Sunday Scene: Come to the Edge

Hello 🙂

Thank you for choosing to share energy with me here!  It is my pleasure to explore something brand new together!

Welcome to a new feature here at “Unfolding”: Sunday Scene! 

Power and Grace in Action through Kite Boarding

Come to the Edge
 
“Come to the edge .”
“We can’t.  We’re afraid.”
“Come to the edge.”
“We can’t.  We will fall.”
“Come to the edge.”
And they came.
And he pushed them.
And they flew.
-Christopher Logue
 
I think we often forget we have wings.  Others can see them: see their beauty, their grace, their power..but we are blind to them. 
 
I think those of us who do know we have wings, often hide them so we do not appear drastically different from our peers.  We long to be special, yet we sometimes hide that which makes us gorgeously unique. 
 
I am Aware that there are many of us who know we have wings, adore them, and use them to soar to ever amazingly higher heights.
 
(….which group would you categorize your self into?)
 
Why do we not allow our selves to fly?
Perhaps we feel rooted by responsibility, limited by human capability, stuck in fear.  Perhaps we look at the above photo and acknowledge the energy in it (my God that man has harnessed wind, glided over waves, and is freakin’ flying!!!) and think surely he is fit and strong enough to fly, but not I..and we then list a million reasons why the edge is fine for *him* but not very comfortable for us.
 
Perhaps we even Feel the Divine in it all..speaks to us loudly… but we separate our self from it because we cannot Feel it in here, in our hearts…
 
Why do we allow our selves to fly?
Because we Feel the call…the tug..the desire to spread our wings, to test the air, to come to the edge, to feel Wind….We want to experience life fully, allow our Divinity to shine brightly, stretch, soar!  We know we are Grace and Power so we harness wind and skip over those waves with ease!  We are in love with the World and the World loves us back!
 
I encourage you to let your heart whispers soar.  May you realize you are: beauty, strength, power, agile, grace.  May you Feel all that is reflected to you, is you.   May you Know that Universal Flow, Abundance, God’s hand is there for you when you open your heart to it.  May your edge constantly evolve, may you allow fear to surface, thank you fear!..then step to the edge, and ready your self, because you are about to fly!  When you do soar..may you feel bliss, joy, elation..in each and every moment..let it sink into the depths of your Being, overflow from your heart back in to Universal Flow, Abundance, God’s hand!  May you delight in participating in this glorious cycle of graciously receiving and generously giving! May you celebrate this delicate dance of coming to the edge, mustering up faith, and flying.
 
May we learn to encourage and support each other.  To accept each other fully.  To love unconditionally.  To share our dreams, desires, creative passions.  To hold space lovingly.  To be transparent.  To celebrate strength and power.  To graciously accept the gifts that are purposefully placed into our lives and to share from the bounty of these precious gifts. 
 
All do-ing words..one thing we know is that we are all capable of “do-ing”, in our own way, at our own pace…
 
May we honor our individual steps even as we look to collaborate within community. 
 
Much peace,
Joy
There is still time to accept or to share the life enriching gift of a free one week clarity session through email.  If you would like to create something new and different within your life, release something that no longer fits, or take the step to your edge and fly…it would be a joy to explore together:) 
 
 
, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Ellene/AuthenticAbundance on May 15, 2011 - 8:21 pm

    Joy,

    The above poem has long been a favorite of mine.

    There is so much meaning in your paragraph – “Why do we allow ourselves to fly?” Especially “I encourage you to let your heart whisper soar.”

    Why is it so hard for us to accept that we are beauty, strength, power, agile and grace? In my way of thinking it is because we are not open to God’s hand being there for us.We are not confident that we can come to the edge and fly.

    Recently, I read this poem from Rumi…

    Make everything in you an ear
    each atom of being,
    and you will hear
    at every moment
    what the Source
    is whispering to you…

    You are the beloved
    of The Beloved

    And in every moment,
    in very event of your life,
    The Beloved
    is whispering to you
    exactly what you need to hear and know.

    When doubt is changed from fear to confidence, taking to heart the words of Rumi and your words above, we will surely fly.

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 15, 2011 - 10:28 pm

      Hi Ellene,
      Wow! Just plain wow!
      Rumi is one of my all time favorites..my friend has a person in her life who reads Rumi while playing guitar or something like that–shoot Rumi *and* guitar would light my heart on fire! So, thank you for sharing this Rumi poem–I had not heard it before and I absolutely love it!
      One of my favorite activities is to walk in nature with my children, magic pup, and any of our friends who choose to join us…as we walk, I listen to the trees, the birds, the wind, the ocean waves, the sounds around us..and I receive such joy and wisdom from what is shared. We pick a place and we sit..I often think I am sitting in silence..but I now see that I am listening with my heart..
      I didn’t realize until after presenting this Sunday scene, I respect and admire grace and power in those who play in the ocean in ways I never “think I can”..what is reflected to me though is the grace and power within me, expressed in ways that I Know..and I shall open my heart to accept that graciously!

  2. #3 by Tess The Bold Life on May 15, 2011 - 8:37 pm

    Joy and Ellene,
    Thanks for the inspiration today! Joy I loved your response over at Evita’s on Have we lost our minds or heart. Have a great week.

  3. #5 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on May 16, 2011 - 7:42 pm

    Yep, this post sure speaks to me! Did you write it JUST for me?!! (Am I that special?!!) Sometimes I don’t even know when I’m being afraid, or when I’m ignoring my wings/gifts, so it helps to have gentle reminders from those closest to me. And chances are, if I’m really afraid I’ll deny the fear flat out. That’s when I need someone to hold my hand and tell me, “It’s okay to see things clearly. It’s okay to acknowledge ‘what is.’ You are bigger than your body and bigger than this moment of fear.”

    You do that for me, and I’m grateful. Here’s to clarity — and heck, I think last year at this time I was dealing with similar issues around clarity! And they manifested in parallel fashion… Makes me smile.

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 17, 2011 - 11:29 am

      Hi Megan,
      Sweet friend you see reflected to you that which you need, so yes, I wrote those words for *you*, then:)
      Many times throughout the past two weeks I’ve been at my edge, flown, then come back to the edge again..a beauty filled cycle that may be as transformative as we allow it to be. When at my edge, my Being wants to revert to comfort (old thoughts, patterns, ideas) so I remain mindfully aware to allow for fresh, new, different and I then fly into: fresh, new, different–awe-some!
      Clarity may be an amazing gift if we allow it to be. As you mentioned, sometimes we See, yet are flat out afraid and our vision is clouded with fear. Our wings work, always, so for me, it’s inspirational to watch others fly– especially loved ones because I know their story and what they are truly capable of–and allow their journey to mirror to me insight about my own.
      I added a new header to my site..butterflies are back..let’s fly together sweet friend:)

  4. #7 by Alien Ghost on May 17, 2011 - 2:59 am

    Hi Joy,

    It is said people is starting to realize there is something wrong in their lives and in what they have been pursuing so far. That they are searching for “something else” through reading, meditation, etc.

    We can fly! We just didn’t realize it.

    The amazing capabilities of a human being are being discovered by people, and with it, leaving behind a life of quiet acceptance and resignation is getting left behind.

    And your writing is making a huge contribution to this movement…thank you 🙂

    Raul

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 17, 2011 - 11:31 am

      Hi Raul,
      People do tend to “search” not realizing all that we search for is right here, when allow our selves to See.
      We *can* fly! Absolutely. SOme of us had no idea, some of us soar as high as possible..some think it’s a one time deal..any time we choose, we may fly!
      I love this: “The amazing capabilities of a human being are being discovered by people, and with it, leaving behind a life of quiet acceptance and resignation is getting left behind.”
      Thank you for your insights, and your kind words..:)

  5. #9 by Rand on May 17, 2011 - 7:51 pm

    Joy this powerful and soaring post reflects back to a time and place some four years ago that I was at.

    It was yesterday on my walk from the Mission Beach Jetty to the famous Tourmaline Street surfing location that I started to re-live that day. As I approached Crystal Pier, up above on the other side, I could see the three kites that belonged to the boarders out of site below.

    Once I came into full view of all three kite boarders at Tourmaline Beach, I stopped to watch them ^soar^ knowing that up on the bluff above Tourmaline Beach, is a monument dedicated to some of the early pioneer’s of Southern California surfing. And also knowing that one of those names on that bronze plate belongs to a man that I have known…I have also known his family.

    The place was the church high on the top of Mt. Soledad. The memorial service in this large church was packed. I stood along the side with many of my fellow stagehands in attendance. The seats were full due to the many family members and friends.

    The service was for the son and daughter-in-law of the man on the the monument. Both died in a car accident while on a trip. The three young boys in the back of the SUV survived with only scratches.

    It was high above on top of Mt. Soledad overlooking the Pacific that the Priest presented this message from what he personally knew of the two deceased and of the surviving family:

    ‘We should embrace life each day fully like it will be our last’
    ‘We should love and be dedicated to our family, friends, and work’
    ‘We should keep a strong faith in God’
    ‘We should in some way serve our community’
    ‘We should care for and have respect for our natural world’
    ‘We should have passion for life’

    The family that day in the presence of the two draped caskets was so strong and calm…reflective of their convictions to the above.

    My two memories of the son at that service are: (1) Black Diamond runs at Mammoth Mountain and the Ski Lodge we worked on together during Labor Day weekends when he was a teenager (2) Carying a large spotlight down from the catwalk to the stage below together when he was a father and husband…

    Yes Joy…^Soar^ high above!

    Peace be with you,
    Rand

  1. An Abundance of Love « Unfolding Your Path to Joy

Leave a Reply

