Fearless Fun Friday: A Special Poem…

Writing this post is a bit emotional for me..

In all honesty, I love to try new and different..if something scares me or puts me out of my comfort zone, to me it means the experience will be awesome so I purposely place myself in it…not scary as in dangerous to my safety (although sometimes), but scary as in unfamiliar, unknown, potential to be hurt emotionally…I turn off my mind and experience with my heart…

Which is why my heart has been blasted open lately…I’ve been trying new and different within my own life…which paths to follow, honoring my inner Truth even if it “isolates” me, boldly challenging myself to up the ante in my own life..open my heart further if need be..let it all in…

With delight filled magnificent results…

So, I found this blog that I love–fascinates me on many levels, because the author draws comics…with witty words, right-on humor, profound insights…and it fits into the above because comics have never held my interest…but this one absolutely fascinates me..The talent, the wit, the insight…teaches me and encourages me, inspires me, makes me wish I could draw *grin*…

So, I asked the author, Tony Single, if he would create something to help me celebrate a milestone.  You see as I prepare to step over my Threshold this weekend, I am releasing all that was in my thirties and preparing to embrace this new and different me..a milestone indeed.  I would like to point out that I need not wait until my birthday or a certain day to do this..however I wanted the decade of my forties to be magnificent so want to begin with magnificence..I set the tone internally for external to follow..

Hello, gentle reader. Let me introduce myself. I am Tony Single, co creator of  Trottersville.

 A week ago, Joy graciously invited me to share in her July Celebration by writing a guest post for her wonderful blog. I jumped at the chance. You see, I have appreciated Joy’s unique outlook on life for a little while now. I like her open spirit, and I like her willingness to just put herself out there no matter what people might think or say. I like that she does this with a gentle, joyous, lightness of touch. Only she could get away with it. It’s like watching a kitten licking a pit-bull on the nose and the pit-bull not minding at all! And lest that statement seem condescending in any way… well, it’s not meant to be. I’m being sincere!

 Anyhow, I set about writing a piece for my guest post, but after a week I realised that it just wasn’t coming together to my satisfaction. Rather than force it, I put pen and paper aside and looked through some of my writings for some inspiration. The poem you are about to read is what I discovered. I soon as I reread it, I just knew that I had to share it with Joy. I wrote this during a particularly intense bout of depression last year. Rather than gurgle further down that dark drain, I decided to commit to the page a prayer of sorts, to defy the blackness by looking to the light out there with some words of comfort on my lips. In short, I said what I wanted and needed to hear.

 I hope it moves you. It moved Joy, which makes me glad. It’s certainly meant to be a comfort and a celebration of the spirit for anyone who might need it.

dandelion

i am nodding in olden fields

but it feels like a whole new breeze

in this space between two times

i’m a soul scattering seeds

battered, lo, in weather stark

i’m broken within all need

here, upheld by mighty bedrock

so true and tried indeed

the sun, it rolls up none too bright now

then sets on the dreamt for prize

but i shan’t lose this stubborn hope

when all else surrounding dies

altho’ the frost it cake me

in weakness it not take me

nor quaking skies unmake me

because of you

my anchorage is in the rock

shan’t sway in the way of fear

and glorious resignation

it shall be had, right here

i long for graves hollowed of days

no shrivelled, mournful blues

for the chiefmost cornerstone

to regrow these fields anew

‘tis settled here for stumbling on

‘tis grace to comprehend

and so i’m kept from the devil flurry

to the rock alone i bend

altho’ the frost it cake me

in weakness it not take me

nor quaking skies unmake me

because of you

my anchorage is in the rock

the eternal dance right here

glorious restoration

it shall be had, no fear

all vistas getting bright now

translucent, dawning skies

i shan’t lose this stubborn hope

as death finally dies

so here i nod in olden fields

it feels like a whole new breeze

in this space between two times

i’m a soul scattering seeds

altho’ the frost it cake me

in weakness it not take me

nor quaking skies unmake me

because of you

© 2009 Tony Single

So, this is Joy again..look I’m emotional because Tony shared such a generous piece of his heart with me for this space… his words so accurately describe where I’ve been, what I’ve felt..are you *there* within those words as well???

And then, oh man *then*…I will share this because my heart overflows…I tear up writing this..joy filled tears..I feel Divine Love…this little blog has such amazing energy…Thank you!!!

Across blog land and spanning continents, somehow Tony *gets me*..I tend to love the “pit-bull’s of society”..people who feel unlovable but share the greatest gifts/teach me the most beauty filled lessons…love them with my Being..even though those around me wonder and then eventually accept and love them too because I do..When I live my Truth I am a conduit of Love… (*that* is the Answer I’ve been looking for all day–reaffirmed in so many ways–Divine!).

And then, Ginger– literally a pit bull– whom I loved in the short time she was on board my boat..(and Tony didn’t even know Ginger existed!)…and Ginger’s owner the most ease filled love in my life…both blasted my heart open from here to there so I’d never be the same and my Light shines brighter than ever… a “kitten licking a pit-bull’s nose” indeed..*Thank you* doesn’t even come close to expressing my gratitude, Tony…

May we all take a moment to reflect on the Light in our lives, and let that Light shine ever so brightly….We are loved beyond measure….exactly as we are….

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Giulietta on July 16, 2010 - 12:22 pm

    Hey Joy,

    Happy 40th this weekend! Welcome. Love Tony’s poem. These lines speak to me the most: glorious restoration, it shall be had …

    For me, fulfilling living began after I crossed the 40’s threshold. Reconnection to the fear-less life I started out living as a child and somehow became removed from in the deadening, caged decades that followed.

    Now my inner light house does shine brightly!

    Enjoy your post-40 life. Wonderful time … See you then … Giulietta

  2. #2 by Tess The Bold Life on July 16, 2010 - 2:33 pm

    Happy 40’s to you Joy!

    I’m thinking this poem is a gift for all of us as we move forward as one in loving-consciousness creating our new loving and peaceful world.

    “i am nodding in olden fields

    but it feels like a whole new breeze

    in this space between two times

    i’m a soul scattering seeds”

    I feel like we are living between the old (war, greed, hate, separation) and the new (loving, thriving, celebrating and joining!

    Tony, wow what an awesome spirit-filled poem.

    “the sun, it rolls up none too bright now

    then sets on the dreamt for prize

    but i shan’t lose this stubborn hope

    when all else surrounding dies”

    No matter how bad and hopeless our old ways and world appear I won’t give up and lose hope for the better…let it die.

    That’s what I took from this today so in gratitude I go forward walking side by side with you, Tony and the rest of our blogging community and those who will join us though still unknown.

    Happy Whole New World. xo

  3. #3 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on July 16, 2010 - 2:42 pm

    Joy, I am smiling at your ability to find some of the most uniquely inspirational people and things in this world, and pour them like wind into your sails.

    Tony, that poem was incredible. You have a massive gift, and I’m honored to have read a snippet of it here.

    Love and joy to both of you, today and always!

  4. #4 by Jannie Funster on July 16, 2010 - 4:20 pm

    I am always blessed by Tony and you, Joy sharing the very best of you.

    You are both so giving and inspiring.

    There is a rock, one that time cannot erode. The rock of love, which holds friends together in all kinds of weather.

    Blessing and love to you both, and all.

    xo

  5. #5 by tobeme on July 16, 2010 - 5:09 pm

    Thank-you for sharing such a powerful poem! May this time be a celebration of your life! Much love to you.

  6. #6 by Hilary on July 17, 2010 - 6:29 am

    Hi Joy and Tony .. thanks for the wonderful poem .. and the excellent way to hit your new decade .. the best years of your life ahead. A dedication to another person is such a wonderful thing to experience .. and we reach across the oceans .. have a wonderful birthday weekend .. and Tony .. keep writing, keep drawing and we’ll be there with you.

    Joy .. have a lovely weekend with the children and friends and family – captaining your boat forward to a fulfilled future .. the Dandelion will be with you now forever ..

    Happy Birthday .. Hilary

  7. #7 by LL Cool Joe on July 17, 2010 - 7:20 am

    That is a great poem.

    Happy 40th! Have a wonderful weekend!

  8. #8 by Keith on July 17, 2010 - 12:42 pm

    Hello Joy and Tony,

    Joy, welcome to the forties! I’ve been in it for four years and it is a wonderful place to be.
    I am blessed beyond words by the loving words I always find on your blog. I wonder if you’re even aware of the powerful energy for good that you are putting out there. You are impacting my life to be sure, and I cannot thank you enough.

    Tony,
    An amazing poem. My heart swelled with love and tears as I read it. Like Tess said, it is a poem that is spirit filled and because of that, I feel this poem is, for many, as meaningful to them as it was to you and Joy. Thank you for sharing something from so deep in your heart, as it has touched me deep within mine.

    Blessings and Joy to you both

  9. #9 by Keith Davis on July 17, 2010 - 3:54 pm

    Hi Joy
    “my heart has been blasted open lately” – sorry to hear that but thanks for still taking the time to put this post together.
    Gorgeous poem with a message in every line.
    I shall have to read it a few times to get the full impact.

    You are so right Joy… “this little blog has such amazing energy”.
    Thanks for passing on some of that amazing energy.

  10. #10 by Evelyn Lim on July 18, 2010 - 6:40 am

    Hello Joy, Happy 40th birthday to you! I am sure that you will find each new phase of life even more magnificent than the last!!

    Tony, it was great that you did not try to force anything when you could not find the right inspiration but chose a meaningful poem from your archives. Thanks for sharing its brilliance!

  11. #11 by Wilma Ham on July 19, 2010 - 12:42 am

    Oh how poems can portray so beautifully feelings that are otherwise so hard to describe.
    I have no words other than thanks, a gift for us from you for your birthday, thank you Joy and thank you Tony, you are both conduits of love, for sure. xox Wilma

  12. #12 by desk49/Ellis Moore on July 19, 2010 - 5:12 am

    Tony:
    I love the way you repeated yourself. It put a song like beat to your poem.
    It fit the 40th thing too. I hit the 30, 40, 50, 60 and headed head long into the 70’s thing. Each time I think will this is the end but then realize I still have a toe hold into the rocks and have lots more to give. Great job

    P.S. {HAPPY} 40’s Joy

    • #13 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on July 19, 2010 - 5:20 am

      To All,
      Thank you for visiting..thank you for your well wishes..*thank you*! I am blessed to have Tony share here in this space, blessed to have this Energy on my blog and within my life..my heart overflows with gratitude..and yes, my heart may have been blasted open..but that is a blessing as well..For in the newly opened spaces much Beauty and Love has been placed there…I am fully open to embracing each moment as it is presented to me..All is more than well:) Thank you to each and every one of you for what you share..Much peace 🙂

      • #14 by Tony Single on July 19, 2010 - 12:00 pm

        I would also like to add my thanks here. Thank you everyone for your kind words! And thank you Joy for inviting us to celebrate this milestone with you! 🙂

  13. #15 by Liara Covert on July 19, 2010 - 6:40 am

    To recognize we are energy beings is to feel that we are the essence of the dandelion, much like we are embodied in every blade of grass. As the sun shines, we feel that its beams of light also resonate with soul. We are not separate. We are, one love.

  14. #16 by Talon on July 19, 2010 - 6:40 pm

    Happy 40th, Joy!

    Tony, the poem is a stunner!

    “i’m a soul scattering seeds
    altho’ the frost it cake me
    in weakness it not take me
    nor quaking skies unmake me
    because of you” – superb!

  15. #17 by Evita on July 20, 2010 - 1:56 pm

    Hello Joy

    Happy (belated) birthday Joy! Your passion for life, your unique gift of seeing more, and bringing people together, sharing in special connections is so admirable. It is a good time to say that not only do I wish you all the best today and always, but I thank you for being the amazing person you are and my friend 🙂

    Tony, thank you for sharing your words. I am a poet at heart, I used to write a lot of poetry… these days I have taken to long articles/essays, but poetry will always be a part of me.

    The poem speaks volumes to me about the depth of human emotion and I thank you both for putting this all together and sharing it with the world!

  16. #18 by Sara on July 20, 2010 - 5:47 pm

    Joy — A bit late, but I send my birthday congratulations to you. May this new year continue you on your gentle path…and may you continue share your adventures and learnings with us.

    Tony — I loved what you said about Joy, especially the part about the kitten and a pit-bull. You are so right. Joy does have the courage and kindness to dare to lick the nose of the pit-bulls in life and then tame them with her gentleness.

    Regarding your poem about dandelions, it was beautiful. Dandelions have always held a special place in my heart. I love their persistence in light of the countless gardeners who can’t wait to rip them out of the earth:~) They, like you, know how to hang on when times get tough:~)

  1. Flicks, Tickers and Sailboats… Oh My! « T r o t t e r s v i l l e

Leave a Reply

