Wednesday Wisdom: Your Astonishing Light…

Hi.  Thank you for visiting this space today!

I am *thrilled* to share this space with a guest author, whom I’d like to introduce you to.   I followed Tess from the Bold Life to read this amazing article that she wrote The Courage to Emerge for Brenda Strausz’s blog.  I love how these connections are formed..after I read Tess’ words, I found myself enthralled with Brenda’s site…The first delight for me was the caption under Brenda’s photo: “open to joy, peace, and love!”.. that says it all for me:)

As you will discover today, Brenda’s writing is quite magical.  When I visit her site, I feel refreshed and *alive*. Brenda’s energy is amazing, and all that she shares enriches my life..May her words today and what she offers through her website, touch you in some way…

Your Astonishing Light

 I wish I could show you when you are lonely or in darkness the astonishing light of your own being. –Hafiz

 It is the Jewish New Year, a time of renewal, a time to contemplate and atone for the things we have done to hurt others in thought, word and deed. It is a time not only to ask forgiveness and make amends to those we have hurt but to forgive ourselves, to stop beating ourselves up for not being perfect.
 
 I observe time after time that almost every client who walks into my office suffers from not loving themselves. They think they are flawed; they think that they are not good looking enough, not funny enough, not smart enough.  They clearly see their shortcomings and overlook their innate beauty and goodness.
 
I have my clients hold a clear glass ball in their hands.  I tell them that this ball can be likened to their essence.  I remind them that they were born as this beautiful ball of glowing energy . . .   they were beautiful babies full of joy and life. They laughed and cried with abandon. They didn’t care what anyone thought of them; they just fully embraced their whole being. They were free and natural and unconstricted. But sadly, this state of being doesn’t last. 

All too soon we hear words like, “Don’t touch that. Don’t cry. Be quiet. Sit down. Eat your peas. Go to sleep. Sit up straight. Do it this way. Just be quiet. You’re a geek! You’re stupid. You’re weird.” These words hurt and disempower us. Events happen beyond our control: divorce, physical or verbal abuse, illness, loss, school and social pressures. We are convinced that something is very wrong with us. 

And this beautiful glowing ball of light gets covered with weeds. We lose touch with our magnificent essence.
 
We need to connect once again to this essence. It is vital that we understand that all the old messages that we internalized were really just a story we told ourselves . . . not the truth of who we really are.  
 
We need to write a new story for ourselves keeping in mind that even though our past impacted us greatly it does not have to be our future. That our parents and others in our lives did the best they could with the resources and understanding they had at the time.  We can view ourselves with love and compassion as we would a treasured friend. And we can begin to visualize a future where we hold ourselves in high regard.
 
Emotional Freedom Technique uses a setup phrase that always begins with, “Even though I (feel sad or stupid or whatever), I completely love and accept myself”.  The meaning and beauty of this is in realizing that even though you have these problems or struggles, you are still okay.  That the problems in your life are just a small part of you, that there is much more to you than your problems. This realization gives us amazing power and control over our lives.
 
Author Louise Hay speaks of mirror work to reclaim our self- esteem. Looking in the mirror we can really see ourselves.  We can see that we may look sad, and we can look deeply into that sadness.  We can see our fear and look deeply into that fear. And we can be okay with that. We can see that we have been hurt by life but we still have kept going. And we can see how hard we have been on ourselves. Maybe we can notice that we need a little love, a little tenderness from the best person who is there to give it—ourselves. And maybe that is the beginning of embracing that beautiful light that has always been and will always be.
 
So what would it be like if you cared about yourself enough to say, “Life isn’t always easy, but I have never given up”?  What if you realized that you deserve to take really good care of yourself?  What if you finally made time for excitement, delight, creativity or time just to be?  What doors would open?  What would that open space feel like?

How would it be if you walked with a glow of love and joy around yourself?  And how would the glow coming from you affect the world?
  

Affirmations for the mirror

I love and accept myself just as I am.

I am a piece of the divine.

 I see the beauty and sacredness of my soul.

I treat myself with kindness and compassion.

I am a loving, gentle and kind person and I deserve to be happy.

Love flows through my body, shines in my face and radiates out from me in all directions.

Join me for an empowering teleclass:

Improving your Self-Esteem with Emotional Freedom Techniques.

In this class I combine the work of Louise Hay and EFT to guide you to let go of limiting beliefs that stop you from living with peace, love and joy! You will feel refreshed, recharged and alive!

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

8:30 pm- 9:30 pm EST

Cost:  $20

You can register at:  www.BrendaStrausz.com  

***Dear readers: Please share your thoughts below; from the names of those who comment, Brenda will pick one reader to receive a free spot in the teleclass offered this Tuesday.  To be entered in this drawing, please comment by Friday Sept 10th at 5pm EST. 

Thank you Brenda!  My heart overflows with gratitude for all that you have shared in this space today!

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Lori on September 8, 2010 - 5:21 pm

    Hi Joy,
    Thanks for introducing me to Brenda. I always love seeing new and friendly words. And, Brenda’s words are gorgeous! Thank you, Joy. Happy day to you.

    Dear Brenda,
    I love the affirmations you’ve listed. Also, thanks for the reminder about the Jewish New Year. Thank you for your kind loving words in my life today. They coming to me at just the perfect time. I like the work you are doing with the glass ball — what a great idea and perfect symbol.
    Much love to you both! Thank you.
    ~xo

  2. #2 by Sara on September 8, 2010 - 7:31 pm

    Joy,

    Thank you very much for sharing Brenda with us. You are right…both of you fit well together regarding your sites….lots of peace, gentleness and calm energy being exchanged. It makes this a very nice visit.

    Brenda — I absolutely loved the mirror affirmation. I think that’s a gift you gave us all. I also loved how you used the glass ball to help people see their own special magic. It’s funny I’ve noticed a theme with the sites I’m been visiting this week…it’s about being true to yourself and trusting your own innate beauty. It’s so easy to let the negativity of the voices of others drown out the positive voices within our own selves.

    I think this is a shared life lesson for many of us — learning to stop and listen to our own inner selves — those wise women and men that inhabit our God given souls.

    Thanks for visiting Joy and sharing your gifts:~)

  3. #3 by Brenda on September 8, 2010 - 9:24 pm

    Sara, Thank you so much for you kind words. Self-love is magical…when you love yourself … everything works in your life!

    I went to your blog and I am so impressed with your format and your writing! I know where I will be returning over and over!!

    Love to you Sara!!
    Brenda

  4. #4 by Sulwyn on September 9, 2010 - 3:58 am

    Joy and Brenda,

    Thank you for the beautiful words and being bold enough to share them. I love seeing others sharing uplifting things, especially in my own transitional time of moving away from identifying only with the hurting story and moving into the story of my power and healing. I really needed this today!

  5. #5 by Brenda on September 9, 2010 - 11:19 am

    Lori: thanks for your kind words. I am so glad that you liked the article and the affirmations! They really make a differrent. What a great blog! Sorry, I missed your comment yesterday…you made my day today!

    Sulwyn: I am so glad that you are done with identifying with your painful story and into embracing your magnificence!!! I can see your light from here! Wonderful blog. You have quite a story to tell!

  6. #6 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on September 9, 2010 - 12:00 pm

    What a fantastic guest post; thank you, Joy, and thank you, Brenda.

    I used to hang on to the idea that I was flawed — my past all but dictated that I end up broken, but just recently I decided to embrace the idea that while I may have thought I was broken in the past, it was nothing more than clinging to the thought that kept me that way. I’m quite fine… perfect, actually! There’s nothing to be fixed; just a beautiful human being to be loved and to BE love.

    I welcome love in all forms, and from a space of self-acceptance, I see passion brimming up in new, exciting ways on a daily basis. I am love. I am beauty. I am divine.

    So it is.

    Wishing you both a beautiful Thursday!

  7. #7 by Lisa @ Practically Intuitive on September 9, 2010 - 2:00 pm

    Hi Joy and Brenda,

    Joy, I have to say that Brenda’s style of writing really mirrors yours – great fit for a guest poster!

    Brenda,
    Like others, I also love the image of the crystal ball. It’s a wonderful way for us to really see the intricacies of who we are at a soul level. So many times it’s easy to be worn down by life and messages that we aren’t good enough that we lose focus on our potential.

    I’m bookmarking your site, Brenda – your message resonates with me (as does my pal Joy!). Amazing words and work! Thank you both.

  8. #8 by Brenda on September 9, 2010 - 7:06 pm

    Megan: I am glad you realize that you are not flawed at all and that you welcome love in all forms … music to my ears!

    Lisa: I love that you are comparing my writing to Joy’s … that is the highest compliment! And also nice that you resonate with the glass ball analogy…I do love that … it is so visual!

    This is so much fun!

    Warmly,
    Brenda

  9. #9 by Jan on September 10, 2010 - 1:34 am

    Brenda,
    After recently “meeting you” on FB, it is wonderful to see you “at work” here, sharing your wisdom, your own joy, and passion for life and helping others. As you may well know, the affirmation that I stand firm on is how important it is to show ourselves and love and compassion. This affirmation alone has totally changed the course of my life. May it be so for all of us!

    And Joy, thank you love, for having Brenda here. She is a treasure!
    xo
    Jan
    (Alias Buddha Chick these days…Absent from blogging, but busy creating!)

  10. #10 by Brenda on September 10, 2010 - 1:45 am

    Jan,
    Love the connections that facebook provides and here we meet again!

    Thank you for your kind words… it is so important to have self-compassion–I am so glad to hear how life-changing it was for you. Something moms don’t usually teach… right?

    I loved your recent teleclass and am thinking about Budda Chic … it is exactly where I am in my life. As I age, I seem to confront more and more situations where I need to learn to be a spiritual warrior!
    Take care,
    Brenda

  1. Fearless Fun Friday: Celebrate Your Steps.. | Unfoldingyourpathtojoy's Blog

Leave a Reply

