Monday Blessing: Phenomenal Woman…

Hi.  Thank you for joining me today!

To live mindfully present, I chose to drop “my story”– my yesterdays–to focus on creating within this very moment that I am in.  To allow you to identify with some parts of Me that don’t live in these pages, I’ve updated my About Joy and This Blog page.  Since I updated it, I have received many emails of surprise. 

A few years ago, there were moments in my life I lay on a huge rock at the end of the jetty just wishing a wave would crash over me and wash me out to sea.  I thought physical death would be preferable to the emotional suffocating I allowed as I was in an abusive relationship I could see no end to.  Fast forward to a few years later, when diagnosed with stage 3 cervical cancer, and I found myself wanting to live fully. 

My sole purpose in sharing bits of  “my story” with you is to encourage you where you are at, whatever you are in, exactly as you are…to take that first step to create this moment in the best way for you.  To listen to your heart whispers.  To dance, laugh, play, love, rejoice.  I have been there..in the land of compromise… to stay alive, focusing on breath as a way to exist..and now I am here, living the life of my dreams..

It takes one step..and we are all here for each other..You don’t have to be discouraged or despondent to change your life..you may be peace filled and care free and want to enrich your already overflowing life in some way..

This day I celebrate the release of “my story”…I love myself and who I am…I radiate peace, joy, love, passion, kindness, faith, hope, laughter, Light.. and I think Maya Angelou’s poem describes exactly how I feel: “phenomenal”…I Light up my space, wherever that space is..and when I interact with you there is a feeling of Love, refreshing peace, joy….I own that fully…I celebrate that!   I celebrate my body– I allow it to move me through many diverse activities: belly dancing, hiking, kayaking, running along the beach…I don’t hide my being, I don’t hide my body…I embrace it all….

Phenomenal Woman

by Maya Angelou

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

I walk into a room
Just as cool as you please,
And to a man,
The fellows stand or
Fall down on their knees.
Then they swarm around me,
A hive of honey bees.
I say,
It’s the fire in my eyes,
And the flash of my teeth,
The swing in my waist,
And the joy in my feet.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

Men themselves have wondered
What they see in me.
They try so much
But they can’t touch
My inner mystery.
When I try to show them
They say they still can’t see.
I say,
It’s in the arch of my back,
The sun of my smile,
The ride of my breasts,
The grace of my style.
I’m a woman

Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

Now you understand
Just why my head’s not bowed.
I don’t shout or jump about
Or have to talk real loud.
When you see me passing
It ought to make you proud.
I say,
It’s in the click of my heels,
The bend of my hair,
the palm of my hand,
The need of my care,
‘Cause I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

 

*You* are phenomenaltell me what part of *you* are you celebrating today?

Much peace,

 Joy

 

  1. #1 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on September 13, 2010 - 12:09 pm

    Wow, what a great poem for a Monday! The energy Maya emits with her words — they’re transformative. They remind me of my own inner goddess, and remind me to feel proud of who and what I am.

    I like how you said you’re releasing your story. I’ve been thinking about that so much lately: how some of us cling to what’s happened in the past as a way of justifying who we are TODAY. Yet in the clinging – the brandishing of our pasts – we continue to live in their shadows.

    If we can release our stories, though, and welcome the newness of today, well then therein lies our greatest power to be, do or have anything we want!

    I celebrate you, Joy, and I celebrate me — the “me” that is looking at this screen, typing these words, and about to run her little legs silly on the treadmill in ten minutes. It’s all so very, very good.

  2. #2 by Evita on September 13, 2010 - 3:27 pm

    Hi Joy

    Yes and a big congratulations to you for releasing “your story”.

    After I read Eckhart Tolle’s work, I understood the stories that we carry throughout our lives and how they help, or hinder us…normally the latter.

    You are you today, a new beautiful, vibrant, strong, connected and balanced woman. You are not who you were 10 years ago, or 10 months ago, or even 10 minutes ago. Neither am I.

    I think we always have to remember that, as it allows us to move forward, to grow and expand our souls and our beings, instead of getting stuck in some figment of our imagination. That is all the past is, after all.

    So thank you for sharing the beautiful YOU! and this poem was a perfect addition!

    Happy Monday and happy “now” you 🙂

  3. #3 by Nadia Ballas-Ruta ~ Happy Lotus Lifestyles on September 13, 2010 - 3:39 pm

    Good for you for releasing your story! You go, girl!

    The past is the past and we should not carry it with us into the present. So I commend you for letting it go.

    And Maya Angelou just simply takes words and turns them into diamonds. I love that poem.

    What part am I celebrating today? Well…I am celebrating the fact that I am alive and doing what I love to do. Life is good…actually…life is awesome and beautiful!

  4. #4 by Kristin on September 13, 2010 - 3:53 pm

    Joy this was beautiful 🙂 ….I lost my friend on Saturday, she was only 54 with 2 children and a devastated husband. I am at a loss for words. Yes she is with Christ Jesus, this I am certain. But do you have any thoughts on death? I stand in faith and I believe the Lord will not give me what I cant handle, but THIS, wow, the hurt just does not go away. Can you please give me some of your beautiful words to help me.
    God Bless YOU
    Kristin

  5. #5 by Sara on September 13, 2010 - 10:13 pm

    Joy,

    You are one fantastic woman. You do know this, right? Your story is amazing and I’m pleased that you shared it with us, your readers. I love this site and the peace that I always find when I visit. Sometimes the hardest life lessons hold the key to what we really need to know.

    Wow. As I’m writing this, I just read Kristin’s comment, which is right above me. I know she’s at the right place to get those beautiful words. I know you will give them to her, but my heart aches for her.

    For myself, I want to tell her that the hurt does get better. It will still sting sometimes when she thinks about her friend, but the pain does ease into the good memories. She has to be patient with herself and allow the tears to come when they need to.

    My thoughts go out to her and the family of her friend.

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on September 14, 2010 - 3:15 am

      Wow..the law of attraction..this page has attracted pretty phenomenal people!

      Hi Megan,
      I celebrate *you* too..all that you are and reflect to me and others..amazing!
      What stands out to me about your comment are the words transformative and shadows…a thought like shadows are useful when I want to heal, and now that I allow magical tranformative energy to circulate I stand in Light..
      For me, it’s generally about releasing layers of my ‘self” so that I am most ‘self-less” if that makes sense…

      Hi Evita,
      Thank you!
      I normally only share my story through inspirational speaking..not in “regular” life…I find it constricts me, limits me..When I wake, it’s a new day with unlimited possibility and potential and I may allow myself to experience whatever it is I choose…my story doesn’t allow me to do that, my story puts labels on my gifts and abilities…so I’m releasing it…
      Thank *you* Evita for all that you reflect to me..

      Hi Nadia,
      Diamonds indeed..I celebrate the beauty, sparkle, rarity of the diamonds shared here…
      And I celebrate with you–to a beautiful and awesome life–may the flow that you are experiencing carry you to wonder filled places…

      Hi Kristin,
      I shall email you..My thought is this..celebrate *life*…the friendship you treasure stays with you, is a part of you..so allow it to continue to blossom even without the physical presence of your friend..
      You are loved exactly where you are..and this wound is fresh and new so please be kind to yourself as you give it time to heal…

      Hi Sara,
      Thank you! You have such a kind, generous heart..and all that you share inspires me to try new and different..
      I’m glad you find peace here..it is my life’s goal to share such peace…
      I think life lessons are only “hard” when I am resisting something..I tend to think if I’d learned the lesson when it was first presented it wouldn’t have progressed to such struggle..For me, when I allow Fear to redirect my steps, there is a lesson to bring me to the path..By the time I had the cancer diagnosis last year it wasn’t lovely, but it wasn’t the devastation it would have been had I known any earlier…

      Much peace,
      Joy

  6. #7 by Talon on September 14, 2010 - 4:16 am

    Thank you so much, Joy. I adore Maya Angelou and that poem is one of my favorites of hers.

    It’s wonderful to celebrate and honour your phenomenalness.

  7. #8 by LL Cool Joe on September 14, 2010 - 11:42 am

    What a great poem and a positive post!

Leave a Reply

