a link in a vital group effort.

    One better really have something they believe will be beneficial and positive changing for their family and community, etc. in order to live the life of not ‘fitting in’ and not worrying about fitting in. That going by the beat of your own drum can be pretty boring…

    The whole maverick way of life really at best hardly even serves the loner. One can really be a worthy influence by being a *team player*. In doing so one re-enforces their *steady faith*.

    In my line of work I will take a *team player* every time over the maverick not wanting to ‘fit in’.

    My being a *team player* will help my daughter go through college and thus be a future postitive influence to this world.

    Regards ‘Blind Faith’ I believe these words from a sermon that I heard, and left in your ‘Sunday Scene: Come to the Edge’… are worthy to mention once again:

    ‘We should embrace life each day fully like it will be our last’
    ‘We should love and be dedicated to our family, friends, and work’
    ‘We should keep a strong faith in God’
    ‘We should in some way serve our community’
    ‘We should care for and have respect for our natural world’
    ‘We should have passion for life’

    I guess one could judge me as old-fashioned, but at least I am not ‘reluctant’ in my love and commitment to the above.

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 29, 2011 - 7:14 am

      Hi Rand,
      I referenced Raam’s thought in this essay because it is one I am embracing in my life. Lots of what I do and how I live is well outside of mainstream flow..and much of my life has been spent trying to dim my light to fit in. It shines, anyway..so I’m learning to embrace it and stoke it to shine even brighter:) I can be a team player, but mainly I do march to the beat of my own drum (literally!), and I form the team as I am playing…
      I do have something I believe is beneficial and positive changing for my family and community..my belief in and practice of living a peace filled, heart directed life, regardless of external circumstances. I often stand alone, by choice, but sometimes because my beliefs vary from those around me. I love this time alone..I spend it in nature, on the ocean, in meditation..and allow it to enrich my life.
      i absolutely respect your commitment and your beliefs..and am glad you chose to share here…:)

      • #5 by Rand on May 29, 2011 - 11:21 pm

        Joy, as the *Sunday Scene* has progressed here in Southern California into the late afternoon once again the sound of Spanish Serenade rises from below.

        I do understand, appreciate, and believe in the “Blind Faith” message that you present today. As you know I like to look for balance, and offer how something works and may not work.

        One singer that I did follow spot for a few years back was Jose Feliciano…yes blind, but what a fantastic guitarist, and singer with passion. Some may remember his rendition of the *Star Spangle Banner* and the controversy that it caused. He stood alone but not ‘blind’ and in doing so pathed the way for others to sing our National Anthem with *individualistic* style and passion.

        Now with that being said…my other appreciation is for that of my fellow stagehands in being “team players” and watching each others back tonight at the Sports Arena when we do what will be a major, and dagerous “load out”.

        Viva La Vida,
        Rand

  3. #6 by Alien Ghost on May 29, 2011 - 4:37 pm

    Hi Joy,

    “It is my belief that as I begin to create the “how’s?” are taken care of. So, for me to ask how? shows me that fear is present.”

    I never thought of it that way, but you are absolutely right. Analazing the “how” in the planning process could be considered being “responsible”, but too much of it, and we are being stopped by our own fears.

    My guess is that we do need to consider the “how”, but at some point we must stop that process and go by “blind faith”, or simply “go for it” with trust that the hidden “hows” will be shown on the road ahead.

    Thank you for sharing your wisdom with us 🙂

    Raul

  4. #7 by Sibyl on May 29, 2011 - 5:32 pm

    It really is all about finding that oomph isn’t it? I think what you said is so true about when you create the hows are taken care of. It is such a great message and something we really do have to believe in. It helps us get our minds where they need to be so we can move beyond our comfort zone and have our fears diminished. Great post and message.

  5. #8 by Ellen Eassa on May 29, 2011 - 5:53 pm

    Hello Joy,

    This is a beautiful photo. What a gentle, sweet girl Faith is! She’s loving you as much as you are loving her. Faith and Joy definitely go together. 🙂

    Thank you for this personal example in your life of how the question of how? was answered. It’s very inspiring to me, especially because you are the person who has most made me understand the concept of *reflecting back*…on many levels.

    I’m glad Faith was able to further light your way. I have no doubt you’ll keep moving forward with this grand decision, and I look forward to watching it unfold.

    Cheers to beautiful, blind Faith!

    Many hugs,
    Ellen

  6. #9 by Talon on May 30, 2011 - 5:09 am

    The Gentle Barn – the perfect name for such a worthy place. I find animals calming and centering.

    Your friend is obviously very wise. To be brave enough to follow your own path…well, it makes for an interesting, worthwhile and beautiful life.

    Hope you and your family are having a fabulous weekend.

  1. Equanimity Kung Fu Panda Style ~ Raoka « *POSITIVE PROVOCATIONS*

Leave a Reply

