Simplicity Series: Magic Moonbeam….

Hello!  Welcome to my peace filled space…

Last weekend, I emerged from my cocoon….my friend said she thought the moon was smiling at me to welcome me back…

My son said it reminded him of the Cheshire cat…

I remembered my nickname of *Moonbeam*.  When I open my heart to the moment as it is presented to me, even if my heart hurts, even if I do not understand the how’s/why’s…God/Universe may place abundant magic in my life!

I went sailing spur of the moment before my graveyard shift at the hospital…

I read this amazing post by Danielle LaPorte On Bright Faith and Why Falling in Love is Totally Uncool.

I read this powerful post by Satya Columbo The Future of Humanity in Your Hands.

Smiles from the moon, sailing, poignant messages regarding faith, passion, and commitment. 

I thought my cocoon was this past month, but I see now it has been one year.  I realize that my surgery last year did remove/freeze my cancerous cells..yet perhaps it also removed/froze pieces of my essence not yet willing to recommit to living life fully unless there was a guarantee far better than my diagnosis of stage 3 cervical cancer at such a young age.  Sure,  I dabbled in love..of life, of the moment, of my self, of relations..but dabbling here, led to dabbling there..and soon my life was again colorful (as always..I love color!), but the strokes were incomplete, and the technique not quite right.  

Has that ever happened to you?  I thought I was living, but I was actually barely breathing.   I could see…but I couldn’t See.  Oh sure, some moments were super clear, vivid, but I quickly suppressed those.  To acknowledge Gifts is to actually use them..fold them into your life, allow the gratitude to guide your creations..

Thank you Moon for your smiles..each and every night..you send Moonbeams cascading down my mast, pixie dust on my dreams as I sleep in the v-berth…

Yes, Danielle, I am open to unexpected love that freakin’ lights my life on fire….and yes, Satya, I am freakin’ Awake!!!!  And maybe there were a few moments that I let external affect my internal joy…but shoot the moon smiled at me, and here I am, so bring it on God/Universe..I am so ready!

The very second that I decided I was ready…I fell in love so hard, so fast, so unexpectedly!  Impractical, unexpected, change my life, very right *love*…describes my essence, but I am in it for the long haul.  *It*: life, love, Awareness, Present, adventure, passion, joy, peace…Had a few moments of hesitation, bit of fear at this new direction my life is taking, and then I was given a sign…

I’d like to introduce you to: *Magic Moonbeam*

I’m not going to experience life from my cocoon…and I’m certainly not going to enrich yours from a bubble…

And I’m not going to do either by saying thank you God, Universe for the gifts you have bestowed on me..let me tentatively embrace them and see if I can get by with half-assed.  Nope.  Because…

The Moon smiled at me..as she does each and every night..

The Ocean called my name so I danced with her a bit…

and

Danielle and Satya said freakin’ wake up and live your life, are you in???? 

I’m in.  And then, *Magic Moonbeam* became the newest member of my family..

Let me share a secret with you.  Three years ago, when I began blogging, I posted my life dream on a Dream Weaver website.  The gist: I am happily pregnant lounging on my favorite stretch of beach at a harbor nearby, with my dog at my feet.  I am taking a break from writing/teaching/my healing store…while my children are at school and my husband at work.  Late afternoon, we all convene back on our boat at that local harbor, and enjoy laughter, love, interacting together and creating individually.  Are you with me?

When I wrote that, I had just bought my boat that I live in and that first year was such a transition I wasn’t sure that living on the boat was practical: I was working full time at the hospital..that’s it…

One year ago, I was diagnosed with stage 3 cervical cancer and told I wouldn’t live past last holiday season..

Within this past year, I released connections to all that was not peace filled and life enriching….there were some pretty tough I wanted to cling even to that which no longer fit…I wanted those huge squares to fit neatly into my circles moments..but they didn’t fit, and I couldn’t force it…

So, I sit here today on my boat with my dog at my feet and now my children go to school closer to that harbor that I love than the one we live in, and I write/teach/and found a healing store I would buy…Chills and gratitude!  Each moment I open my heart to that which is, each moment I allow my heart whispers freedom to roam..brings me effortlessly and joyfully to the realization of my life dream.  A dream which when it was first given air seemed so incredibly far-fetched and impossible..a dream I am now living!  The rest of the details are only a heartbeat away!

This month of February my blog theme is simplicity.  I simply commit to wow!  when I prep my space, gather my resources, open my heart, and allow abundant *everything* to be perfectly placed. 

My life is truly as magical as I allow it to be! 

May you join me in allowing magic to light your life…

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Rand on February 11, 2011 - 4:58 am

    So many tears to say much right now…

    To love you is to love the universe…

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 13, 2011 - 12:22 am

      Hi Rand,
      Thank you for allowing your heart to be touched..
      Yes, to love me *is* to love the Universe..an absolutely wonder filled blessing for those who allow it to be…

  2. #3 by Alex Blackwell on February 11, 2011 - 11:18 am

    Hi Joy,

    I agree – each moment we allow our hearts to experience is simply beautiful.

    Alex

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 13, 2011 - 12:25 am

      Hi Alex,
      Thank you! You inspire me with all of the beauty you share through your work!

  3. #5 by Holly on February 11, 2011 - 2:46 pm

    You know your heart is open when you bring a puppy into your life. Enjoy!

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 13, 2011 - 12:27 am

      Hi Holly,
      Welcome to my blog!
      *grin* Yes, my heart is open..or some might say I am the most impractical, spontaneous, once I fall in love I’m so *in* kind of girl…so Magic Moonbeam is a delight, a joy, and my heart fills with gratitude at all of the beauty that has been perfectly placed in my life recently!

  4. #7 by Rand on February 12, 2011 - 4:59 am

    Hi ya!

    I really love your little dog. I don’t have one, but when I go to visit my daughters their little dog Talula just goes ‘ape’ over me…and me for her. She is a cross between a Brussels Griffin and a Pug…yeah! Kinda resembles your one in the ‘Men In Black’ movie…what was the name?

    I have a song to recomend for this post…perhaps you know it?

    ‘Windows Rolled Down’… by Amos Lee

    Great Lyrics and fantastic voice!

    I kayaked/ran/kayaked yesterday and do feel it today.

    Next time you are down in San Diego let me know ahead of time so we can go for a relaxing run along Mission Beach

    The window is rolled down and my heart is open…

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 13, 2011 - 12:32 am

      Hi Rand,
      It seems that Magic Moonbeam is a loving kind of guy..all who see him are as struck by him as I am! So, I’m spreading *magic* through my work and now my pup:)
      A few years back when I was separated, my friend had a Pomeranian on his boat..I loved that dog, would just bundle it into my arms, cry tears into the fur, laugh and snuggle..So, now that I’m in a separation of sorts (released the ‘old me’ and embracing the “new”)…here comes a pup into my life. I love the miracle of that..and because I believe what i focus on grows..each moment I think oh I love *magic*…magic shall be placed into my life in abundance:)
      I checked out Amos Lee song..thank you for the recommendation. I wonder what you shall create now that the “window is rolled down and your heart is open”…
      I don’t get to San Diego often..love my little paradise here…

  5. #9 by Evelyn Lim on February 12, 2011 - 6:44 am

    I hope you get your heart’s desires. And it’s wonderful that magic has been entering your life. You’ve got a very beautiful spirit. You are meant to share your light. Love February’s theme as well!

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 13, 2011 - 12:34 am

      Evelyn,
      Thank you! In order to manifest my heart whispers, I had to release some things to allow them to surface..and now that they have freedom to roam, I have freedom to create! Thank you for your encouraging words:) February’s theme is fun for me, as I embrace simplicity, I am in receipt of abundant beauty and wonder..gratitude and love….
      Much peace:)

  6. #11 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on February 12, 2011 - 12:05 pm

    When we say “YES” to life, life says “YES” to us! And sometimes, just sometimes, it’s hard to see that we’ve only been saying “Maybe.” But the clarity eventually comes, and in a magical instant, everything changes!

    I love your new little family member, and I love all that’s transpiring for you right now. New, different — not just the words, but the actual manifestations and meaning behind them. Brilliant!

    • #12 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 13, 2011 - 12:37 am

      Megan,
      Thank you for your comment..Yes! is it, only perhaps I was whispering, hoping not to be heard while Faith and Fear learned to embrace each other.
      When I took the time to be quiet and still…clarity was mine, and yes! everything does change the moment I open my heart to infinite possibility!
      My new little *magic* is a result of embracing magic in my life…love how the Universe works! Knowing the rest is only heartbeats away is very exciting
      🙂

  7. #13 by Quinn W on February 18, 2011 - 4:37 pm

    Hello Joy! I’m so glad the Twitter-verse connected us. Your sentiments are truly beautiful. Isn’t it amazing how th moon can act as beacon for us to remember to allow our truth to shine? I haven’t *felt* the moon in a long time, almost 2 years, but my wish is that one night I will look up and suddenly feel the moon again. Feel my truth again and feel back on this earth again.

    Have a great day Moonshine & Moonbeam,
    Quinn

    • #14 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 18, 2011 - 5:04 pm

      Hi Quinn,
      Welcome to my blog:)
      Truth is, I rarely use Twitter, so it is a *gift* to have met you there. The Moon is a beacon..absolutely..and the moonlight has now given me the gift of “knowing” you!
      May I ask you to look at the moon this evening..there is a piece of your heart ready to feel the beauty, the power, the magnificence of all that is being presented to you. Just allow it to bathe you…you don’t have to “do” anything, just be. I understand you’d like to feel back on this earth, but I’d much prefer you o.to soar to the moon and dance with my self and my friends:) As you continue to create and to share, Truth will be revealed to you..it is not to strive for, just to allow…
      Such a gift, Quinn, I am celebrating!

      • #15 by Quinn W on February 19, 2011 - 5:40 am

        Joy,

        I have to write your words down in my journal. For months I’ve been looking up toward the moon wanting to feel it again. Trying, squinting, peering, sneaking a peek out of the corner of my eye in an attempt to actually FEEL it. And last night right before I wrote out the poem on my blog, I felt a glimmer. A small, tempting glimmer. It told me just what you said here, “Truth will be revealed for…it is not to strive for, just to allow.” I’m letting go of trying, and just waiting, just allowing now. Because I can’t make it happen until it happens. When and if it does, I will welcome it back with such love. I hope you’ll be there to dance in the moonlight with me!

        ~Quinn

      • #16 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 20, 2011 - 8:58 am

        Hi Quinn,
        I hear you. I very much wanted to experience the Full Moon last night. However, there were heavy clouds and rain, so Moon was not visible. I could Feel her, but I wanted to See her. I went to sleep knowing she was there, shining brightly somewhere..knowing her power and radiance is available even if it is not visible. May you find the same peace and comfort.
        I will be there to dance in the moonlight..and we will all celebrate with you when you join us:)
        Your lesson applies to life in general..we can’t force, make, manipulate, contrive..we may clear the space, set an intent and create/manifest…when we allow for, everything truly is possible. Thank you for allowing a glimmer, may it magnify and Light your life:)

  1. How Embracing Magic Changes My Life « Unfolding Your Path to Joy

Leave a Reply

