Celebrating Mother’s Day in a New Way

Hello.  
 
Welcome to my peace filled place.  Thank you for joining me in this space!
 
Transparency:  I wasn’t going to write a Mother’s Day anything.  I have a birth mother, but I grew up without her–which I share in this essay the lost girl.  So, on Mother’s Day, yes I may choose to celebrate Mother Earth, Mother Sky, Mother Mary, my pseudo moms who have guided me through certain points in my life..but as for my *Mom* I celebrate that she birthed me and that God/Universe provided me with the rest. 
 
My beauty filled friend Zeenat asked for a Mother’s Day musing.  Which I readily gave to her.  The words just flowed.  She then contacted me and said thank you, it is wonderful, may you publish it on your blog.
 
No.  Thank you, though.
 
Fear.  I do not celebrate Mother’s Day.  It is not for me. (Note: I do receive for Mother’s Day, though..my children enjoy creating expressions of their love, and I look forward to what shape these love expressions take!).  
 
I had an essay ready to go..my essay is about allowing my friends to gently challenge me to move past fear which allows me to do the internal work to access a most loving place.  To lean into my own discomfort to access this place.  This essay will be next to appear on my blog.  I share the gist of my essay here with you so that you may see, I do apply what I learn: having written about this, Universe provides me an opportunity to practice through my friend Zeenat who has just gently challenged me to lean into my own discomfort (fear).  Love how that works! I have decided to follow her loving prompt and share my Mother’ Day musings here.
 
“Unfolding” allows me to be grateful for all that I do have (loving friendships) and to fill my space with all that I want to be surrounded by (peace, love, joy).  When I am afraid, I take fear with me to my heart space and pour love into it.  I may release my ‘story’ at any moment, and choose to create new and different with the resources I have in this moment.
 
Thank you for listening..thank you for holding space as I explore what Mother’s Day means to me in the “now”. 
 
My Mother’s Day Musings for 2011 (as originally sent to Zeenat):
 
I grew up minus the presence of a mother in my life.  I’ve always had a heart full of love and known I was “born” to be a wife and mother.  I enjoy serving others, and my entire Being knew one of my life’s purposes was to one day serve my own family with pleasure.  I got married, and we planned children.  It was a joy to plan to create children and to vision guiding them through life.  It was an absolute joy to birth my children (yes, it was painful and they both have their own beginning of life stories, but still what a joy!).  My marriage ended.  My joy continued.
 
I look at my children and know I am blessed beyond imagination to be their mother.  They are two Angels to light my life.  I have told them from early on, my role as their mother is to teach them life skills so they may experience life fully on their own.  Separation seems to be a mainstream issue, in our family, there is no fear of separation, just sharing of unconditional love.  It is an honor to be the mother of my children.  It is an honor to share my beliefs with them, then to learn from them as they process experiences through their own internal filters.  My children have a faith in God, and a belief in Universal energy and abundance, so it is a delight to watch them pray, then manifest..and to create in life at an early age from resources I personally did not know existed until later in life. 
 
We often have this perception that we are who we were raised to be.  In my life, that is not so.  I had no mother figure, yet mothering is a joy.  I was raised with abuse, yet I serve out of unconditional love.  I had a faith in God but was told that was the only path, yet my children have choices that some adults haven’t yet been shown.  The relationship I have with my children..the comfort, ease, joy, love, faith, manifesting, creating, exploring, experiencing, laughing, dancing, singing..we share together astounds me when I think of what I’ve come from, but is the “proof” that all things truly are possible.  When I think of relating in the world, I often wish all of my connections could be like that I share with my children.  Not to cling to, but to know the connection is temporary and to enjoy it fully while it is present in my life.  The greatest gift we have given each other is to honor our individual personalities, to encourage each other in our individual paths, and to share our journey together at the end of the day.
 
Now that my children are older..11&13..they broaden my horizons, so to speak.  Through all that they share, I learn about new music, colors, mediums to create in.  They are often encouraging me to try new and different as I have encouraged them.  They are familiar with heart whispers and dreams and inspire my own as much as they allow for theirs.  What we share together is magical..and sharing that magic lights our life with even more magic.  What I choose to focus on grows..so I do not focus on the void of not having my own mother, but on the pleasure of allowing mothering to unfold in my life. 
 
On Mother’s Day, I honor my children.  Many think that is backwards.  I think it fits us perfectly well..it is an honor to share what I do with my children.  This day and every day.  To my precious Angels, I love you to the moon and back, and who you are inspires me to continue to become *me*…Thank you:)
 
One of the most fun pieces I’ve done for this blog was Dancing on the Dock.  I wish for everyone the peace, joy, love, laughter, fun, playfulness, acceptance that my children and I share together..as you watch our video may your heart dance with all that fills your space!
 
 
Much peace,
Joy
  1. #1 by Alien Ghost on May 8, 2011 - 6:45 pm

    Hi Joy,

    Personally I cannot understand when I see people who complain about “teenagers!” or the problems of having to raise children. In my personal experience, spending my son’s life with him has been one of the best things that ever happened to me. As you mention, there’s so much we learn from our children; there’s so much we can enjoy every single day; and they can show us what is really important in life.

    This video you share with us shows how amazing and gratifying parenthood can be, and all the fun and connection you guys have with each other. Thank you for sharing it with us 🙂

    Have a wonderful mother’s day Joy! I know you will since you have the treasure of your children with you.

    Raul

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 9, 2011 - 8:29 am

      Hi Raul,
      So nice to see you here! I also know that yours is a very child centered family, and parenthood is amazingly gratifying for you as well:)
      My children are on the verge of teenage-dom. In life, I do not label, nor do I apply expectations, so I believe that their teenage years will be a time of exploration, joy, a burst of creativity and passion and all that is fulfilling and good. I love to watch their lives unfold and it will be interesting to see how the foundation of their beliefs morphs and evolves as they grow on all levels!

  2. #3 by Patricia on May 10, 2011 - 12:33 am

    I do not celebrate Mother’s Day either – just let my children decide what they want to do…but I have decided that being honored on Mother’s Day does not involve me cooking, because that is part of my work, which also included mothering but is not the “food is love” that I was served as a child.

    Your words are lovely and inspiring. I had a lovely day in the hail and wind storm and one of my kiddos made food and shared flowers….having an “out of house’ experience was grand and gave me 4 hours in the car to think of all the lovely moments with my children

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 10, 2011 - 11:19 am

      Patricia,
      I celebrate your “out of house experience”..I love that phrase! May life be sprinkled with many out of house experiences:)

  3. #5 by Evelyn Lim on May 11, 2011 - 2:33 am

    I celebrate your way of celebrating Mother’s Day. As a mother myself, I know how it feels like to have so much love for one’s children. My children have taught me so much. I wouldn’t exchange the experience with having them for anything else in the world. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I have always loved the energy that you bring. Your presence is a healing force in this world 🙂

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 15, 2011 - 3:26 pm

      Hi Evelyn,
      Thank you for celebrating with me and for your kind words 🙂
      Having children has allowed me to greatly expand my world and my being within this world. It is an absolute joy for me to experience!

  4. #7 by Aileen | Kaizen Vision on May 11, 2011 - 6:13 am

    Joy, Thank you for sharing that fun, magical video!
    & Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Mothers Day.
    What a strong and beautiful choice to honor it the way that you do “On Mother’s Day, I honor my children. … I think it fits us perfectly well..it is an honor to share what I do with my children”
    You have such an incredible way of looking at life and living it fully with a great openness.

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on May 15, 2011 - 3:28 pm

      Hi Aileen,
      Thank you for your energy:)
      Perhaps I shall say, I honor *love* today and always..that includes my children but doesn’t separate us from anyone..each and every day, I honor and create from love:)

Leave a Reply

