Wednesday Wisdom: Luxurious…

I am so glad that you chose to visit this space today..welcome!  May you find exactly what your heart desires while you are here…

This is so interesting to me..a post in my draft section that I wrote at the end of Summer..yet called out to me today..when I am in a mood of “miss”, my own words supply the wisdom and healing I am seeking..I *love* that!  And my dreams certainly do come true–each time I make the time to create them, to allow for them, to send my heart whispers circulating through the world on the moonbeams..Such joy to “find” this essay and share it with you today!  Wow….

End of Summer 2010: Before I begin, I would like to say that the Universe certainly has a sense of humor…The only “chore” that my mind believes I absolutely need to do to function well in life is to wash the outside of the boat..quite a project that usually takes a few hours….I tend to only do this chore when the ‘mood’ strikes, put on some good music, get scrubbing, enjoy my task.  But now it’s on my ‘to-do’ list..a list that I rarely make.  So, I know that this week my day off is Wednesday and rather than enjoy dollar day at the fair, or kayak or hike, or bask in the sun somewhere, I planned to wash the boat.  Get this–there is a sign on the gate to the dock stating that the water on my dock will be turned off Wednesday during the day, and they apologize for the inconvenience..Are you kidding me????  My heart leaps, I practically ran to the office to kiss the ladies there to thank them profusely for turning the water off on the one day that I “need” it…Thank you, Universe, thank you!!!!!

So..

On a quiet morning, I was laying on a blanket on a cushion in the cockpit of the boat..Cool air wafted over me..

Such a peace filled time, so I chose to create part of my dream board for the month…I flipped through magazines cutting out photos and inspiring words…

My theme word for this year is ’embrace’; it’s easy to embrace while I am filled with peace..It’s easy to be open to new thoughts and ideas when I am in a comfortable setting basking in the Light..

In such a setting, the word ‘luxurious’ stood out to me…luxurious…the mere act of cutting the word out of the magazine shifted something inside..

And then..I began to miss the “luxury” of my previous life…Living in this moment, I rarely “miss” anything because the moment is so full.  But then, this feeling of “miss” came over me…I began to miss what I currently do not have:

  • my whirlpool bathtub and long hot baths filled to the rim with soap bubbles, candles lit, a glass of wine, music..
  • a huge pot of something delicious simmering on the stove top for hours while I went about my day…
  • being wrapped in my down comforter sleeping atop my pillowtop mattress in my lovely sheets
  • travelling pretty much anywhere I chose, staying at five-star hotels, eating magnificent food
  • long hikes in the local hills, stopping to sunbathe on a huge rock by the natural water pool, being massaged from head to toe as I sun bathed
  • spa days at the local resort spa..mmm..products like butter on my skin, wrapped in warm towels, left to meditate for hours…

At this point, the “old me” would have felt uncomfortable with the feeling of ‘miss’..so uncomfortable I probably would have stopped creating not only this time but maybe for a long time.. packed up my blanket and books, and headed inside.

Ah, but this me allows my heart to remain open to the moment as it is presented to me; so I stayed outside, happy for the cool air on my skin, happy for the mere fact I was in the cockpit of ‘my boat’  (a lifelong dream, and there I was sitting in it)…Happy to be creating, happy to have the word luxurious stand out to me…I allowed my memories to manifest..then I chose to give praise for each experience. 

As I gave praise, the feeling of ‘miss’ dissolved…turning into a wholeness within…these “luxuries” are not gone, they are a part of me as is All Else I’ve experienced.  I am who I am today in part because I experienced those luxuries..and then I chose a different path–to simplify and live on the boat…

So, I looked up the definition of luxurious–per Miriam Webster: marked by or given to self-indulgence; of the finest and richest kind; of, relating to, or marked by luxury…

Of course, I then looked up the definition of luxury:  a condition of abundance or great ease and comfort; something adding to pleasure or comfort but not absolutely necessary; an indulgence in something that provides pleasure, satisfaction, or ease…

I see now, already, that I have *plenty* of luxury….when I open my heart to allow for the true meaning to settle in…I have the luxury of simplicity; wonder filled moments; magnificent beauty; unlimited time; choices; Love, peace, joy and other such blessings…if there is something I currently do not have it is either because I no longer want it or because I have not yet made room for it…

When I sat with it for a while, past emotion and reason into a realm of just *be-ing*…my heart wasn’t crying out for what it didn’t have, my heart was saying please recognize and be thankful for all that you do have..

Luxurious indeed..I shall include that on my dream board..what fun to see how it will manifest!

As for sumptuous..I’m most intrigued by this word..I think I may *love* that word…*grin*

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Jannie Funster on October 7, 2010 - 1:44 am

    What could be better than love, peace and joy in simplicity? Except maybe dollar day at the fair? Dollar day at the fair!! Like dollar baklavas, cotton candy, all natural hotdogs, and dollar beers and such?? 🙂

    Spa tubs are a real pain to clean, at least the one we have is. I look forward to replacing it one day with a good old no-frills tub. There will be no miss in that for me at all.

    Yes, I did find what I desired here today — a luxurious chat with my lovely inspiring friend, Joy. Thank you for that!

    xoxo

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on October 7, 2010 - 11:39 am

      Hi Jannie,
      LOL..dollar day at the fair is an entrance fee of a dollar…the rest is the same..yummy treats, farm animals, rides, fireworks..lots of my favorites..but quiet time was more amazing..
      I *love* spa tubs..a glorious treat when I can relax in one:)
      Thank you for stopping in to chat..luxurious indeed:)
      Much peace,
      Joy

  2. #3 by Sulwyn on October 7, 2010 - 2:59 am

    I really needed to have that reminder about luxury today. I had a lovely day off to stay home and luxuriate in the rain on the tin roof over my porch and time to make a batch of cookies to go with it, working on making a basket I have seen in my dreams… simple things, but I spent much of my day struggling to turn off the critical voice that said I should be cleaning, worrying about covering bills, studying, anything but enjoying my solitary day off. So again, I truly appreciate your timely reminder about luxury and what it truly means!

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on October 7, 2010 - 11:40 am

      Hi Sulwyn,
      Mmmm..cookies baking..
      Sounds like you had quite a luxurious day..yummy treats, the sound of rain tapping, dreams and creating from them…Simplicity at its best..Sounds wonderful to me:)
      Much peace,
      Joy

  3. #5 by Patricia on October 7, 2010 - 3:36 am

    I have a new job for one month starting next week – I have been racing and racing to get things done to I can incorporate this new experience into my life and not make myself ill doing it…then I got all klutzy yesterday, making more and more work for myself…so I add anger to the mix…then I heard some very horrible campaign ads that were those negative almost not anything true in them and I was awake all night ….

    I have let hurry and worry take over my days as preparation…I needed this reminder of looking at all the luxury I have right before my very eyes, nose and ears….the birds were just a symphony on my walk this morning – chattering to burn the fog away and the sun shine….and it did
    It did not need my broom to sweep or dust or comment…the birds did….

    Thank you for you lovely words.

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on October 7, 2010 - 11:42 am

      Hi Patricia,
      A Symphony of Birds sounds like a Disney movie:)
      Congratulations on your new job..may you allow the joy and fun of the experience to overflow and touch your life..All of the rest that you mention is your mind trying to distract you..Your heart knows how very right it is and will allow you to tap into pleasure..I’d love to know how it goes…
      Much peace,
      Joy

    • #7 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on October 9, 2010 - 1:59 pm

      Patricia, this is beautiful — bringing yourself back into the moment and letting birds sing to your soul’s harmony. What a perfect image your comment left with me. Thank you!

      • #8 by Patricia on October 11, 2010 - 7:17 pm

        The idea that the bird song brings one back to the moment it a Ram Das exercise I use his teaching to make my morning walking a meditation….I can not take credit for the idea

  4. #9 by Caity on October 7, 2010 - 4:37 am

    I’m glad you were able to get over that feeling and you did not give in. It takes a strong person really at peace with themselves to truly do that, I think.

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on October 10, 2010 - 5:33 am

      Hi Caity,
      I’m so glad to see you..your energy is fantastic..perhaps due to your move?
      I actually did ‘give in’ to the feeling of miss..instead of resisting it as I had been, I embraced it…which then allowed it to become a gift…a reflection to me of all that I do have and am thankful for…

      Much peace,
      Joy

  5. #11 by Hilary on October 7, 2010 - 10:58 am

    Hi Joy .. I know my heart goes pitter patter when I get a bit of extra ‘free time’ to embrace whatever I feel like .. and the luxuriousness of knowing that we can quietly go at our own pace ..

    Good for you .. feel the fresh gentle breeze from the Ocean .. lovely words – thank you .. Hilary

    • #12 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on October 10, 2010 - 5:33 am

      Hi Hilary,
      I love the words you choose…’pitter patter’ of my heart..when I next have free time, I shall check in with my heart as well:)
      We can go quietly at our own pace, it doesn’t have to be frenetic or crazy busy, but step by step enjoying each and every moment as it is presented…

      Much peace,
      Joy

  6. #13 by Brenda on October 7, 2010 - 8:57 pm

    Joy, What a delight to read this and of course, most of us can identify in some way. Your words have such a lyrical beauty. It really is all in how we look at things, isn’t it? I say to my clients often, “Can you see it differently?” Now, I have your beautiful article to share with them. I think what you have is beyond riches…you can not put a price tag on simplicity or on joy…

    Love toyou!

    • #14 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on October 10, 2010 - 5:36 am

      Hi Brenda,
      Thank you!
      Delight is such a joy to experience, so if I am able to reflect that to you, then I am happy..
      My life is full of simplicity and joy because I allow it to be..I choose to create these moments and to allow for unfolding..When I make the space, magic is placed..so I focus energy on making space and allowing for…My heart overflows with gratitude for all that I *do* have..

      Much peace,
      Joy

  7. #15 by Tess The Bold Life on October 8, 2010 - 2:25 pm

    Hi Joy,
    You can come over and sit in my tub, sip wine with a candle lit any time you wish. Come on over! We’ll go hiking as well;) Oh did I say bring the kids? They’re always welcome as well. I used to love when a particular friend would invite us over with our 4 small girls under 5 and enjoy them more than us. It made me feel loved and cared for…not an easy thing to do…inviting chaos in a home but for her it was joy not chaos. So come on over when ever you miss any comforts;)

    • #16 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on October 10, 2010 - 5:40 am

      Hi Tess,
      Thank you!
      Precious offer..I would love to bring my family to visit…:)
      Your comment comes at a time when we’ve ‘lost’ our dear neighbor..the one who helped my dream of living on the boat become reality by being there..and who loved on myself and the children..just moved this week and I wrestle with this new empty space..can’t process it yet, and feel quite alone…
      There are very few who love us/understand us as a family..and I very much appreciate the ones that do!
      Much peace,
      Joy

  8. #17 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on October 9, 2010 - 1:58 pm

    Timing is everything: even me reading this is perfectly timed! Thursday and Friday saw me spending time with my very wealthy boss, who has anything and everything you could imagine. I was in his element for 18 hours over those two days, and last night when I returned home to my modest one-bedroom apartment, I breathed a sigh of relief. “HOME!” I gave thanks for my cozy, comfy apartment, and for the simplicity of my life. I loved the warmth and beautiful energy I felt swirling throughout my 550-square foot living space. Everything I have is what I want, and there’s something very reassuring about that. Very little “stress” – yet when I was with my boss, I felt crushed by stress. He has a lot, but in the “having” he has the fear of losing.

    I much prefer the freedom of simplicity.

    Happy weekend, Joy!

    • #18 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on October 10, 2010 - 5:42 am

      Hi Megan,
      I had the huge house and toys and travel and anything we could desire for our family..but it wasn’t joy filled..it was just space filler..
      Now I have 40 feet of living space and more peace than I could have imagined..Like you, I love what I have and the energy within it is amazing..I also like to visit with those who have ‘more’ because I appreciate the treat of that..but I love my little home..
      You said it Megan..’freedom’…to choose, to be, to create…anything!

      Much peace,
      Joy

  9. #19 by Keith Davis on October 9, 2010 - 8:11 pm

    Hi Joy
    Notice that you rarely make out a “to do” list.
    I’m a complete nerd when it comes to lists… and I confess that I have a “to do” list – several in fact.
    My wife laughs at my lists.

    We all enjoy our luxuries and sometimes they don’t have to be so luxurious… simple things can often seem like luxuries.
    Don’t have a spa but I do have a favourite chair and a favourite tipple – what more could you ask for?

    • #20 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on October 10, 2010 - 5:46 am

      Hi Keith,
      Oh LOL..a to do list would “get lost” very quickly…as I read your comment, I realize I am about the freedom to allow the day to unfold as it will..with ease and great joy…and I flow from experience to experience rather than chore/obligation to chore/obligation..
      I’d throw away your list and bet a burst of freedom guides you to experience much you probably save for when the to do list is done…:)

      Much peace,
      Joy

  10. #21 by Angela Artemis on October 11, 2010 - 10:25 pm

    Hi Joy,
    I loved this post. To be in the moment and enjoy what you’re doing is a gift and a blessing! I find I resist doing chores around the house, but once I start doing them I actually enjoy what I’m doing! It feels good to have a clean house, or clean crisp sheets on the bed. There’s a feeling of satisfaction that you get after it’s done that makes it feel all worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

