RAOKA: New Beginnings..

Hello.

Welcome to my peace filled place:)

When Zeenat, the author of Positive Provocations and the lovely guide of RAOKA, suggested the February theme of “New Beginnings” I wondered how I would write about this theme.  For me, each day is a new beginning.  Each moment within that day is a new beginning.  I am the creator of my moment, and– by intentionally investing energy into all that is whole, fresh, and pure– I am allowing for golden energy to create with.  I am allowing my life to be as magical as it can possibly be. 

However, January happened.  I was personally hit by a rogue wave of transformation in January.  To best process this rogue wave, I put my self into a self-directed retreat around my work schedule.  If I had excess income, I would have taken off of work.  This retreat was that important to me, for my overall health and energy is important in what I create and allow for in my life.  I wrote about the results of my retreat in this essay Self-Love Series: Create Abundance.  Two days ago, I emerged from this retreat, a “new” fresh, whole *me*.  A New Beginning!  I love the Universe humor!  I could not figure out how to write about a new beginning, so I chose to live it:)

In our society, January 1st signifies a new year; thus, a new beginning.  Our birthday symbolizes a new birth year; thus, a new beginning.  We celebrate anniversaries: our first kiss, our first day of employment, our first dollar earned, our first sunset sail (*grin*..okay in my life!), our first piano lesson, our first (insert your first here)..all new beginnings.  I choose to live mindfully Aware of this moment, so I choose to celebrate the moment I am in, but I completely understand celebrating firsts.  The celebration of a first reminds me of unlimited potential, bliss, possibility, wonder, awe, delight….*Anything* can happen, truly anything..and you use that feeling, that momentum, that energy to inspire you to allow abundance to fill your heart and to create everything possible with that energy and abundance.  And then..well, then..something “happens” and the glow is gone, the bliss fades, and the pleasure of creating is ho-hum..the fiftieth piano lesson is more of a chore than a pleasure..the millionth kiss is to keep peace rather than to express love..I think we’ve all felt something extraordinary morph into ordinary.  Where did the joy at the new beginning go? How did I allow extraordinary to slip between my fingertips?

When I choose to live mindfully Aware of this moment, then in the above examples, each kiss is like my first kiss because I am in love and expressing that love, delighting in kissing..my pleasure to give and to receive..lights up my heart, my toes, my life!  Each kiss is its own new beginning.  Perhaps this is a different way of approaching life, but I will share with you that mine is a life of delight because I open my heart to allow everything to be extraordinary to me!  My gazillionth day of employment fills me with as much joy as my first..and if it does not, it is because somewhere along the way I have compromised my heart whisper–perhaps stayed at my job position out of fear or obligation rather than pleasure.  It is within my power to change that..so that each day of employment is a joy..whether I change my perspective by making a gratitude list so that my heart fills with pleasure even if my external stays the same, or I change my position to better align with my internal values..it is within my power to allow my job to be a joy. 

As it is within my power to allow each moment of each day that I am here on Earth to be a new beginning–to be a moment so rich, textured, multi-colored–full of all that my heart desires it to be full of.  Not desire as in basic wants..but desire as in genuine heart whispers.  This moment right now is a new beginning, do I treat it with reverence and care, or do I allow it to pass in a flurry of clutter, activity, “filler”…

I want to share with you a short story that just happened.  At my work, I wear a lanyard with a coded key that allows me to enter each unit of the hospital and one key that clatters and bangs against it when I step with speed or verve.  Sometimes the clanking of that key just plain bugs me, most of the time I tune it out.  However, one day last week, the clanging redirected my attention enough that I decided I could no longer tolerate it..so I looked at the key.  I  found it to be an elevator key that opens the door to OR.  This key is about one year old, and no longer useful because the locks have changed.  So, I threw it away.  This week, I was given a new OR key to go along with my new position in OR.  A position that just ‘fell into my lap’ and the key was handed over effortlessly to me..

Here is my thought: What do I cling to, even sometimes if it annoys me, no longer works, or plain just doesn’t fit..all because I am used to it?  In my life, what is the key that needs to be tossed to effortlessly make room for that which is new, different, and better fitting? I can give you a long list of why this OR position is a blessing to me…huge relief and great joy flood my being when I think of how the quality of my work life has just greatly improved..effortlessly.  How many months I counted minutes until my shift was over, came home burnt out, exhausted, less than joy filled..and how the moment I threw away that key..a new key appeared.  Without my asking..without my pursuing.  An answer to one of my heart whispers..

A new beginning..

To read Zeenat’s RAOKA article, to join RAOKA, or to read the other member’s articles, please click this link Simple Ways to Have New Beginnings Everyday.

This month of February the theme of my blog will be “embrace simplicity”..I am very humbled to share in this adventure with you:)

May you find the courage to embrace a new beginning within your own life..

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Rand on February 3, 2011 - 5:03 am

    Joy, like you I have actually been hit by rouge waves out at sea. As you know they are likely to hit you just before sunset… being a build up of many rolling swells throughout the day.

    What you express about work each gazillionth day of employment being a day of joy, or each kiss being like the first is much the same as each swell building into a rouge wave.

    Why should not our lives be constantly building each moment with a love for life.

    We are prone to feel burnt out at the work place. In my work it can be pure physical limits of duration like loading out concert equipment…sometimes over twenty tractor trailors. When I am working in the presence of hard working “Brothers and Sisters” it is an honor. Work can also be “floating” or “operating” and the day can go by very slowly. We still have the same spirit of support.

    Whether hard or easy your aproach to allow ‘this moment right now to be a new beginning, and to treat it with reverence and care’ is the momentum builder that builds into a *rouge blessing*.

    I am most happy for you!

    Rand

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 3, 2011 - 1:11 pm

      Hi Rand,
      Your insight of “physical limits” is wonderful..for when my Being is feeling “less than” I shall consider that it is the physical limits of Earth, not of my potential…and switch to my heart space. When *living* is a pleasure, an honor, rather than a responsibility or chore..then my perspective quickly follows!
      Much like I treat love, with reverence and care, so too I shall treat this moment..as wonder filled and spectacular as I allow it to be…
      A rogue wave is magnificent to watch, powerful; when sailing I love to come home with sunset illuminating my islands behind the stern while I ‘surf’ the waves coming into the harbor. It took me quite a while to release the hesitation to turn the boat off the wave instead of turn into it and allow it to bring me in..as you point out in life Rand. I’ve been hesitant to allow the “wave” to bring me home. Thank you for that reminder!

  2. #3 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on February 3, 2011 - 2:46 pm

    Joy, first things first, congratulations on your new position!
    Your story reminds me of some feng shui I did a few years ago to prepare for new romance in my life. I decided to go through everything I owned and throw out, donate or give to friends anything I’d been given by “ex’s” (boyfriends or otherwise). That meant giving away a computer, paintings that hung on my walls, jewelry, clothes, mugs, you name it — some items that were integral to my daily living! When I was done, I looked around at my empty walls, drawers, and more and thought, “Wow… that was a lot of stuff.” The VERY NEXT DAY, new opportunities for romance flooded in and I had been in a year-long drought prior to that.

    I had to release in order to let new in.

    And I find I’m in a similar situation as you, regarding a rough January (and December, and oh wait, November, too!). It feels tougher, though, because this time it’s not about releasing physical stuff. I think I’m being asked to release emotional & behavioral/habitual stuff. Talk about essence of who I am! Crikey! Not easy, but I brought myself to this place for this reason.

    How do I do it? Don’t know, and none of my business. I’m manifesting my way beyond it and leaving the “how’s” to the Universe.

    Here’s to new beginnings, and a lingering freshness to all of life!

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 6, 2011 - 10:14 am

      Hi Megan,
      Yes! to lingering freshness to all of life!
      Thank you for sharing your feng shui story. I love the inspiration in it!
      For me personally, the “rough part” was because I was reluctant to release..not necessarily tangible items, but connections and old thoughts and ideas. The only solution I know it to pour love into it, and release with faith..knowing that there is much amazing to embrace!
      Thank you for the reminder that God/ Universe take care of how..*you* are the Goddess of Manifesting, and I look forward to watching as you create in these moments.

  3. #5 by Lance on February 3, 2011 - 7:55 pm

    Joy,
    Very wonderful – your “new beginning”!!!

    And I believe, very much, that life has doors (beginnings, new paths, etc) there for us…if we’ll only let go of what no longer touches our hearts. The thing is, it’s not always easy letting go…even when it maybe doesn’t speak to us anymore. When we do, though, the Universe works in mysterious and amazing ways!!!

    So glad it is for you…

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 6, 2011 - 10:18 am

      Hi Lance,
      Thank you. My new position at work is much more ease free which leaves me abundant good energy to create in all areas of my life.
      Usually letting go is natural for me; I fill my moment with all that I invest my energy in and all that I *do not* invest my energy in naturally sloughs away. I’ve recently allowed my focus to be redirected to tend to others’, rather than to my self. I’m now re-energized and focused on creating magnificent in all areas:)
      I love the changes you are allowing for..and am excited to see where your “new beginning” guides you…

  4. #7 by Galen Pearl on February 5, 2011 - 2:21 am

    Rogue waves–that would describe my life the last few weeks. Exactly. And I have had to ask myself about the expectations and fantasies I was clinging to, and now have to release. Very timely message just for me. Thank you.

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 6, 2011 - 10:20 am

      Hi Galen Pearl,
      Thank you for sharing. May I point out this seems to be quite universal for this month of January; for me to know I am tapping into Universal is a bit comforting. And to remember to surf the wave rather than fight it…
      May you find peace within the power of the waves…

  5. #9 by Zeenat on February 5, 2011 - 5:21 am

    Hi Darling Joy,
    How amazing is it that ‘new beginnings’ just open up when we least expect it…but IF we are open to them. The Divine Universe works in wonderfully beautiful ways 🙂
    Congratulations on the NEW POST! wow wow wow….
    May you be blessed with new beginnings everyday!
    Lots of love, hugs and butterfly glitter,
    Z~

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 6, 2011 - 10:22 am

      Hi beauty filled Z!
      All is absolutely amazing *when I allow it to be*.. there were moments that fear/doubt blocked me from allowing..
      Thank you for all that you share!
      I am sending you a warm Ca sunshine hug and lots of butterflies and glitter:)

  6. #11 by Hilary on February 5, 2011 - 8:25 am

    Hi Joy and Zeenat .. it is interesting how one door closes and another opens .. and that release of letting go, can bring so much warmth and love into our lives – not the anxiety that we thought might come.

    Here’s to very happy years ahead .. lots of smiles, laughter, peace and compassion for all .. cheers Hilary

    • #12 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 6, 2011 - 10:23 am

      Hi Hilary,
      How nice to see you..you’ve been in my thoughts..
      “warmth and love”..mm love that and am open to an abundance of it.
      and thank you for your wish..I reflect it right back to you:)

  7. #13 by Sibyl - alternaview on February 6, 2011 - 6:36 pm

    Joy: I really loved this post and what a beautiful message. I am so glad that everything worked out for you with your job. I actually just wrote a post last week about letting go and I really think we are on the same wavelength 🙂 I came across a quote that I just loved … “Sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together”. Great post.

    • #14 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 7, 2011 - 9:17 am

      Hi Sibyl,
      Wow. I *love* the quote..thank you for sharing!
      Letting go of material has always been rather easy for me. I am not attached to things. I am attached to ease, joy, beauty, peace. Releasing connections that interfere with that has been hard for me; I tend to release the ease, joy, beauty, peace, before the connection. I do believe I create the moment I am in..and what I focus on grows.. so I am back to focusing on ease, joy, beauty, peace and allowing for Universe to supply the details as I do the ‘work’ of tending to my garden.
      I saw the title of your post when I was in the midst of release..and I will definitely check it out..Thank you!

  8. #15 by Rosemary on February 6, 2011 - 6:47 pm

    Hi Joy, I so enjoyed this heartfelt post of your new beginings in every moment in every day. Such a beautiful realization to think that we can live in an ongoing state of spiritual awareness and joy in each moment in this life if we so choose. I have been trying to do this but sometimes ‘life’ gets in the way…or maybe just old habits.Your story about the key really resonates with me on every level. In my own life…every single time a door shut in the past, a new portal appeared just waiting for me to enter. I would so love to spring clean my life right now, of every thought and repetitive behaviour and habit that I have so that I could start afresh…and now that you have planted that thought in my subconscious I will watch closely for my own new keys as they appear. Thanks Joy for a beautiful post!

    • #16 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 7, 2011 - 9:20 am

      Hi Rosemary,
      Welcome to my blog! Thank you for your comment.
      “If we so choose…” is essential to creating..and to new beginnings. One thing I remind my self is that nothing of quality in my life..my dream of living on the boat, relations that have enriched my life, opportunities to create and enjoy..has been pursued. When I pursue I struggle. When I allow for, even as I do the work of readying my space..I am given in abundance, usually quiet unexpectedly. When I set my heart to gratitude and love..an abundance of All to shine gratitude and love on is perfectly placed within my life. With ease.
      I love the idea you present of spring cleaning. May we honor natural cycles and seasons in our lives..
      Thank you!

  9. #17 by Tess The Bold Life on February 7, 2011 - 1:03 am

    Hi Joy,
    Congratulations on your new job and key! woot! woot! I also love how you describe every kiss like the first kiss and every day at a job like the first day. I’m going to practice that this week. I believe the results will be quite miraculous;)

    • #18 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on February 7, 2011 - 9:23 am

      Hi Tess,
      Your comment sounds so magical *grin* a life of kissing and pleasurable work..I say yes please to that! As you practice, may your husband enjoy the kissing…and the miracles you allow for fill your Being with Love and Gratitude:) In abundance. Here’s to an awesome week full of abundant *everything*!

  1. Simple Ways to Have New Beginnings Everyday ~ Raoka « POSITIVE PROVOCATIONS

Leave a Reply

