How Embracing Magic Changes My Life

Hello.

Welcome to my peace filled space.  Thank you for joining me!

I appreciate that you choose to share energy here.

The weather today was unseasonably warm–80 degrees; while at work, the blue skies and sunshine beckoned me to come play.  I wished to be home.  I wished to come home and bundle *Magic Moonbeam* in my arms. 

(Sometimes people are afraid of magic…we want to know specifically what will happen if we embrace it, we ask for transformation here but not *there*, we wonder how will it fit, what will it look like, we think it might hurt…)

Not me, I boldly, lovingly embrace magic! I realize the significance of incorporating Magic Moonbeam into my life..transformational in ways I have no words to describe!

When you open your arms to Magic.. you are blessed with transformation: of a self, of a moment, of a life! 

How Embracing Magic Changes My Life

(As you read, Magic refers to my pup and to a force that enriches life..interchangeable…)

Magic allows my Heart to lead.  I fell in love with Magic.   I did not know specifically how he would fit onto the boat or into my life..but I did know I loved him and that love would cover the specifics.  It has.  He fits.  And he lights my life in ways I could not imagine.  I followed my heart and I’ve been rewarded one million times over. 

I originally allowed a friend to watch magic while I worked.  This lasted one and a half days.  This friend texted me “I lost my temper with Magic”.  A reminder to get my priorities straight.  This is about me, not my friend; reflection: I did not allow magic into my life to stuff him into a space while I invested energy elsewhere..I allowed magic into my life to cherish and enjoy him.  Do you get the lesson?  No, it is not about whether to trust another person..it is about cherishing the gifts I’ve been given.  Magic, yes..but what other gifts do I allow to fall to the wayside while I invest my energy in something else? And do I allow magic to transform the patterns, ideas, beliefs that no longer fit? 

(Note: I was disappointed with myself for trusting precious magic with someone else..Lesson: Do you hand your dreams to someone to take care of, or do you dig deep and restructure your life to allow your dreams to flourish? How easy to hand them over, how fulfilling to invest your own energy to allow for more than you can imagine!)

When you are given the gift of Magic, make space for it.  My answer to this immediate dilemma was to recognize that folding magic in permanently was my dream..to retructure my life to make space for magic.  I made the choice to take time off of work to love on and train magic.  I was afraid because I believed this time would be unpaid, right when I needed the money.  What are my priorities?  Where do I place my Trust?  Full of faith, I chose to follow my heart: my time was paid, magic was trained and fits well into my life and on the boat.  While home on leave, there were many other changes to allow for. As I made room for magic, as I cherished this gift of magic, my life was transformed.  We spend lots of time in nature, which lavishes me with beauty and wisdom and refreshment.  And that beauty, wisdom, and refreshment enriches all areas of my life..which then ushers in more changes in other areas..You can see how allowing for magic may then enrich every single area I have made space in.  In your life, what areas would blossom if you made the space to allow magic to be there?

The moment I open my arms, magic jumps right into them..filling them as far as I can open them. Enough said..magic joyfully, lovingly fills all of the space he is given..he likes to be in my arms close to my chest, he loves to be in my space, he loves to be *right here*.  What I’ve learned is *right here* is lovely…and in opening my arms so wide to magic, I am opening my arms to Universal Flow.  Fill them as much as you can!  I’m learning to enjoy it:)  Do you open your arms fully to magic, just a bit..not at all?  What would happen if you allowed magic to completely fill that space?

Magic is always right there, waiting to be acknowledged.  Life can be as busy as I allow it to be.  Busyness usually means I am unaware of my surroundings..of the magic in them.  However, Magic waits patiently for me to be ready.  Each and every moment.  Grateful for the moments I am ready and pour on attention!  I do not have to earn it, to buy it, to manipulate it, just have to be Aware of it.  Be aware of magic!

When I am distracted and my attention is diverted, magic tugs gently to attract me.  Sure, in this form magic is a pup, and pups may be playful..so if my attention is diverted long enough..here is magic with a gentle tug on my pants leg, or wrist, or whatever he can reach to say hey, here I am, look at me!  Magic wants your attention! And if I still don’t pay attention, magic barks–loudly..look at me, I am right here in your face!  Wow..what in your life is gently tugging/barking loudly to receive your misplaced attention?   

When I nourish magic, he thrives and grows. I look at Magic today, and I see he has doubled in size, he is ever growing..and is so joyfilled, so playful..He lights up a room, and together we light up each space we travel to.  People gravitate to us both, want to laugh and play with us, love our essence..a walk around the harbor is fun!..and the more love we get, the more love we send out, the most magnificent love we get in return..you can see how this works with magic. 

(The reverse is true, too.  If magic was malnourished, what a travesty!  Hmm…is there anything malnourished in your life?  Just wanting a bit of energy in order to blossom?)

Magic reminds me to play, to laugh, to kiss, to bask in the sunshine, to breathe fresh air, to just be.  Oh yes, I’ve learned to fold magic right in, to release any barriers between me and magic, to enjoy the moments magic is in…to let those moments magnify and be each and every moment of my life!  Are there activities in your life that magic could spice up?

Magic touches all areas of my life I allow him into.  Some people give Magic only so much room to exist in…I’ve given magic my entire life, from all of my favorite places to all of the places with clutter, All…magic is in All….making my favorites better, teaching me to release the clutter..How much room do you give magic?

My heart overflows with gratitude and love!  I look at magic and think I love you! and thank you!  To Magic, to God, to the Moon, to Universe, to All.  When I Feel love and gratitude, I create from that space, I share from that space, and I receive into that space!  Just.. wow!  I cannot name here the numerous blessings heaped upon me, my children, all whom we interact with..because we have opened our hearts to magic: I can say in the one month magic has been in my life, every area has been transformed to something dream like..and I continue to step forward into this dream!  None of which would have happened had I not allowed magic into my life..or had I allowed my friend to continue to hold magic for me..

Just as I guide my clients, I have opened my heart to magic, and my life is definitely as magical as I allow it to be!

The bonus: the inspiration for this article came from this source:

 As I bundled Magic, I listened to the latest interview in Change Warrior Project which happened to feature my good friend Zeenat

So, as I was asking God/Universe for answers on how to move forward in my own life: here is a voice I trust, a person I respect and admire who reflects to me grace, kindness, love, peace, joy…providing insights on *change* in a video format, as if she was right here in my living space!  I feel that while I was holding Magic, my friend was guiding me in change.  Thank you, God, Universe..for this Answer to my Heart Whisper: inspiration, encouragement, willingness to learn…

Please check out the ‘”Change Warrior Project”..video stories from 11 very inspirational women who have embraced change and allowed for phenomenal! 

And…April is full of lots of change in my personal life, which will be reflected in this space.  I’m very excited to explore with you my April theme of *passion*..so get ready to let your senses lead..I love this world!

Thank you, dear reader, for walking a few steps with me today!  May your life be full of abundant Magic:) 

Much peace,

Joy

If my work has enriched your life in any way, may you consider donating through my home page.  Each dollar amount is very much appreciated and allows me to invest my energy into my passion of spreading love and peace through writing and teaching.  With each donation, you will receive a daily email affirmation in your in box for two weeks.  A refreshing and peace filled way to begin your day!

  1. #1 by Peggy Nolan on April 1, 2011 - 1:37 am

    I love how you have opened your arms and your heart to allow Magic to flourish and grow.

    Pup Magic is so adorable! I just want to squeeze him 🙂

    Much love,
    Peggy

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on April 1, 2011 - 1:48 am

      Hi Peggy,
      Thank *you*..You provide constant reminders, stories of love, and wise insights through all that you share..your work inspires, uplifts, and motivates me to keep opening my arms to magic!

  2. #3 by Moshe on April 1, 2011 - 3:15 am

    Hi Joy’
    I met Magic he is a sweet thing, and very magical. you absulutly right we all need to embrace
    Magic.And it begin with the magic in our hearts.I realy enjoyed this post. keep up the great
    Writing thank you much.

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on April 1, 2011 - 4:37 am

      Hi Moshe,
      Thank you!
      Magic pup is precious and your reminder of our visit is an awesome reflection to *share* magic! It is a pleasure and a blessing to share magic with loved ones who support and encourage us. Thank you for being such a person!
      Yes, magic begins in our hearts; when we open our hearts to magic, we open our hearts to life!

  3. #5 by Zeenat on April 1, 2011 - 5:59 am

    My Darling Magical Joy,
    You are magic personified..and how can your life not be filled with magic all the way.
    We are soul sisters who live in magic always…what a blissful state of being that is.
    Just know that your words, your energy, you light and your magic is felt far and wide….
    I continue to fall more in love with the magical you everyday.
    Always be this way….cause you are perrrrrfect…I bet Magic Moonbeam has a blast every time he hears a purrrrrr 😉
    Love to you all,
    Z~

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on April 2, 2011 - 6:04 pm

      Hi Zeenat,
      I simply *love* you, dear friend..
      Thank you for all that you reflect to me..all that knowing you allows me to be!
      I celebrate each step we take together-geographical distance separates us, but I Feel you here!

  4. #7 by Sibyl - alternaview on April 1, 2011 - 2:30 pm

    Joy: What a beautiful post. I really loved this one. It really is all about being open and allow magic to flourish and grow. What a great message for all of us.

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on April 2, 2011 - 6:04 pm

      Hi Sibyl,
      Thank you! I love when you visit..
      You embody this message of magic and flourishing..I love to experience all that you create and share:)

  5. #9 by Patricia on April 1, 2011 - 5:13 pm

    What a magic post and I just loved seeing the magic in your arms – drew me into your hug of love and joy.

    My magic pup is having his neutering surgery and this morning I go and pick him up. The sunshine popped out yesterday for a few moments and I went for an extra walk – people did not come up and greet me or stop for a chat – it was very efficient, because ZIP was not with me – attracting all that joy and friendship to me.

    I can not believe how much I miss that little guy, just a bundle of love.
    One of my friends once said, she loved having a pup because when she came home there was always a loving greeting for her – a tail wag. Many days her kids and husband seemed to care less that she was home, but her pup was right there for her and so happy to see her.

    Another lesson in magic that we people too often forget.

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on April 2, 2011 - 6:08 pm

      Hi Patricia,
      Remember when you were considering a pup and I encouraged *you*? I recognize that what we guide others to do, we are also guiding ourselves in..so here I am with a pup!
      When I walk without pup, people still stop and talk and respond well..walking with pup seems to magnify that:)
      All that we see in pup, is actually a reflection of *us*..I find great joy in experiencing Magic:)

  6. #11 by Tess The Bold Life on April 1, 2011 - 11:24 pm

    Hi Joy,
    Your Magic is so cute and your words sweet! Peace out;) Going to check out change warrior project now. Have a great weekend.

    • #12 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on April 2, 2011 - 6:09 pm

      Hi Tess,
      LOL Peace out..
      Magic is love, and love is magic..
      And I am learning to fully embrace it all:)

  7. #13 by Rand on April 2, 2011 - 8:34 pm

    Hi Joy!

    I don’t have a ‘pup’, but I do have my 1980 Toyota SR5 Longbed Pickup Truck…yes I have mentioned it before all over the place.

    What I got from this post is that “Magic” is intertwined with commitment, devotion, priority, and responsibility, If we maintain all of this we will have the love and “flourishing” growth of all in life that we take on.

    The reason that I mention my truck is because I like to use it as a metaphor for the above. I bought it new in 1980. It has 560,000 miles on it…with the work that I have done on her, and will do (perhaps I’ll name her “Magic One”) we are “commited” to be together for 1,000,000 miles.

    My truck and I are two good ‘loyal’ old friends…

    • #14 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on April 3, 2011 - 12:15 am

      Hi Rand,
      Magic may be intetwined with all that you’ve mentioned..however, that seems like a lot of work..all it takes to tap into magic is to open your arms to it 🙂 ease free, struggle free..win-win..We often think we need to earn blessings..yet, magic is there unconditionally, patiently waiting for the moment we open to it..

  8. #15 by Rand on April 4, 2011 - 2:25 am

    Yes,,,I understand what you are saying, but after watching the movie ‘Of Gods And Men’ with my daughter today one can also understand the conflict of ‘fear’ and devout ‘passion’ the French monks had in Algeria back in the late 1990’s. It took dealing with ‘fear’ day to day and dealing with their commitment to God and the Villagers. It was a ‘magic’ of faith and loyalty for the monks to reach the unnamimous vote to stay…no quick “Magic” to the process…with much soul searching “hard work”.

    They had great turmoil in their decision to stay, and in the end all but two were murdered by the militants.

    It is a beautiful, but also a sad and true story.

    Sadly, my daughter’s godmother and aunt was killed in a bus crash in Algeria a little more than a year ago. The Mid-East was ‘magical’ for Mary…she traveled from her homeland of Ireland often to be there, and could speak several dialects of Arabic.

    I do believe there is a process and circumstances to each one’s “magic” and that we have to find this each in our own special way.

Leave a Reply

