RAOKA: Embrace Simplicity…

Hello!

Welcome to my peace filled space.  May you feel most welcome here. 

“Unfolding Your Path to Joy” does not set New Year’s resolutions.  Resolutions are amazing navigational tools for a majority of people, and ‘unfolding’ celebrates those who successfully use resolutions to issue in change.  “Unfolding” focuses on heart whispers and naturally allows these whispers to be heard and realized.  One resource “unfolding” uses is intent; so every New Year’s sets an intent with a key word.

This key word is not set through the mind; rather by acknowledging heart whispers.  Heart whispers may not necessarily be practical or logical, but they are Truth..and “unfolding” honors and respects that Truth.  Let us pause here together for a moment.  Allow these concepts to flow into you…have you heard your heart whisper? Do you allow your heart these expressions, which may take a multitude of different forms?  When you hear these whispers do you celebrate them for the nuggets of treasure that they are?..or do you allow Fear to bury, deflect, ignore them?

My heart whispers to me throughout the day.  Sometimes softly, other times boldly..I allow space for my heart expressions; sometimes felt through external connections, sometimes through walks on the beach, gazing at the sky, reading a passage in a book, journal writing, painting, kayaking, hiking, practicing yoga or meditation.  My heart whispers are best heard in peace filled, quiet places.  I find if I am too busy or I allow my surroundings to be loud, distracting, or full of clutter then it is near impossible to hear my heart whispers or to allow them to surface.  So, I make time for quiet, to be in stillness, to *just be*. 

I want to encourage my heart whispers to surface because I want to encourage Truth.  My theme word this year is to guide me to make space for my heart whispers.  I combined last year’s word ’embrace’ with this year’s whisper of ‘simplicity’.  What my heart yearns for is fresh,  clean, high quality, genuine.  I cannot find any of that in the midst of drama, chaos, clutter, busyness.  Rather I will ‘Know’ it in the midst of simple. 

I choose to set the intention for 2011 of ’embrace simplicity’

For an excellent article on the power of choosing a theme word for intention, please read Sandra Lee’s One Powerful Word 2011 Yours and Mine

What simplicity means to me:

Allowing my path to unfold naturally, effortlessly, joy fully….

 

 

Ginger and I

Opening my heart fully to Love..genuine and pure..in all of its forms.. 

 

Turning off my mind so that my senses may experience delight, joy, wonder, awe, magic…

 

K8’s clover

Noticing the smallest of details, allowing for spectacular in every day life…giving praise for All in my vision…

 

Allowing my heart to express it self creatively in various forms..

 

Celebrating that Which I Do Not Know for the gifts that will be perfectly placed when  I open my heart to them…

 

Allowing radiant Light to shine through..every moment, every circumstance..

I am honored to be a monthly participant in Random Acts of Kick Arse RAOKA as hosted by Zeenat.  This month’s theme is “simplicity” as chosen by me..for more essays on simplicity, or if you would like to contribute your own article, please click the RAOKA link above.

Thank you for exploring something a bit new and different..

Please share..have you chosen a theme word for 2011, and if so, what is your word?  Or what is a heart whisper you would like to share?

Thank you for sharing energy here..it is a pleasure to share with you!

My blog theme for January will be self-love..so let’s get ready to open our hearts and explore love…

Much peace,

Joy 

  1. #1 by Sandra Lee on January 5, 2011 - 9:46 am

    Joy,
    What a beautiful approach to setting your intention for the year. I am connecting with the idea of “unfolding” more and more. I really liked the way you used images to illustrate your intention. That’s sparking me! I love the picture of you with the drum. I recently receive a gift of a healing drum. I feel very awkward when it comes to music, but I’m ready to breakthrough and have some fun. Thanks for this inspiring article and for the link luv too!

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on January 9, 2011 - 2:34 am

      Hi Sandra Lee,
      Thank you for visiting here!
      I had visitors aboard the boat for the last four weeks; as we interacted daily, I realized how strongly unfolding guides my life. My children were raised with the concept, my guests were surprised by the depth I open my heart daily and by the magic each day holds when I “allow for”. Words cannot quite capture the experience, although I try to express such on my blog.
      The drum was a gift. I enjoy attending drum circles, and it has been a journey to recognize, celebrate, then contribute my own unique beat..kind of my heart expressing itself with other’s. I also enjoy taking my drum to the beach, and drumming to the moon or sunset. One of the most intimate experiences I’ve had with it is allowing a friend to share..I use others drums, but hadn’t shared mine.
      *Fun* is integral..when you open your heart to the moment, abundant fun may swoop right in..I’d love to hear how your drumming experience is…

  2. #3 by Gayze (Gazehound's Animal Communication) on January 5, 2011 - 6:41 pm

    Beautifully shared, Joy, thank you so much for “unfolding” your thoughts for us to embrace.

    May wonderful discoveries light your path.

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on January 9, 2011 - 5:55 am

      Hi Gayze,
      Thank you for visiting! And thank you for your kind words and blessing.
      My heart is open to wonderful discoveries..may you feel that abundance of magic in your own life as well:)

  3. #5 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on January 6, 2011 - 1:36 am

    Whoa… Joy… I think Barbara was talking about writing along the lines of “self-love” for January, too. Holy cats! Or Holy moons & stars! Such synchronicity.
    I love your theme of “embrace simplicity.” I can already see how that’s working in your life and I can envision the softer days you have ahead as a result.
    My word is “Yes!” (Thank you, Simon.) This year I’m going to say yes, which is another way of saying I will be accepting new experiences into my realm. I’m a creature of habit, and get quite comfortable with what I know. However, in order to grow, I have to push past what I know and say “YES” to new & different. (smile)
    So here… we… go!

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on January 9, 2011 - 5:57 am

      Hi Megan,
      *Yes*!! Here we go!
      We shall embrace new and different…opening our hearts to delight, love, wonder, joy, peace, passion, creativity like that we have yet to know..I am most excited to watch as this unfolds for you, because you reflect to me so much…my heart leaps with yours!
      Simplicity is working wonder in my life already; I find if I resist, there is chaos; ah, but when I embrace, magic swoops in and dreams become reality:)
      Holy moon and stars indeed…

  4. #7 by The Exception on January 6, 2011 - 6:43 pm

    What a wonderful way to start the new year Joy – and you have illustrated your intention so beautifully. Simplicity was challenging for me to put into words as I noted that throughout December, I embraced simplicity far more than in the past. I feel it to be something that will continue into the new year.
    My word for the year – “Inspire” in all its forms.

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on January 9, 2011 - 8:02 am

      Hi TE,
      Nice to see you here! I love “inspire”..completely fitting since all that you share “inspires” me greatly..I am excited to see where “inspire” leads you and experience all that you reflect as a result!

  5. #9 by Suzie Cheel on January 7, 2011 - 8:57 am

    I love this Allowing radiant Light to shine through..every moment, every circumstance.. so important and reminds me of Lance’s word for 2011 Shine- which I almost chose too.
    Thanks
    Suzie

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on January 9, 2011 - 8:07 am

      Hi Suzie,
      Thank you for visiting! What word did *you* choose for your 2011 intent?
      I love Lance’s “shine”..if we all allowed our Lights to shine brightly, what a multi-colored, well lit world this would be:)

  6. #11 by fey's diary on January 7, 2011 - 10:47 am

    You’re entries are really worth reading. You influence people like me to give meaning to life, appreciate every minute of the life, and always be happy. Thank you so much for that, hope you will do this continously, god bless 🙂

    • #12 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on January 9, 2011 - 8:09 am

      Hi fey’s diary,
      Thank you for visiting! Thank you for the kind words.
      I do not think it possible to ‘always be happy’, but I do think it possible to find the blessing/lesson in everything and to celebrate the good in the moment I am in. When we allow the moment to be presented to us, as a gift, we treasure and savor that gift..and tend to share it with those around us..may you continue to create:)

  7. #13 by Zeenat on January 7, 2011 - 11:53 am

    Darling Joy,
    Your ’embrace simplicity’ speaks to my heart on so many levels. I love love it!
    And what is the coincidence that my theme for the year is indeed “simplicity” 🙂 Simplicity in thought, in action, in spirit…..I am indeed embracing simplicity with you 🙂
    Thank you fro suggesting such a beautiful theme….and for your loving words here. You tug at my heart every time my butterflies and glitter sister
    So Much love,
    Z~

    • #14 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on January 9, 2011 - 8:11 am

      Hi Z,
      My butterflies and glitter sister, and now my simplicity sister too! Your article allowed me to consider the thought that simplicity brings me closer to Divine…perhaps that is part of my heart whisper–to recognize, celebrate, and allow internal Divine to continue to guide me..
      Thank you for being you, and for all that you share! I *love* you!!

  8. #15 by Tess The Bold Life on January 7, 2011 - 6:31 pm

    I love the word simplicity. I believe it’s the way of the future. I’m on board the ship…or shall I say boat! Happy weekend;)

    • #16 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on January 9, 2011 - 8:12 am

      Hi Tess,
      If you are on board this ship, how much more fun we shall have *grin*…
      If simplicity is the way of the future, I’d better start embracing then:)

  9. #17 by Sara on January 7, 2011 - 8:11 pm

    Joy,

    Sometimes when I visit here, the words I want to express about what you wrote don’t rise to my head. It’s not that I don’t like what you said, but rather I think that’s because your words evoke a calmness in me. They make me feel like I’m sitting out on the beach just watching the waves roll in and out with no plans, expectations, or anxiety. Just calmness. It does make it difficult, however, when I want to leave a comment:~)

    I wish you a very happy New Year, full of embracing simplicity.

    • #18 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on January 9, 2011 - 8:14 am

      Hi Sara,
      Sometimes silence is precious and golden..no words needed, just a heart connection Felt…
      Thank you for your kind words..
      What you experience through my blog is exactly what you would experience in physical life…mine is the place people gravitate to for comfort and peace..It is what I focus my energy on and surround my self with..and I love to share, for I believe everything is born out of comfort and peace, and wondrous magic may swoop in to delight us all!

  10. #19 by Evelyn Lim on January 8, 2011 - 12:53 pm

    I sincerely wish you a year of embracing simplicity. It is a wonderful theme. I look forward to posts related to this theme.

    I hope to decide what mine is soon before making an intent for 2011! I’d share about mine for sure!

    • #20 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on January 9, 2011 - 8:15 am

      Hi Evelyn,
      Thank you! In the last few days since creating this intent, I’ve learned that “embracing simplicity” means quite a lot of release..clutter and busyness..as I learn, I shall indeed share:)
      I bet your intent has the word ‘golden’ in it:)

  11. #21 by Galen Pearl on January 8, 2011 - 4:13 pm

    My word this year is “yield.” My intention is to follow Bruce Lee’s instruction, “Be water, my friend.” Sometimes I hear my word whisper in my soul, as you describe heart whispers. Self love. I like that. Each month I’m highlighting one of my 10 Steps to Finding Your Happy Place on my blog. This month, I’m highlighting step 1–Give yourself permission to be happy. Self love is directly a part of that. We’re in sync! I look forward to your posts this month!

    • #22 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on January 9, 2011 - 8:18 am

      Hi Galen Pearl,
      Thank you for visiting! I love that we are in sync:)
      I hadn’t considered “yield” but I understand the water analogy. I learn a lot from living in direct contact with nature..surrounded by ocean waters, wind, sunshine, moonbeams..there are natural cycles, and I find if I resist chaos ensues, when I embrace, magic happens…
      I am excited to watch where “yield” guides you…

  1. Simplicity and Spirituality – Raoka « *POSITIVE PROVOCATIONS*

Leave a Reply

