Wednesday Wisdom: Fierceness…

Hello.  Thank *you* for stopping in today:)

As I was browsing through my ‘blog reading’, I came across this article written by Lori at Jane Be Nimble, Fiercely Caring.  Lori’s words resonated deep within and I found my heart saying “oh yes!” as I read…”oh yes!” as I thought about how my life is reflective of all that is in my heart..”oh yes!” as I realized each step is exactly as it should be, leading me to exactly where I am..”oh, yes!” here I am with my heart fully open, embracing this moment…

“Oh, yes!” indeed…

I was then basking in the stillness of the harbor…sitting in the cockpit of the boat sipping my tea, reading this treasure of a book I had in my possession but recently ‘rediscovered’.  Glad to be still.  I had thought I wanted to be out and about in this day, but felt most strongly that the children and I were meant to stay home.  To allow the day to unfold.  So, there I was with “oh, yes!” in my heart, surrounded by stillness, and I pick up this book to read, and….

As the Universe works, the passage was about stillness and how stillness adds a rich layer to life. 

Yet, I know that to appreciate such stillness Fear may not be present.  Many people are afraid to be still.  Afraid to have quiet.  Afraid to have naked moments.  For in nakedness, how may one hide?  And don’t many wish to hide because they feel if they are naked perhaps they will be unloved…

Isn’t that the crux..the fear of being unloved keeps many from living even a few moments of their dream..let alone a life of their dream…Yet, that dream life is right here ready and waiting to be lived….

Is fear present in your life?  Does fear keep you from the life of your dreams? 

I had to learn to conquer fear..the fear of not being enough, of never being enough–a fear contracted in childhood, that I chose to release so that I may experience magic. 

My life is as magical as I allow it to be…The magic within is as grand as I allow it to be. 

To me, stillness is the place for my dreams to formulate, for my heart whispers to roam free, for thoughts and ideas that I’d yet to consider to begin to bud…Stillness is a rich nutrient for my garden…I love to be still.  I seek out stillness. I share that stillness with those who wish to share with me…I celebrate those who are able to set aside fear to allow their hearts to be open enough, set aside fear to be brave enough to sit in stillness with me, to share dreams ideas thoughts..

In case fear is present in your life, blocking you from experiencing the richness of stillness, here is a thought to consider from my treasure of a book..

An excerpt from “The Game of Life for Women and How to Play it” by Florence Scovel Shinn (p47 & 49)

“I am asked so often by students, “How can I get rid of fear?”  I reply, “By walking up to the thing you are afraid of.”

“The lion takes its fierceness from your fear.” 

Walk up to the lion, and he will disappear; run away and he runs after you….

Choose ye this day whom we shall serve, faith or fear”…

Much peace,

Joy

 

  1. #1 by Betsy Henry (zen-mama.com) on September 15, 2010 - 3:44 am

    I just spent last night in a wonderful group meditation which I’d never done before. So I love when you said, “the passage was about stillness and how stillness adds a rich layer to life. ” It certainly did for me last night. And I like your story about the lion at the end. We need to remember that when fear comes into our life.

  2. #2 by Tony Single on September 15, 2010 - 4:54 am

    Yes, stillness is always a breath of blessed release in today’s results obsessed culture, isn’t it! I’m so sorry that I’ve not visited with you for awhile, Moonbeam, but I’ve needed to take a step back from my internet activities and find some of that stillness you speak of. Not always easy when the world quite rudely crams itself into one’s mind and thoughts, but nevertheless important.

    I so appreciated your lovely email the other day. It left me quite literally at a loss for words, hence why I haven’t responded until now. I want you to know that I do appreciate you, and I appreciate your story… even with all its sad and horrific bits. You would not be who you are today without even those.

    Bless you, my friend. 🙂

  3. #3 by Lori on September 15, 2010 - 5:06 pm

    Hi Joy,
    Stillness is a rich nutrient of your garden, indeed, Joy. (I love that line!)
    Keep planting your kindness, we love what you’re sowing — such beauty.
    I enjoyed reading about your thoughts on fear. I have to admit, there is very little fear in my life. I’m thankful, as it hasn’t always been this way.
    Also, thanks for the mention and link love. I’m honored that my little post about fiercely caring spoke to you. When I saw those words from Red Auerbach in the quote I listed, they shouted at me from the rooftops.
    Much love to you.
    ~xo

  4. #4 by Tess The Bold Life on September 15, 2010 - 9:44 pm

    Joy,
    This is a grand piece. I tell ya I go in and out of fear all the time. However not as much as before because when I face the lion I always come out a bit stronger. I was sitting on your boat sipping tea with you when I read this! Isn’t Lori awesome;) Just like you!

  5. #5 by Patricia on September 16, 2010 - 2:32 am

    What a lovely post and to think it is about stillness (understandably a great connection to lovely) and fear ( not such a great connection to lovely) and yet! they worked together in a harmony. I could feel the boat move

    I have had a cold and swollen eyes and not able to read or do much for several days, then today a migraine headache, which I have not had for years and years….so I just closed my eyes and listened to the rain and the cars splashing by – being and recounting all the words, all the lovely words that come to mind when I confront the lion and remain still

    Thank you

  6. #6 by Davina Haisell on September 16, 2010 - 5:52 am

    Another powerhouse post, Joy.

    I love the metaphors you’ve used about the naked moments. And… the fear of being unloved, too… very true that is keeps some folk from living their dreams. Makes me think that if they just loved themselves, that would be enough. If they did if for themselves they should have no fear whether others loved them. Maybe focusing on how others could love them *just* for trying. Loved this post.

  7. #7 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on September 16, 2010 - 5:42 pm

    Joy, the comments on this post are equally as good as your original thoughts. What a gem to read! And that Florence Scovel Shinn quote you included is one I cut & paste into a Word document – it’s one of my favorites.

    Like Davina, I loved the metaphor you used of being naked. “…Afraid to have naked moments. For in nakedness, how may one hide? And don’t many wish to hide because they feel if they are naked perhaps they will be unloved…” What a mouthful! Gives me pause. I know, like Tess, that I’m constantly moving in and out of fear. But since the idea of dancing with fear crossed my path a few weeks ago, I’ve been trying that new dance partner on for size. I rather like the results (as you know!).

    Bless you, dear Joy! You are a brilliantly shining light in this world. (smile)

  8. #8 by Jenny Ann Fraser on September 16, 2010 - 9:36 pm

    I’m so happy that I found your blog. I was contemplating a minor issue in my life and how to change it when I stumbled upon this post. Stillness was the answer! I so truly needed the reminder and for this I am grateful.
    I have allowed life to get a little too busy for the past few weeks and haven’t created space to be still. I will now.
    Thanks again!

    • #9 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on September 17, 2010 - 12:35 am

      Hi zen-mama,
      Thank you!
      I love that you tried something new and different and had such a positive experience!
      I believe that my dreams may become reality when I allow for them to…the only barrier is fear..so I look for creative ways to remove fear and embrace those dreams fully….

      Hi Tony,
      You continue to inspire me..thank you for that!
      I thrive in stillness..I just recently realized that is why I love sailing so much..I greatly enjoy interacting with people, activities, the world..but to be out on the ocean, just the elements, myself and sometimes a loved one..wow..nothing like it..when I am unable to sail, I find myself kayaking or on the hiking trails..something quiet in nature…To find stillness in my home is quite a blessing for me..I am glad to embrace it…

      Hi Lori,
      Your words were perfect timing in my life. I was contemplating walking away from a dream..yet the Universe provided signs I could listen to..your words were one sign..*fiercely caring* indeed..
      My garden is blossoming, with some help from my friends, and lots of time spent within it instead of out and around…Stillness is something I revel in, yet shied away from recently..stillness is where you will find me..

      Hi Tess,
      And one day you shall be on my boat sipping tea:)
      Lori is the best, you are the best..so many people who comment here and write ‘out there’ are the best..I am most appreciative of all that is shared within this community! Time to tame those lions:)

      Hi Patricia,
      Thank you for stopping in…Harmony indeed..I find when I am less than still, it is because I am afraid..and lovely applies to all of it since this life is as lovely as I allow it to be:)
      Sometimes our bodies ask us to rest when we haven’t honored the time it is requesting..so I’m glad you took the time to be still…allow for healing..

      Hi Davina,
      Thank you!
      My life is about peeling back layers to be as naked as possible..and I think how the people I connect to on my own vibration level are also comfortable with nakedness..When I close my heart in one area, it remains closed in all areas..when I allow for full love in one area, I allow it in all areas…
      Awesome insight..when I love myself, I am absolutely *enough*..no fears, no expectations, just pure, golden love…

      Hi Megan,
      You continue to teach me–thank you for reflecting to me all that you do..
      I think of all of the types of masks people may use to hide, yet they are then sad when they feel unloved because no one “knows” them..I can only know the parts that you allow me to see..when you are fully naked, I see all of you..only *then* may I love you fully…
      Fear is neither ‘bad’ nor ‘good’…it just is..if I may learn to embrace fear, even love fear, my life will continue to have an added layer of richness..I happen to love richness so allow my heart to be open to it..
      That you chose a new dance partner actually changed *my* life…I love that and cannot wait to see what you choose next..What an exciting adventure you are on!

      Hi Jenny Ann,
      Thank you for stopping in! I’m glad you found an Answer…
      When my life feels too busy, I stop to process and always find that I am denying or avoiding something..when I embrace, stillness is a beauty filled treat that I make time for…

      Much peace,
      Joy

  9. #10 by Patty - Why Not Start Now? on September 17, 2010 - 2:18 am

    Hi Joy – What a lovely post. I so agree with walking toward the fear, and it reminds me of one of my favorite quotes from one of my favorite authors, James Hollis: “Anxiety is an elixir, and depression is a sedative. The former keeps us on the edge of our life and the latter in the sleep of childhood.” He’s not talking about clinical depression, but the kind of existential blahs that cause us to pull the covers over our heads and move away from risk. But to choose anxiety, to walk toward fear, to see it as an elixir, now that’s living. That’s choosing life.

Leave a Reply

