Dancing with Joy….

Hello.

Welcome..

What do you do when the unexpected external presents itself full force?

I *dance*…

This is my invitation to you to join my *party*..the place where we will dance.  Thank you for joining me:)

I love my friend *Wind*..have learned to play with Her, allow Her to guide my direction while sailing, harness her a bit, respect her Power.  When she is present in mid force, I am energized, I run laps and allow her to move my body, or if I am walking I let her swirl my skirt around my legs, mess up my hair, gently guide me to places I might not have explored..

This morning, my friend Wind is whipping through my harbor at a high velocity.  Her fierceness today makes my boat rock and pitch in the slip..pulling against the dock lines on all sides.  My boat is hooked to the dock’s electrical box through a cord running from a fixture on the dock to a fixture on the boat.  Well, the dynamic force of the pitching caused my entire electrical outlet fixture to remove itself from my actual boat.  Probably quite expensive, definitely a huge fire hazard.  I do not ‘have’ funds to repair this, nor do I like the safety issue. Not at all expected.

My friend Wind is whipping through my little harbor so hard that I cannot retie my boat, nor my boat lines, and the Wireless Internet connection cannot find its way to my boat…

I have a choice..I may whine, sulk, worry, fret, go back to bed, miss this glorious sunny day off of work..or I may embrace my friend Wind and all that she is sharing with me..as she is sharing it.  Let’s face it– I cannot “change her” although I may want to in order to make myself more comfortable.  I have a choice.  I may deflect my friend’s exuberance because it’s ‘too much for me’ or I may Love her exactly as she is, exactly as she presents herself in these moments.

I believe in Unconditional Love…therefore I believe I may not say..wow Wind I love when you are calm, I love when you are mid force, but I do not love when you are full force…

Much like myself..I tend to be most passionate, exuberant, vivacious, spunky..I can be a handful at times..I want to be loved exactly as I am, so I in turn love you exactly as you are..

Okay, Wind..I Love You.  You did not mean to hurt me..we shall fix the damage..You are still here in full force..You seem to want love and attention. I just want to Love you as you deserve..*thank you* for honoring me with this gift!

Let’s *dance*!!!

I would love for *you* my dear reader, to join me.  I understand you were unprepared for this.  May you relax and know that nothing special is required of you…you do not need a special dancing outfit or shoes, nor do you need special dance steps or flair. Just come as you are..and dance with Wind and I..let Wind carry you wherever she may, find the nugget of treasure and celebrate it, give praise for the good within it all…

*grin* I shall say it here..did you know this was coming???…throw caution to the wind..and *just do it* –let’s dance as we are, with what we have..

I don’t have much material in this world..What I do have *always* is Faith and a heart full of Love and Gratitude…

So..

I open the forward and aft hatches..they no longer strain against Wind but now allow Her to flow easily through.  Already, I’ve released struggle..

The sunshine streams in through the open hatches, the air feels marvelous on my skin, fresh ocean air revitalizes the inside living space of my boat.   I am embracing the good in the moment.

I light a candle.  Because I love lit candles..and how nice to watch the light flicker as Wind plays with it.  I am decorating the moment so that my heart may feel great joy.

I put on music.  With a good beat.  And I play it loud enough to be carried on the Wind.  Wind loves it..She responds so well..she is having *fun*…she whips up a little faster, but in tune to the beat of my music.  She no longer jostles and pitches my boat, rather now she’s dancing with it. I am celebrating all that is right and good.

I am so happy with Wind..I go outside and open my arms to her.  Welcome Wind..I *love* you.  You just want to play, and so do I..Let’s play my friend.  I am opening my heart to Love in this moment.

I get out my djembe drum..Candles, music, sunshine, air flowing through the boat..and as Wind dances, I drum..but wait, I want to dance to because my heart is so happy…I *love* this celebration. I am customizing this moment to me, by adding my treasures to it. 

So, I stop and dance..let wind twirl my skirt around my legs as I spin..and open my arms to the sunshine, the wind, the sky..invigorating..Can you feel it?  Bliss..because I opened my arms to that which I do not understand but Love fully. I am dancing in this moment.

Back to my drum. The music caters to my drum beats..while my drum beats express my heart, and my heart beats in excitement as Wind whips up in a frenzy..dancing as she wants to.. I let her.  I love when she expresses herself as she may. I have opened my heart to Unconditional Love in *this moment* as it is presented to me.

This goes on for an hour or so, Time requires I be elsewhere.  My children will be home soon..I want to set the party scene so they too will not be frustrated with Wind and the havoc she is creating..but instead will Love her as I do..I envision us all drumming, dancing, perhaps eating our favorite foods..in *celebration* of Wind. I am including my Loved ones in my joy filled dance.

I want to tell you this..Wind may be my friend..but a few years ago, she literally almost killed myself and  a loved one while we were out to sea. A dramatic rescue that ripped through my body, mind, spirit and changed both of our lives.. If I told you now that I avoid Wind, that I no longer ‘like’ her..you would probably understand. I am allowing Love to open to transform to forgiveness of others and myself.

When I tell you that Wind literally almost killed me but I love her so very much that I openly embrace her..throw her a party to celebrate Her…may you open your heart to understand that *Love*..

Something to think about: Is there anyone in *your* life who represents Wind?  At times, are you Wind for someone else? Do you choose to let it burden you or do you choose to open your heart fully and dance?

I thank you for dancing with me!  I appreciate that you opened your heart to dance while you are here..I would like to present you with a parting gift to thank you for your time:

“Take me to the places on the earth that teach you how to dance,

the places where you can risk letting the world break your heart,

and *I* will take you to the places where the earth beneath my feet

and the stars overhead make my heart whole and whole again.”

From the book “The Dance” by Oriah Mountain Dreamer.

I have photos of such places..”the places on earth that teach me to dance” described in the above verse of Oriah’s poem. My friend Keith at Straight Up Living so generously shared his resources and created a video with my photos and then added his beauty filled music to the video.  Please take the time to check it out…Special Places.  As you watch the video, and see the places my heart revels, stretches, grows…may you think of the places within your life that do the same for you..and may you always continue to *dance*..

Thank you for dancing a few steps with me today!

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on November 16, 2010 - 5:59 pm

    Beautiful, precious Joy… May I please begin to love all the wind around me, and celebrate everyone and everything exactly as they are? I hope so. Perhaps that is my manifestation for this magical day… !
    Thank you for teaching me once more.

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on November 19, 2010 - 12:41 pm

      Hi Megan,
      I *love* the wind around you..I celebrate all that you share and reflect..including *wind*..
      Thank you for manifesting magnificent magic..you inspire me to reach beyond what I know..and my life is greatly textured from knowing you:)

  2. #3 by Evelyn Lim on November 17, 2010 - 6:32 am

    I love your harmony with the Wind. She is a friend yet she almost killed you. Your love, yielding, embracing, surrendering and dancing with it is beautiful! I can just imagine you with it. Love the video too!

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on November 19, 2010 - 12:43 pm

      Hi Evelyn,
      Thank you! Wind is one of my best friends..she teaches me commitment, peace, unbridled joy..I’m learning to harness her, and let her run free..unconditional at best!
      The video amazes me..I am so grateful to Keith and his talents!

  3. #5 by Evita on November 17, 2010 - 5:20 pm

    Hi Joy

    I have three words…. you are incredible!

    I am in complete awe of what an amazing teacher you are to truly invite all of us to understand unconditional love on the deepest level. I say YES to that!

    It is windy and rainy here today too. And I no longer say what I used to say last year at this time, “what a sad day” or “I wish it was sunny” because at this time in my life, I too understand that it is perfect. And I only need to look outside at the squirrel resting on a branch or the birds chirping and flying around, as if it was any other day. To them it is just as perfect as yesterday was, and tomorrow will be, no matter the weather. I get it too now.

    Joy, thank you for inviting me and all of us to dance here with you today! I danced, I accepted the invite and it was so beautiful!

    … and I know all will be well, and the Universe will surprise you just as she always does with how that box will get fixed. So I say thank you wind, for allowing Joy to be a channel for kindness, generosity and compassion that will come through because of this…. many more lives will be touched by this event, this is just the beginning!

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on November 19, 2010 - 12:47 pm

      Hi Evita,
      Three words back to you..you are precious!
      Thank you for your heart expressions….
      I love this: “To them it is just as perfect as yesterday was, and tomorrow will be, no matter the weather.”…The *weather* is external..and can represent anything to us…Life is most peace filled if we can embrace the ‘weather’ as it is presented to us rather than try to change it (futile) or resist it (struggle). Celebrate what we have in these moments, because they are perfect and beauty filled as they are!
      I say “YES” to unconditional love because life is rich, layered, and while I am here I shall open my heart fully to all of it..Thank you for joining me!

  4. #7 by Peggy Nolan on November 17, 2010 - 5:30 pm

    Dear Joy,

    This reminds me of something I wrote for my sista stepmoms – who struggle and struggle with the *wind.* They see the wind as a problem that must be solved. But wind is not a problem. Like gravity, it is a constraint that must be worked with (or in many cases, played with!)

    Ah to accept what is so…to love what is so.

    Beautiful!
    xo
    Peggy

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on November 19, 2010 - 12:49 pm

      Hi Peggy,
      I believe life shall be struggle free..when I resist I create struggle..
      I use wind as an example because she impacts my life daily as I live on the boat..Interesting, my first year on the boat I would check the weather daily..to ‘prepare’..now I don’t check at all..I just wake and acdept the conditions as they are..Unfolding at its best..

  5. #9 by Meredith on November 17, 2010 - 8:47 pm

    Oh, I love to dance. Your invitation was so lovely, though, that I stood up right here in front of my computer and danced away — something I wouldn’t normally do. Your joy is infectious, dear one.

    Blessings on you and the boat. I do hope the electrical issue is not dangerous for you or the children, and that it is able to be smoothly solved and restored soon.

    Sending you a big hug and a thank you for the beautiful reminder to accept what is in all its delicious unpredictability!

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on November 19, 2010 - 12:51 pm

      Meredith,
      *You* delight me! We shall dance together one day in a beauty filled garden..
      The electrical issue is unexpected, but solutions will present themselves…I just fold it all into life and allow for..even as I celebrate..
      May delight touch your life Meredith..and laughter touch your days…:)

  6. #11 by Davina Haisell on November 20, 2010 - 6:39 pm

    I loved this post, Joy.

    Dancing when the unexpected hits you full force sounds like a great attitude to take. Makes me think that is exactly what a boat does in the wind. And plus, I love to dance so, I’m dancing with you. I love your analogy of how we are the wind to each other too; great! We put the wind in each others sails. 🙂

    • #12 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on November 21, 2010 - 10:26 pm

      Hi Davina,
      I *love* your energy! “Dancing with the Unexpected” could be quite the hit show! And I’m glad you are dancing with me..company makes it so much more lively!

  7. #13 by Tony Single on November 21, 2010 - 12:05 pm

    Joy, you make me want to stand outside with an open umbrella and let the wind whisk me away to lands and mountain tops never before seen by anyone. Care to join me? 🙂

    • #14 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on November 21, 2010 - 10:27 pm

      Hi Tony,
      So glad to see you are back!!! Instead of an umbrella..you can go kite surfing..sounds safe in comparison –LOL! I’d join you..I love to fly and I absolutely *love* views never seen before:)

  8. #15 by Andrea DeBell - britetalk on November 23, 2010 - 4:49 am

    Hi Joy! I love how original your tips are. I also adore how you presented your unconditional love towards the wind. I use to get motion sick during flights until one day I made peace with the sky during a flight. As the plane shook with turbulence, I embraced the motion and allowed the sky to sometimes rock me and sometimes take me on a roller coaster ride. Since then, I haven’t got sick on a flight again. If we encounter turbulence, I say “Hi, my friend, here we go again, take me for a ride”. 🙂
    Thanks for this beautiful reminder during Thanksgiving week! Loving blessings!

  1. Ten Tips to a Freakin’ Awesome Thanksgiving… | Unfoldingyourpathtojoy's Blog

Leave a Reply

