Permission to Live

Hello.

Welcome to my peace filled space.  It is an honor to share with you today.

sunset at my "comfort" beach

“Your living is determined not so much by what life brings to you, as by the attitude you bring to life; not so much by what happens to you, as by the way your mind looks at what happens.” -Kahlil Gibran

My friend, Arvind Devalia, wrote an amazing article that is a must read: Why the Japanese Earthquake is not a Hollywood Disaster Movie Set

As I wrote previously, I am unplugged from media hype..and plugged into attracting and growing abundant peace and love for my personal and global Family.  This strategy does not deny that massive devastation and hurt exists, rather it allows for life to exist and continue with natural flow..even as I concentrate efforts on healing. 

This past week, I have had much communication from clients feeling overwhelmed, anxious, afraid, hopeless, helpless.  I understand.  A huge shift is happening, right now, this very moment.  One turns on the TV usually to find reprieve from regular life only to find horrific, graphic images that are heart wrenching.  Images that as Arvind so wisely points out are not from a movie set, but are very real. 

The difference is, when something disturbs me in the movies or on TV, I have the choice one: not to invest in it at all; two: turn it off and invest my energy elsewhere.  But these images are etched into our collective soul/spirit/essence.  We ache, we hurt, we are in disbelief..even though geographical distance separates most of us from the reality.  There is a significant mind/body connection between global events and the way our bodies feel this week.  We are processing extraordinary!   

I listen as clients explain they are shutting down..physically yes, but they are experiencing emotional exhaustion as well.  I understand.  Some express shame, guilt, and inadequacy at not being able to give/do/be  “enough”.    

“Unfolding” does not label..these feelings are natural..when they surface, embrace them for they will help you to heal.  There will be a range of emotion as we move through this together.   

My solution is always to pour love into it.  Be kind, be gentle, be compassionate, be understanding..with your self, your choices, your decisions as you move forward. Then, allow this kindness, gentleness, compassion, understanding to flow outward toward those you focus on. 

With these reflections flowing through my heart..I strongly Feel the urge to share:

You have the right to live. 

You have the right to laugh, to play

I wish you would..

How may we share golden if we do not allow our self to Feel golden…

The World..

needs you to:

love

create

*live* fully

This is the time to embrace our Heart Truth,

To look for and celebrate the Light surrounding us..

And..

To share this Light with those who may need reminding..

We share this light by continuing to live..

Perhaps most mindfully aware

of all that we ingest..

Sharing: Praise, Joy, Love, Beauty, Peace, Grace..

with the resources we currently have..

Effortlessly, Joyfully, Generously!

You have the “permission” to live..to continue to: engage in daily activities, practice your spiritual beliefs, ask for and create abundance and prosperity, question and learn, evolve

You have the “permission” to live ..to keep dreaming and realize those dreams..to travel to places familiar and/or unknown..to make connections..to release anything that no longer fits.

You have the permission to live.. to celebrate all that brings you joy, to be folded in, to kiss, to make love, to revel in the sunrise, to hike, to explore, to cook, to clean, to make a mess, to get a massage, to take a long soaking bath, to pamper, to splurge, to delight in life!

Tell me this, if you may, in what way/s will allow your self the permission to live fully this day?

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Alex Blackwell | The BridgeMaker on March 18, 2011 - 6:04 pm

    Keep pouring your love into it Joy – you are making a difference.

    Alex

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on March 19, 2011 - 5:10 pm

      Hi Alex,
      Pouring Love into it is all I know how to do..:)
      Thank you for the support!

  2. #3 by Patricia on March 18, 2011 - 10:41 pm

    I gave myself permission to go speed walking with out puppy dragging – and my whole being felt so much better. I am not listening to the news, I am just meditating on peace, love and healing.

    Very nice post – thank you….I am now going to walk the puppy and will come back and read the links later.

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on March 19, 2011 - 5:09 pm

      Hi Patricia,
      *grin* I love that you speed walk without puppy!! Talk about releasing weight:)…and I know because my new pup speeds along then abruptly stops to explore..and I love that about him..but it’s so refreshing to walkw ithout him sometimes..
      I will say that walking *with* pup gives me such a new perspective..I stop and smell the fragrance of the flowers and watch the birds soar high above us in the air..nice:)

  3. #5 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on March 19, 2011 - 6:16 pm

    Joy, I love how you pointed out that it’s always our choice to engage the drama (and thus add energy to it), or tune ourselves – externally and internally – to a different frequency. I’ve been tuning OUT the news, and focusing on love, joy and peace, instead. It’s too easy to get swept away in mayhem when so many around us are purporting mayhem. I choose peace. I choose love. I choose to play or rest or celebrate spring…

    Thank you for reminding us all of our power.

    Love to you; love to the world!

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on March 27, 2011 - 8:21 pm

      Hi Megan,
      Thank you for the reflection of “a different frequency”! I love this..very refreshing to me:)
      Swept away may be a concept to excitedly embrace..think of the moments time passes quickly: when one is caught up in creating, experiencing, enjoying..gloriously swept away!
      Empowerment: that is what true love does..
      Love to you and the world!

  4. #7 by Arvind Devalia | Make It Happen on March 21, 2011 - 3:03 pm

    Joy, inspirational writing as always.

    Today, I give myself permission to be me and to let my light shine. Thanks for sharing my words and giving me the space to be me:-)

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on March 27, 2011 - 8:22 pm

      Hi Arvind,
      Thank you for creating words that inspire me! Yes, let your light shine–may all who experience your light be inspired, encouraged, motivated…
      Thank you for allowing me to be *me*… very refreshing!

  5. #9 by Aileen | Kaizen Vision on March 21, 2011 - 8:18 pm

    I love this post 🙂

    Today I give myself permission to laugh when fear, worry, doubt come up. I’m almost overwhelmed in the pursuit of my dreams – and fears and doubts pop up too much – but today I will not battle them – I’ll give myself permission to laugh instead.

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on March 27, 2011 - 8:24 pm

      Aileen
      Thank you for laughing..truly a gift! When you allow for your dreams, it inspires me to allow for my own..so thank you for allowing…I laugh with you..big huge, loving belly laughs that burst my bubble of fear and allow for so much moer than I can imagine!

  6. #11 by Rand on March 21, 2011 - 10:11 pm

    As I listened to the hard downpour of last night’s rain, I thought to myself it is ‘good’ that I will be working tonight…even if it is outside.

    As I paid for my bag of M&M’s at the Liquor Store the TV behind the counter showed some latest video of Japan’s earthquack and tsunami, I thought to myself it is ‘good’ that I will be working tonight…even if it is outside.

    As I took off my wet clothes at 2:00 a.m. after some very physical work, I thought it is ‘good’ that I have a bowl of Pho’ soup left over to heat up.

    As I finally got out of bed this morning, I thought it is ‘good’ that I have enough coffee to make a one cup.

    As I type this out, I am now thinking it is ‘good’ that I can take a very long hot shower…yes maybe even for 30 minutes.

    As I drive today to pick up my paycheck it is ‘good’ that I can open up my sun roof and sing to the song “Windows Are Rolled Down”

    As I leave you now I think to myself ‘I have a right to be ‘content’ with life…both simple and luxuriously…no matter what.

  7. #13 by Rand on March 23, 2011 - 3:31 am

    “earthquack”…sorry for the mis-spell…pretty tired yesterday…not trying to be funny.

  8. #14 by Galen Pearl on March 24, 2011 - 5:55 pm

    This is so important! The first step in my 10 steps program is Give Yourself Permission to be Happy. Permission is a powerful concept. One of my biggest permission challenges was giving myself permssion to have my feelings.

    Thanks for a great post!

    • #15 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on March 27, 2011 - 8:26 pm

      Hi Galen Pearl,
      Thank you! Permission is tricky..we often feel we need permission..yet, we always may open our hearts to life and choose to live..Fear paralyzes..I shared this to give permission to release fear.
      Thank you for all that you share!

  9. #16 by Peggy Nolan on March 25, 2011 - 12:52 am

    Dear Joy,

    The devastating earthquake & tsunami happened while I was on vacation in Key West. As horrible as it all was, Richard and I determined that watching the news 24/7 was not the right or appropriate response. We checked in with our friends who have loved ones in Japan and let them know we held them in our thoughts. Half a world away, we went on living and enjoying the time we had together. We are not promised tomorrow.

    Your message is so important. Our job is to keep going, keep creating our best lives and best selves…no matter what.

    Love,
    Peggy
    A True Love Story

    • #17 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on March 27, 2011 - 8:27 pm

      Hi Peggy,
      Your love story inspires me on so many levels. Thank you for choosing to live vibrantly, passionately, lovingly, joyfully! Very healing…to All. I celebrate your love story and all that it reflects to those who are open to it:) We are not promised tomorrow so allow yourself to be folded in today!

  1. 5 Powerful Ways to BE Extraordinary NOW | Positive Provocations

Leave a Reply

