Learning To Fly…

Hello.  Welcome to my space…:)

As you read this story, may it inspire you to open your heart to delight, magic, wonder..and may you share this delight with those around you

On Friday, I wrote about wishful thinking–allowing magic to work wonders in your life..

One thing I mentioned in passing was that I had never flown a kite, but I wished to.

As the Universe works, that morning my friend called and said “Let’s go kitesurfing”…Ha!!  I love the humor in that.  *He* is an extremely talented surfer, and an excellent kitesurfer..and in all of the years we’ve known each other he has never mentioned that I join him.  *I* do not surf, and have just said I do not know how to fly a kite:)  On paper then, its looks impossible, right?  I chose to allow it to be possible by opening my heart to the signs I’d been given. 

On this day that I nonchalantly said I’d like to learn to fly a kite..and in this month that my dream board looks like such:

Do you notice the “soar” and the parachute, the “flying”?  As I created this board, I was drawn to the photos but unsure of where it would take me..Dreaming at its best–it’s not for me to know how it shall work, but to express my heart whispers…

My friend enthusiastically asked, so I said you know I don’t even know how to fly a kite?  And he laughed and said I’ll teach you.  Which is why I *love* him..because he makes extraordinary seem so very ordinary and in such a way challenges me to do things I’ve only ever dreamt of.

There was a marine layer over the entire coast..lots of fog, cold air, very cold water, the winds were up–a day we wouldn’t choose to sail in because it would be miserable, but the winds made kite surfing conditions ideal.  He piled all of his stuff into my little car and soon we were at the beach with perhaps 20-30 other guys who also thought it ideal to kite surf…

I’d like to mention here that the *only* perk I could find so far in this entire adventure is that I was the only female in this sea of very buff men.  Apparently you need to be quite fit for this sport..so eye candy got an A plus, which is necessary because it shows that my eyes were still open and not closed in fear…and when one is miserable and not at all sure they’d like to literally fly, any perk is reassuring…

I didn’t have my camera with me, so here is a small visual.  Very gray, cold day.  Blustery.  Every person has their own kite, their own surf board so there are kites and equipment over the entire expanse of beach as they prep.  Then, each person is harnessed to their kite, each in a wet suit because our local water temperature is always around 60 degrees, and the air temperature this day was quite chilly.  When they are ready, they pop into the water and take off, kites billowing above, surfboards slicing through the water.  The guys who are quite good can not only skim across the waves, but also pop the wave in such a way that they literally fly for as long as they can hang it in the air.  Not the technical terms, but my observations..and quite awesome to watch..

This very cute little old lady..the description fits..stopped and said she’s always wanted to talk to one of them but is too intimidated.  She was so cute..My friend was standing there taking a break, some of the guys were coming out of the water, and she was asking me all sorts of questions.  The one that tickled me most was: “what kind of people are these?” as if they are their own breed 🙂 So I repeated her question to my friend, which brought out his mega watt smile and he charmed this cute little old lady and she soon had the guys around us answering all of her questions.  And I know this encounter made her day–she was beaming from ear to ear and kept saying “I just cannot believe it”.  I also know that she was an Angel because she told me “oh honey you have to do this, you’re the only girl out there..I’m going to come back and see you fly”…

Sure I believe in butterflies and glitter and all..but we flit..not fly…among beautiful flowers and such…quite safe if you ask me..

Now, this is not a sport one can conquer on a day..it’s going to require that I get my previously cancer ridden body back into shape, it’s going to require that I trust my friend, it’s going to require that I trust myself..I can sail, I can windsurf, so I can do this…that I know..

But what is *this*.  It’s flying, literally flying.  I write in this space, I guide others in life..to soar..to fly…and here I am given the chance to learn to fly…And fear sets in, and excuses–very valid ones *grin*–flood my mind.  Although my heart says ah, girlfriend you are so made to fly!  my mind says, hello, what are you doing?  In my yoga practice, I set an intention for the day, then with each pose I do, each time I embrace or try something new or relax, or whatever it is within that practice..something in my life follows along.  Since this is my experience then, my question to myself is..if my goal out there is to learn to fly, well, shoot what will that do to my life?  I will be at heights I’ve never been before…in my life..ever…

And while you are with me through this adventure..you might be thinking, so what is the problem?  You will learn to “fly”..Yep…

Do I want to fly?  I never thought I could.  I never thought it was truly a possibility..

Yet..on the day I wrote I’d like to learn to fly a kite, and with my dream board as in the above..the Universe heard me, met me where I was at, and then..BAM..grew that to far more than I could have asked for..

My friends..I am actually learning to fly…The ocean and I get along quite well, so I have that part..now, it’s a matter of fully embracing that which I do not know, for in this case when I resist,  the ocean will eat me up and spit me out and I will have a choice to do it again only more relaxed, or to walk away…Can’t walk away now..I’m so in..I’m going to fly…

As for my friend..when it was done, I was so mad at him.  You wouldn’t expect that reaction, but it’s what happened…And I had to explain, I think my life is full and glorious as it is..then he drops in and brings me to these places in my life that I never knew existed, to the place I never thought I could go, to places most people do not go..And he does it in such a matter of fact way that I don’t even know I’m there…*until I’m there* holy cow..what am I doing?  Like a sneak attack, but he knows me so well, he knows this is how to present the extraordinary to me..make like it’s no big deal and just do it..Changes my life..and I think God made caller ID for a reason..because why, why do I want my life changed?  Oh, I know, because I’ve asked for it..My wise friend indeed..

So here are my two questions to you?  Think about it within your own life… Do you have a friend like that…the one who guides you past where you thought you could go…guides you with ease because they can…And when given the chance, would you literally fly?

From the world cup tour..comcast.net

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Patrick Jennings on September 6, 2010 - 8:56 am

    I used to dream, often, about being able to jump long distances, suspending myself aloft as if gravity only partially affected me. It was a very vivid and real dream, sensations and all. I had a difficult time explaining what it was like, until I saw kite surfers for the first time. Now, I just trot out a video and say, “There, just like that.”

    I think it’s time to take up the sport. Thanks for extending the dream beyond yourself. [smile]

  2. #2 by Tess The Bold LIfe on September 6, 2010 - 12:08 pm

    Hey Joy,
    This sounds and looks like so much fun! I loved the angel that appeared and asked so many questions! And then there’s the awesome fact you’re manifesting your dreams;)

    I would have to say Karl from Work Happy Now is my friend who believes I can fly. And yes given the chance…I always choose to do so! Isn’t life grand…fly on my friend!

  3. #3 by Lance on September 6, 2010 - 12:30 pm

    Joy,
    The universe works in some pretty magical ways!!

    And how cool!! You are flying!! And in ways you never thought you would! When we believe, really believe – in our dreams – and share them from a place of deep care – amazing and wonderful things happen (and in ways we may have never fully realized was possible)!

    So, so awesome!!

  4. #4 by Nadia Ballas-Ruta ~ Happy Lotus Lifestyles on September 6, 2010 - 3:05 pm

    Hi Joy,

    Don’t you love how the Universe works? I love how you shared what you experienced.

    As for your questions, my husband does that for me. He is my best friend and has always believed in me and encourages me in ways that often blow my mind. For example, when we first started dating, I told him about my dreams of how I would like to help the world. He told me that I could and would. Now all these years later, I am doing exactly what I said I would. He helped me to believe that it could happen.

    I am happy that you have such a friend too!

  5. #5 by Sulwyn on September 6, 2010 - 7:42 pm

    Wow, Joy! What an opportunity to take your trust to the next level! I’m still waltzing my fears along and here you are out starting to _really_ fly! How awesome is that? I’m looking forward to hearing more of you flying adventures!

  6. #6 by Tony Single on September 6, 2010 - 10:08 pm

    Joy “The Moonbeam” Kitesurfer Extraordinaire! Yup, I can totally see that! Next time, you must totally take pictures or it didn’t happen! (Just kidding!) 😛

    Sounds like a great day was had by all! Keep chasing after your dreams, kiddo! 😀

  7. #7 by The Exception on September 7, 2010 - 5:54 pm

    This is so very exciting!! I think we fly in so many different ways – and this is just a new way for you to fly. I don’t have a friend like that really – I am the one serving that role for others more than not – I do have a daughter like that though. Together we work to stretch the other – so yes, I have a friend that does that.
    And yes, should the chance arise – and when those chases do arise – I take them.

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on September 8, 2010 - 2:37 am

      Hi Patrick,
      Thank you for stopping in!
      And yes, I did think of Tom Petty’s “Learning to Fly” but thought my post was already quite long:)
      As I read your comment, I had the realization that my friend finds it easy to physically fly through participation in extreme sports and I find it easy to allow my heart to remain open and soar..we teach each other by sharing time and our passions…
      When you do decide to “jump in” please come back and tell me–how fun:)

      Hi Tess,
      I find that there is usually a presence to comfort me when I “need” one..in a form that I can relate to best in the situation..in this case the sweet lady..
      As for manifesting dreams..I’m learning from the best..I’m finding it quite fun and absolutely love the every day magic:)
      And Tess, I’m glad that you know Karl..what a wonderful person her is..I passed your compliment along to him…

      Hi Lance,
      Thank you!
      It is *amazing* how as you point out, when I open my heart and allow the Universe to work magic..*anything* truly is possible. I believe..I very much believe 🙂

      Nadia,
      Thank you for sharing..I love how you describe your husband and how he encourages and supports you…Watching as you realize your dreams inspires me as well..
      And yes, I very much love how the Universe works..it has taken me quite a while to get to this point of comfort with it all…

      Hi Sulwyn,
      It’s so good to see you here..I do hope all is well:)
      I was most resistant to the idea of this physical challenge..lots of fear arose..And this friend tends to lead me to internally challenging places..so I’m glad I began to embrace it all..even if my first steps were quite reluctant ones..
      And Sulwyn, you are healing and growing and blossoming..I greatly enjoy as you share…

      Hi TE,
      Thank you for sharing. I usually play the role of encourager/weaver of magic for those around me, so it’s awesome to receive when presented with the opportunity:)
      There are many ways to fly..I never thought I’d physically fly, and was quite reluctant..*very* unknown to me..
      I love this “together we work to stretch the other”..isn’t that what we do within our online community..my heart fills with gratitude for all that I’ve learned from you and the others in this community:)
      Thank you for taking chances, that inspires me when I am presented with one…

      Hi Tony,
      *grin* “Moonbeam” the very reluctant, perhaps she may fly, perhaps she shall be content bobbing inhaling the ocean while the boys fly…
      It *was* a great day, although challenging on many levels..
      And photos..shoot wasn’t even sure how to capture any of it…

      Much peace,
      Joy

  8. #9 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on September 9, 2010 - 11:53 am

    Joy, this was perhaps one of my favorite pieces of yours to read lately, as much for the fun as for the HUGE lessons you illuminated about how life works. We ask, we receive. We plant seeds, those seeds grow. We may forget that we ask sometimes, but the Universe has a great memory… And it’s FAST! Time is speeding up, so truly when our hearts whisper, I believe the Universe hears a shout and answers back with a “heavens, yes!” (smile)

    You are one such friend who reminds me of my power in subtle, new ways… You hold up a mirror and ask me to look at myself as the magic-maker I am. Thank you, dear friend… And besides that, you’re FUN! I love fun!

    Joy, here’s to soaring to great new heights in an easy, fun, love-filled way each day. Oh, and here’s to Italy… (wink)

  9. #10 by Davina on September 10, 2010 - 12:49 am

    That must have been SO much fun, Joy…

    “the only female in this sea of very buff men”, lol… that had to make your spirits soar, too. I love synchronicities like this. I don’t have specific friends like this in my life. Meaning, this happens out-of-the-blue (good pun, considering this post) and it’s not always the same person who steps up. Cheers to you and many more days of flight.

Leave a Reply

