Wednesday Wisdom: The Way of the Universe…

Hello..

Thank you for sharing your energy here in this space:)

This is the “Way of the Universe“:

It’s been raining this week..I usually *love* the rain, but the first few days caught me by surprise and followed my neighbor’s departure from the marina..so I initially felt the heaviness of it, rather than the cleansing, pure qualities that I enjoy…

If I didn’t have a life to lead…I’d have stayed inside all day..allowing the rain to be my excuse to hibernate…

However…

When my neighbor left last week so did my internet connection.  I find great inspiration interacting online, but I have found that without the ability to access the web throughout the day, I have much more time to be creative and find inspiration in other ways.  Perhaps the Way of the Universe… gently nudging me to be less isolated by going to public places for computer use.

I worked graveyard this weekend..exhausting..

On the way home after one shift, I thought I’d like to stop at Coffee Bean because they have free Wi-Fi and were open pre-dawn.  I don’t like coffee at all, but I love the atmosphere at my local Coffee Bean..it is always a pleasure for me to visit.  I love the energy, the music, the people watching, the views of the harbor..but pre-dawn I was thinking I would ‘roll in’, use my computer, then head home to sleep.

What happened, though, is that the energy rejuvenated my sagging spirits..I felt rested and ready for the day.  Imagine my surprise when I walked in thinking I would have Coffee Bean to myself, and instead found several people already set up on their computers..

And I see the Way of the Universe at work here..Exactly what I *need* in a form I wouldn’t have considered…

Yes, I could sign up for Wi-Fi and have access on the boat..but I thought I would try this new and different way for a bit..So, in the interim the children and I spend afternoons at our local coffeehouse..we take turns on the computer, they do homework, we all do creative projects..The children said it is kind of homey to them..I enjoy the music, the energy, the vibe from it all…working in my sketch book at the coffee house–kind of cool to me:) I have conversations with people I hadn’t interacted with before…listen to music that has a futuristic feel to it..smell the aromas of the coffeehouse..and in the midst of it am creating..

The Way of the Universe…new and different because I have opened my heart to possibility…There has been a lot of change in my life and I cannot help but absorb this energy around me..this vibrant, eclectic, embrace the day energy:)

The Way of the Universe..acknowledging my open heart, my newly cleaned space, my willingness to embrace…meeting me right here exactly where I am..I do not know where all of this shall lead, but I am certain that *fun* and great joy…adventure and experience…are right here ready for my next step..

The Way of the Universe:

One of my friends is embroiled in external drama that has temporarily dimmed his light.  He asked me how to take faith and go beyond this that he is in…My heart goes out to him.. I felt this was bigger than me so I asked those around me to consider sharing some love and light with him via email or thoughts..

The response blew me away..I will tell you my side..

I sit here in Coffee Bean feeling so blessed..to be surrounded by such an amazing group of people with genuinely loving hearts and kind spirits who would take a few moments to extend grace to a man who yesterday told me it would take a miracle to make him feel better..And I watched this miracle be placed..for this morning, the joy he exudes–even through email– to say thank you for the love and light..thank you for changing his entire day..

My heart swells with gratitude and love..

Overflows..

My eyes fill with tears of joy..

For I feel that Love as well..

What we reflect is also reflected to us..

And I cannot help but think how in the past few weeks, I’d been feeling the void of the “loss” of a few friendships as they went out with the tide..and here I am sitting in overflowing abundant love..

*That* my friends is truly the way..

When you open your heart, even if you are doubting or unsure..When you say I am here, I don’t know how you will use my gifts, but they are yours to use as you may…When you want to sit inside away from the world but instead you walk outside, listen to the wind…let the rain nurture, nourish, cleanse as it is meant to… allow nature to fold you into her open arms and wrap you in delight…

When you embrace…instead of resist..

….View from my seat inside coffee bean..behind the palm trees is the harbor…love this place:)…

You experience Love..golden..Divine..

…Very calm in the midst of a lightening storm…

You are perfectly made… your talents and gifts are amazing resources to those around you…when you share from the overflowing abundance within your life, that abundance will be magnified and returned to you in exactly the places that were empty and waiting to be filled…

And I find the above photo of my rain clouds to be Light filled and glorious.. I once again find Love in the rain..and in the freshness of this new online experience..

May I ask you to consider: what in your life may have become a little ‘stale’ and could use a burst of freshness…

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by lifeonpurpose24 on October 20, 2010 - 2:18 am

    Dear Joy…..I am reflecting on your inspirational message. Again, from your writing, I can almost feel the raindrops on my face, smell the coffee, and feel the love from the people that have touched your life. Sometimes a deliberate hibernation is the answer for me when life seems a bit overwhelming. It is at these times I try hard to “see” all of the beauty in this world….beautiful smiles, sunshine and rain, chocolate chip cookies right from the oven, children playing, church bells ringing, a warm snuggly blanket on a chilly fall evening, my legs and feet that carry me away for long runs in the sun, rain or snow, being lost in a movie or book, and everything else that enriches our daily lives. Other times, it is better to do as you have done and get out of the house. I find simple places and things offer the greatest peace…a walk in the park, dinner or ice cream with a friend, a jog with my neice, a chat with friends, a visit to my local library, going to the grocery store for ingredients to create a beautiful and healthy dinner, or a trip to the local bookstore to listen to new music and to explore books and authors. We have so much richness in our daily lives…so much to be thankful for. Life is full of curve balls. Some miss us. Others smack us right in the face. How we deal with these curve balls determines whether we invite peace or grief and sadness into our world. Sometimes though…I find a good cry actually helps me appreciate the joy and love waiting on the other side after the storm is over. Thank you for sharing again a part of your life with us. Have you read the book, “The Four Agreements?” It is one of my favorites. Blessings and peace ot you!

  2. #2 by Andrea DeBell - britetalk on October 20, 2010 - 3:25 am

    Hi Joy! I also love to bring my computer to a coffee house and work there for a change. It kind of became “the thing”my husband and I do on our weekly date. We first go to a coffee house with our computers, then we eat something, and then go to a movie. But once in a while the universe also throws something new at us and we have to change our tune. I love how the universe has it’s own way to weave our lives. It’s usually unexpected but at the same time amazing. When we are open to it, we can dance more freely to the universe’s music.

    Thanks for sharing your life with us. Loving blessings!

  3. #3 by Zeenat{Positive Provocations} on October 20, 2010 - 8:14 am

    Hi Joy,
    What a wonderful view from the coffee shop..and I can already smell the coffee here 🙂
    I loved your “way of the universe ” approach. Its refreshing to see what happens when you are truly open to the many blessings the universe has to offer.
    As fro what needs refreshing on my end.hmmm…I think it my diet. I need to include more fresh foods than i ma normally having and do t with a bit of a twist, so i dont get bored 🙂
    Such a restful feeling after reading this Joy….thank you!
    So much love and divine blessings to you,
    Z~

  4. #4 by tobeme on October 21, 2010 - 1:34 am

    What I truly loved about what you shared is your awareness to stay open to the possibilities! You are blessed in so many ways and your blessings multiply because of your willingness to be open.

  5. #5 by Patty - Why Not Start Now? on October 22, 2010 - 4:58 am

    Love it, Joy. I’ve often thought about totally unhooking the ISP and wifi at home, and using the computer only when I’m out and about. I spend a fair amount of time in a remote place in Sonoma County where there is no internet, and it is such an experience of freedom and creativity. When I do want to connect, I go to the local coffee house. Sadly, though, my favorite place in Bodega Bay closed down recently. Now, if we only had Coffee Bean and a view of the harbor here in Sacramento, I’d be set.

  6. #6 by Lisa @ Practically Intuitive on October 22, 2010 - 3:17 pm

    Well, this is just lovely, Joy! Like “lifeonpurpose24” above, I could see myself there with you in the coffee shop. 🙂

    Today is my 50th birthday and I am feeling vibrantly alive and happy to be so. Earlier in the week, I was pissing and moaning about it but you know what? I’m here, I’m alive, I am blessed beyond measure and life is good. I’m celebrating all I’ve learned over the last ten years (and it’s been an abundant decade, that’s for sure) and all I will be doing in the coming ten years (and beyond).

    I loved your story about how your friend was lifted up on the words and actions of others. I participate in this weekly “love bomb” thing and I am so happy to do something like that – and the recipients are always amazed and a little overwhelmed by the love that pours out. It’s nice to see.

    Thanks for sharing your perspective.

    Much love to you.

  7. #7 by Jannie Funster on October 22, 2010 - 5:17 pm

    Hi Dearest Joy, please know that my friendship will never go out on the tide!

    I am glad for you finding such a pleasant place as The Coffee Bean, that your friend glowed his light back up, and that the rain is washing you clean. Do do always allow the best stuff in and out of your soul — it’s beautiful and refreshing to see.

    I am inviting some freshness into my life today, in form of housework meditation and gratitude for all I have.

    After I post this I’m making a phone call to someone special to tell him he is so special to me, after I was not as receptive as I could have been to him earlier today. Yes, my very significant other.

    The Way Of The Universe is good to me. And I’m grateful to you.

    xoxo

    BTW, you won one of the cds from me!! Yep, Kelly picked your number randomly. Winner instructions on current post. 🙂

    xo again.

  8. #8 by Peggy Nolan on October 22, 2010 - 7:54 pm

    Dearest Joy,

    The message to disconnect from the cyber world is a powerful one that I hear. These days I’ve been making myself shut down, turn off, unplug, and disconnect. The internet these days is my biggest distraction. So, I’ll take a cue from you and limit my “online” time. You’ve got the Coffee Bean. I’ve got the Coffee Factory. 🙂

    Hugs,
    Peggy

  9. #9 by Sibyl - alternaview on October 25, 2010 - 2:02 am

    Joy: Great post and reminder that we need to always be looking at the things and people around us that we can appreciate. I am a big coffee house fan. I too like the energy that you find there and am usually so productive while I am there. I always leave feeling energized and refreshed. I also appreciated this post and your description of your experience and realization of your gratitude. A beautiful description. Thanks for sharing it.

  10. #10 by Sara on October 26, 2010 - 4:24 pm

    Joy,

    I think you got a wonderful “gift.” And what’s really nice about it is that you recognized it even though it was wrapped in slightly soggy paper due to the rains and other things that happened in your life…but you turned it around and found the gift.

    I sort of envy you regarding hanging out at the coffee shop because I think you are right that we live so much with our computers that we forget sometimes to live with people. I know I’m guilty of this. I live most of my day with my computer, the cat and the dog. You remind me that I might need to get out a bit more…thanks:~)

    • #11 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on October 26, 2010 - 7:07 pm

      Hi…
      I have been offline for the last week and unable to access the internet due to travel to New Moon in Rochester, NY…
      I shall be back on Wednesday October 27th to reply to your comments, and to post Wednesday Wisdom…
      I thank you for the support and encouragement within this community..amazing…
      May delight touch your life in myriad ways…
      Much peace,
      Joy

  11. #12 by Tony Single on October 26, 2010 - 11:21 pm

    Joy, I have been feeling stale for a long long time. I am only just now beginning to rediscover the one thing I’m most passionate about. Comics. Y’see, this is the one thing I’m good at (not blowing my own trumpet here, I promise!), and it seems like I’ve spent the last ten years apologising for it. After a few weeks of rediscovering some comic treasures and reading them (no, devouring them), I have begun to question my sanity a little bit. Why cut myself off from that which I most enjoy? That which is most me?

    Beautiful read, Moonbeam. You are an encouragement to me. Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

