Fearless Fun Friday: Break a Barrier…

Hi…welcome!  I am so glad you stopped by my little spot in the blogging world 🙂

On Monday, I wrote of allowing my children and I to honor our individual interests..Monday Blessing: Favorites…..

Well, soccer season has started in full gear, smack dab in the midst of summer break from school…We have soccer Monday through Thursday and Sunday– each session one and half hours..clear across town…far north of our boat.  If I worry about the details, I will think soccer is impossible for my family at this time.  So I give the details to the Universe and decide to enjoy the adventure in it.  My children *love* soccer so I shall allow for Soccer to fit into our lives.

I am open to pleasant surprises, so I was rewarded with one.  There are racquetball courts and a tennis wall near my son’s soccer field.  I used to be an avid tennis player and have spent many hours hitting the ball against the wall….So, I brought my racket and a few balls just in case.  I also brought a good book and my journal, just in case.

I tend to go around bare foot (of course..you would expect that from me..in the land of butterflies and glitter).  However, when we arrived at the field, I got my shoes out of the car and laced them, got my tennis gear and headed over to the courts.  My daughter came with me.  Such a beautiful afternoon..wispy clouds stretching across the bright blue sky, the sun shining and warm, a gentle breeze..glorious!  So, I held the racket in my hand, got out a ball, bounced it a few times..and began my tennis session..

On this day, I broke through a barrier.  In such a simple way, I’ve allowed for a shift.  I don’t share much about cancer for I don’t like to give it power.  This is the first time in months (since my diagnosis last Fall) that I’ve held a racket, or broke a sweat allowing my body to work so hard.  First I tentatively swung the racket, gingerly checking to see if I felt any internal tearing…nope..So, I played like that a bit.  However..I am most athletic and a few wimpy taps wasn’t quite cutting it for me…So, I swung, I swung hard, and smacked that ball against the wall, dug deep to return it, smacked it against the wall again..Alternated forehand, backhand..grunting, sweating, chasing that ball down..

Out of the blue, this man wearing a t-shirt that said something about pro tennis approached me.  He said he was watching and I have quite a swing and he had a few tips for me.  I told him I was really just messing around burning energy while my son played soccer.  What I wanted to say was..”Dude did you freakin’ see me swing..and return..did you see me run and chase down that crazy ball???  Because Dude, last year at this time I was being diagnosed with stage 3 cancer not knowing if I’d even be here at this time, and now..now I’m playing tennis!!!!”..Since he came out of the blue, I figured he was an Angel, and he already Knew this, so I let him show me some pointers…

I played some more..wonder filled that I still had it.  Joy filled that I could play..Then came the emotion..Dang cancer..smack that ball…You have no power over me, look at me now..smack that ball even harder to prove I’m strong..Are you kidding, you actually thought you could defeat me–I’m a Divine Goddess..smack that ball again..I have the power of the Universe on my side…smack…which led to..Dang friend who gets anxious and afraid and texts me mean and ugly things..smack that ball..you have no power over me..I am a Divine Goddess and your words don’t affect me..smack that ball hardest…Dang Fear..Ugly Fear…you build this barrier..smack that ball backhand, chase it down…this huge impenetrable barrier, and you keep people from enjoying the ease of life..smack smack smack..almost couldn’t breathe..

I thought about how a few years ago, when I was going through Separation and Divorce I held it together during the day for my children, then in the evening I would run miles and cry it all out, give it to God.  How I took up kickboxing, and I had no idea how to punch even regular let alone the various ways…how I could barely last a few minutes at the bag then I would be exhausted..yet soon as my stamina built I could kick and punch thirty minutes and enjoy it..I gave it to God..my heart might have been broken, but I gave it to God…

I thought about how I landed in an abusive relationship…and I would run miles, had the best abs in town..because each lap was reaffirming my faith, being aware of beauty, giving praise for all around me..so I ran many many laps, even though my spirit was squashed..I ran and gave it to God…I praised…and I grew physically strong..

I thought about how I took an intensive year to heal and grow and learn.  To become who I am today.  And how directly after doing all that I thought was ‘right’..I was diagnosed with cancer..and it took a lot out of me.  Fast forward one year and I have allowed the Fear to transform to Faith so strong, to Love so pure, to Peace so comforting…that I can entertain the thought cancer wasn’t my foe but my friend..

I am *that* woman of one year ago, yet so much more..I have built stamina..and I am not afraid.

That is the barrier I was able to overcome during my session at the courts today…and I very much look forward to my next session..one that is joy filled as I celebrate all that my body *can* do as well as the fire within..

You would think that was the ending..but the true ending is this: After my game I called a friend who I know needed some kindness.  During that conversation, I mentioned that I was soaring after my tennis game, after having not played since before my surgery months ago…and this friend basically said that doesn’t seem like a big deal, the festival you attended last week seems better…What???  So, I made the choice to end the conversation right then and there..because my friends support and encourage me, not shoot me down..And guess what? The woman of even one month ago didn’t have the strength or stamina to *do that*…may we stand together in the place of peace…

You are loved beyond measure exactly where you are, for exactly who you are in this moment.. Please celebrate that love…

May I ask, what barrier stands in your way that you may joy fully knock down?  take a few swings with me..

And if I may serve you in any way, please let me know..it is my pleasure to watch as you soar:)

Much peace,

Joy

This month of August, my heart overflows with gratitude, love, peace.  To joyfully celebrate this abundance, I am sharing my gift of clarity with All who wish to soar with me..For more information, please click here…Joyfully Sharing Clarity in August.  Please feel free to share this gift with your Loved Ones..

  1. #1 by Tony Single on August 6, 2010 - 2:14 pm

    Okay, big breath here… I teared up on this one, Joy. Oh my freaking goodness, you got under my skin in a good way. Phew. Gotta sit awhile… 🙂

  2. #2 by Lisa @ Practically Intuitive on August 6, 2010 - 3:24 pm

    (bow “Namaste, my friend” /bow)

    That was masterful, Joy. I am always struck by how you manage to put feeling to words so that even over here, in my own body, I can feel a bit of how you soared just hitting that ball. The cool thing is that you are all that you were but better – and a year from now, better and stronger than this. You GET it.

    Thanks for sharing this. It’s pretty profound. (hugs you)

  3. #3 by Lance on August 6, 2010 - 5:18 pm

    Joy!!
    Awesome!!! That’s YOU…out there…LIVING your life!!

    I just feel a real sense of energy in this today, and in you reveling in LIFE today! And that’s it…I really believe it – today is what we have. And how beautifully this day on the tennis court came to be for you!

    I DO celebrate that LOVE with you…dear friend…

    Much peace,
    Lance

  4. #4 by tobeme on August 6, 2010 - 5:22 pm

    You inspire me!!! Love your story.

  5. #5 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on August 6, 2010 - 9:56 pm

    What a brilliantly symbolic afternoon you had, and with each “smack” I could feel your energy shifting — could sense the release from deep within you.

    Wow, breaking through barriers; you’ve given me a new phrase to use, Joy. I found myself using it the other day with a friend, and he nodded his head in agreement. It’s the perfect time, globally speaking, for breaking through barriers. You represent a microcosm of what’s happening globally. How grand!

    Another phrase I love, by the way, is “You are loved beyond measure.” Such a beautiful sentiment.

    Here’s to our best lives ever!

  6. #6 by Tess The Bold Life on August 7, 2010 - 12:04 am

    Joy this should be sent in to some magazine contest or something! The smacking paragraph was very powerful. I love Megan’s idea of breaking through barriers globally. You are on the cutting edge my friend. And what a mom…making it possible for her kids to play soccer. You’re awesome.

  7. #7 by jitendra patel on August 7, 2010 - 2:13 am

    hello,
    ” joy ” ful madam,
    you are very strong lady. and now no problem you are ” safe “. because god also helping you all the way and lots of people wishing you the best.
    my wish.
    jitendra.

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on August 7, 2010 - 10:07 pm

      Hi Tony,
      I hope that your heart swelled because of happiness..certainly that is how I felt while living–then relaying–this story..*anything* is truly possible when we allow for it to be…

      Hi Lisa,
      Thank you and namaste…
      I felt a shift within my life even as I began to play..that I stuck with it through emotion to find the lesson was the reason I wanted to share…There is a level of trust with my readers..and I truly truly want All to feel magic is real and *anything* is posisble..

      Hi Lance,
      Thank you for celebrating with love..*that* is the joy of life and of sharing..You inspire me in so many ways..and I appreciate that!

      Hi tobeme,
      Thank you! The words and insights *you* share inspire me to live my Truth…and that is what I share on these pages..Thank you for reflecting to me in ways I can best identify with and incorporate into my life…

      Hi Megan,
      Joy filled one:) “You are loved beyond measure” allows for unfolding at its best..for breaking through barriers..for Love… My energy was, and still is, soaring..from raising my vibration, little instances like this allow me to be experience life on a beauty filled level and to be Aware with my Being…

      Hi Tess,
      Thank you! The smacking paragraph was my turning point..the energy while I was in it was amazing…and to think I have this opportunity every week during soccer! As for my children, I want them to listen to their heart whispers and to enjoy life…so I try to support their individual interests…

      Hi Jitendra,
      Thank you! I am blessed, and loved beyond measure…as are you..may we celebrate and enjoy life each and every day:)

      Much peace,
      Joy

  8. #9 by Talon on August 8, 2010 - 4:55 am

    To take the power back – that’s a beautiful thing. To look cancer in the face – that’s a scary scary horrible thing. You did both and you did it with grace.

  9. #10 by Davina on August 8, 2010 - 6:56 am

    Joy, you are a powerful lady; a swinging sister 🙂

    I used to play tennis just for fun and can really identify with this post. Plus, I love that you’ve put emphasis on moving your body to get through difficult periods in your life. That makes the world of difference. Thank you for sharing this; it is inspiring. I appreciate your courageous journey.

  10. #11 by Evita on August 8, 2010 - 5:17 pm

    Hi Joy

    The energy of this whole post was one of “release” – it is therefore that much more powerful.

    Yes, you released the past that no longer serves you. You released even the present reality, and decided to create one brand new. Your strength, courage and faith shine brightly.

    Know you are loved and good for you, for taking care of yourself so beautifully today, and inspiring the same in each of us.

    My barriers…. being the authentic me I am online, to the community around me… it is in progress… some fears have surfaced, but I am moving on and flowing with it, thus each day I continue to become new to myself.

  11. #12 by Alien Ghost on August 8, 2010 - 7:15 pm

    Hi Joy,

    Some tears…first for sadness for the medical condition and all the tribulations you have gone thru, then for happiness, for the outstanding courage and resolution that allowed you to overcome everything, grow stronger and even share good feelings and care for other people around you.

    You are amazing and an inspiration for all of us.

    Raul

    • #13 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on August 9, 2010 - 3:57 am

      Hi Talon,
      Thank you! I appreciate the kindness in your comment..
      I embrace each moment as it is presented and within that there is always something that fills my heart with gratitude..

      Hi Davina,
      A swinging sister–*grin* I like that:)
      I find if I physically move my body..such as running laps or playing tennis..I can then “move” through the situation on all levels..there is a huge mind/body connection that I embrace…

      Hi Evita,
      Thank you!
      I hadn’t thought of it in terms of release..but you are absolutely correct. I’ve released my former layer of self…something to celebrate then:)
      Thank you for sharing..each day I continue to become new to myself as well..it’s wonder filled and yet a bit overwhelming to continue to see what was once familiar in a new light…

      Hi Raul,
      Thank you! Heart tears are beauty filled nourishment for my ever blossoming garden..thank *you* for contributing to the abundant growth:)
      I’m going to share this with you..the tears I personally cried when I was diagnosed and processing the entire thing were to the reactions of those around me..rampant fear, sadness, shock, withdrawal, some expressed doubt in Faith..I accepted the change and now I’ve learned to find good within it all..while those around me still wrestle with the enormity of it…I only share pieces of it to inspire others to embrace the moment as it is presented, to allow your heart to fill with gratitude, to allow your heart to remain open through even that which seems to hurt…

      Much peace,
      Joy

  12. #14 by Wilma Ham on August 9, 2010 - 4:28 am

    Oh Joy, you soar and you deserve that so much. You have NOT closed yourself off from your heart even in circumstances where many of us do. You keep being the love that you are and I am not surprised when you say these inspiring words;
    Fast forward one year and I have allowed the Fear to transform to Faith so strong, to Love so pure, to Peace so comforting…that I can entertain the thought cancer wasn’t my foe but my friend..
    Love is such a powerful energy and you are such an example of what that power can do. How absolutely wonderful that you are healing so well. Much love to you, xox Wilma

  13. #15 by Meredith on August 10, 2010 - 7:17 pm

    What an amazing and inspiring post, Joy! So in awe of what you have been through, and who you have become. I am filled with gratitude on your behalf. It is so wonderful that you are able to break barriers, even now — and to set your boundaries more clearly than ever before. I have recently had to let an old friend leave my life, as well, as her energy was just draining and negative and determinedly stuck on dogma and judgment. I pray for her awakening, and I pray for me, that I learn to let go of any vestiges of those patterns in myself, and truly forgive.

    Yes, whack that fear! But also, cuddle the fear. Remember it is just energy that got separated from the whole, got lost, that can’t find its way back until you recognize it and accept it, too. F. (who is a former psychologist) was talking just last night about the classic illustration of the little girl who has nightmares she is being chased by monsters, and the only way to break free of them is for her to turn around within the dream (or hypnosis) and to see what the monsters look like, what they really are. And they turn out to be goofy or strange, maybe deformed but friendly, just big fluffballs craving her attention: in short, the emotions and traits and reactions and energy that she just cut off and stuffed in the basement because she couldn’t deal with them. Once you bring them into the light, they dissolve. Frankly, I’ve still got plenty of these fluffballs to rehabilitate, myself. 🙂

    Namaste, Joy. You are an amazing spirit — inside an amazing body, it sounds like!

  1. Monday Blessing: Rise Up | Unfoldingyourpathtojoy's Blog

Leave a Reply

