Simplicity Series: Love and Gratitude

Hello!

Welcome to my peace filled space:)

Today I am celebrating all that is *right* in my life!  May you celebrate with me?

You see, I have a choice.  (You do, too).

I may wake feeling burdened by whatever I did not release from yesterday.  Not wanting to stick even my toe out of my warm covers into the crisp, chilly air.  Head down, shuffling here and there.  Thinking of a to-do list that stretches to infinity.  Understandable. 

Or…

I may try the way of “unfolding”..the navigational tools used in unfolding are love and gratitude.  I believe that what I focus on grows; when love and gratitude guide me, I am surrounded by love and gratitude, I am the recipient of love and gratitude.  (Of course, to receive it, I shall allow my heart to be open to it!). 

May you take a few “unfolding” steps with me?  Thank you…

As I wake from a peace filled sleep (we assume sleep was peace filled, because we are unfolding *grin*), I bring great peace from slumber; great hope and joy from my sleepytime dreams..My first moment of wakefulness then is full of great peace, hope, and joy.  Mmm..thank you for these warm covers!  Thank you for a peace filled sleep! Thank you for dreams..the ability to dream and to allow them to become a reality!  I *love* my bed, my boat, my life! 

Can you Feel the difference?  *Alive*, joyfilled, very glad to be in this particular day!

Reality says that I have a puppy licking my face who has quite likely peed on every area not covered by a pee mat, children sleeping who have school and activities to attend, a full time job to work, and …(fill in the blank with all that relaity brings to life).   I recognize that I haven’t changed reality (I can, however that is a different post) but beginning with a heart full of love and gratitude I may transform reality from ordinary to extraordinary

Thank *you*, dear reader, for walking with me..may we continue a bit?

I do not share my bed with anyone, but if I did, I would include them in this gratitude and love fest.  How often do you look to the one next to you and think something “less than” about them..If your first thought is “less than” how much love and gratitude may you share?  I would look and say thank you for (something about them)..I love (them).  For now, I think thank you for this bed, for not allowing me to compromise, for the comfort, the peace I experience in it!  I look to my children sleeping peacefully, and think not of yesterday’s adventures, but of the peace and beauty of this moment.  Thank you for my children, they are angels and I am blessed to be their mother.  I love them to the moon and back. 

I gather my scrubs and toiletries to walk to the shower.  Ah, here is a place I choose to be mindful to allow love and gratitude to transform the experience!  As I walk down the dock, up the ramp, down the public sidewalk, in the pre-dawn very crisp and chilly air..I think thank you for this breath of fresh sea air!  Thank you for my neighbors whose presence makes dock life a bit more fun.  Thank you for the night sky!  Thank you for the beauty you reflect to me!  Thank you for the dream of living on a boat in this very harbor!  I love fresh air, the ocean, my neighbors, my dock life, my boat, the night sky!

Am I lying to my self or do I truly believe it?  I have a choice..each and every moment, I choose my thought, my action, my belief, my perspective.  These thoughts are my genuine heart whispers– minus fear, self-doubt, other’s opinions. This is my life and I choose to love this moment and be thankful for all that is in it.  Already in the thirty minutes it has taken me to get to the shower, I have been in love and felt gratitude..my heart is overflowing..and it is from this well that I create my life and what I then share with others.  It is from this well of pure love and gratitude that I choose to live

If I want even more (yes, even more is very possible!), I am mindful to choose to allow in my personal space only that which absolutely delights me.  Then, to grow the delight factor I may  up the ante a bit..I might quickly read a passage from an inspirational book that I enjoy, or bring along music that makes my heart sing, or make sure that my towel is absolute wonderful quality and my shower products are those that invigorate my senses.  My vibration level, which is maintained quite high, is now shooting to the moon!  Imagine the abundant joy, love, peace, gratitude..and what is created from that is life enriching..to my own life and to all whom I relate with!

As an aside, may I ask for more?  Always.  Universal Flow is unlimited.  To receive more, I do the internal work to remove barriers and allow easy access to and from my heart.  To share more, I just plug right into Flow.

If this sounds unreal to you, I understand.  It is very real to me.  It is my way of life.  I allow love and gratitude to bring me to a harbor of peace..and from this harbor I create.  What do I create? This moment, all moments, my life. 

A few external circumstances that are very real to me are real to you as well.  I do not ignore them, I do not bury them, I just pour love and gratitude into them. For example, today I miss the presence of my best friend.  The moment I miss, I send love and gratitude..thank you for my friend, thank you for the fabulous life changing moments we’ve shared.  Thank you for my attitude, my ability to feel love, music, joy, sailing, art, my life..all that I received from sharing with my friend.  I love you friend, I love you world..May we bless my friend, may we bless this world.  I have minimal financial resources and multiple bills to pay.  Thank you for the financial flow I have!  Thank you for this delicious breakfast.  Thank you for abundance and prosperity.  Thank you for these warm clothes, this car, this life.  Thank you!  Please bless my financial flow and show me where I have access to share.  Thank you for the ability to thrive and to share!

My perspective allows each and every step to be a joy; regardless of external.  That is my choice!  That is your choice as well. 

The next step is to create new and different out of this overflowing well of love and gratitude, from this harbor of peace.  I will share those tips with you in my next post.  Why create new and different if we are in love with and feel gratitude for this moment, this life?  As it is my choice to embrace love and gratitude, it is also my choice to change external that allows for ‘less than’ in my life.  Why live within ‘less than” and allow energy to be used to transform less than daily…when I have the power to allow for far ‘more than’ I can even imagine..why choose to survive when I can fully *live*!  (Fear, you say.  Valid.  But fear is a label, and if I’m going to label, then I shall call fear my friend and continue on with my love affair with this world.). 

For now, may you allow love and gratitude to transform your moments, maybe even your life?  I’m going to continue to live my gratitude list today…

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on February 23, 2011 - 2:24 am

    YES yes YES YES YES! Joy, this is IT! This is “way.” This is how miracles happen and magic is unleashed: when we awaken (whether physically or figuratively) with an open heart, mind and full of gratitude.

    I know a couple who, each morning, spends an extra ten minutes in bed telling each other what they’re grateful for. The result? Their relationship is air-tight, and each of their days begins much like what you described. They start out with the energy of “thank you.” And as you pointed out, when we give thanks, we grow that for which we’ve given thanks.

    I could stand to incorporate more straight-up gratitude in my morning routine. As it is, I get out of bed and then get on my knees to start giving thanks, in general, for my life. But I love the specificity you bring to the process.

    Thank you! This is great and I’ll put it to work tonight… even right now as I’m typing this! (I’m grateful for my awesome Mac, my eyes that see clearly, my mind that comprehends, my ability to sit comfortably in this beautiful home… Oh that feels so good!)

    xoxo,
    Megan

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 23, 2011 - 4:04 am

      Hi Megan,
      Your enthusiasm and amazing energy is contagious…my heart smile is radiant:)
      I think the couple you reference musy have a beautiful relationship…I can imagine applying gratitude and love to romance is absolutely magnificent!
      I literally walk this walk daily..I am grateful to be surrounded by amazing Spirit such as yours, which allows me to skip even when I want to shuffle..and to open to love even when I want to cocoon…Universal Flow is mine to tap into the moment I choose..
      Thank you for walking with me! I’m grateful for your presence:)

  2. #3 by Rand on February 23, 2011 - 3:37 am

    “Already in the thirty minutes it has taken me to get to the shower”

    You really made me laugh so much this time Joy!!…I did everything but snort!

    Pup! You ‘Salty Dog’… Now obey your mother!

    I spent more time today than thirty minutes trying to “Catch a Falling Star” for you…but alas!…I succeeded!

    I will send it to you in a bit.

    “Thank you for dreams..the ability to dream and to allow them to become a reality!”

    I am thankful that I can share my dreams with you Joy.

    I am so happy for you that your dream of living on a boat has fullfilled you with abundant joy.

    I am so happy for your children and pup…

    Love,
    Rand

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 23, 2011 - 4:11 am

      Hi Rand,
      I wasn’t aiming for laughter..but laughter is good for Spirit, so I’m glad to entertain then:)
      Thank you for sending happiness our way..
      I choose to allow my boat adventures to be joy filled..it definitely is about perspective..there are times I think oh, no, then allow love and gratitude to pour in and guide me.
      The ability to dream is magnificent..I hope that all who share energy in this space dream, dream big, and allow those dreams to become reality!

      • #5 by Rand on February 23, 2011 - 9:01 pm

        “How often do you look to the one next to you and think something “less than” about them..If your first thought is “less than” how much love and gratitude may you share? I would look and say thank you for (something about them)..I love (them).”

        Joy upon reading your post and reply again today it is easy to see that you are true to yourself and to everyone.

        Dream on and may your insight bring you abundance delight!

  3. #6 by Evita on February 23, 2011 - 4:25 pm

    Outstanding Joy! Just outstanding piece.

    Yes, we all have a choice – plain and simple as that.

  4. #7 by Peggy Nolan on February 24, 2011 - 8:13 pm

    Beautifully and awesomely true. We always have a choice. And today I am spreading my gratitude and sharing my joy. I have more than enough to go around!

    Love and light,
    Peggy

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 25, 2011 - 6:21 pm

      Hi Peggy,
      The love and light *you* reflect is truly inspiring and enriching! Thank you:)

  5. #9 by theboldlife.com on February 26, 2011 - 6:15 pm

    Rock on Joy, gratitude is the highest vibration we can live in. I often think gratitude and love are the same. May more blessings rain down on you.

Leave a Reply

