Monday Blessing: Yellow….

When I journal, I like to stream out three pages per a technique in Julia Cameron’s “The Artist’s Way”.  So, yesterday evening, I was in the cockpit of the boat reading and journaling in the bit of sun that decided to shine through the dense clouds overhead…I had my candle lit, and music in the background..peace filled…

The song that came on the radio was Coldplay’s “Yellow”..it used to be my absolute favorite..the ringtone on my phone, the song I joyfully listened to on loop as I ran my 3.5 miles around my harbor…and throughout the song, when he sings “It’s all yellow” Kevin would add “And Blue” and each time we would crack up…blue skies, yellow beings, laughter…Now that I am in my week of bliss…and I feel blue skies, yellow beings, laughter in abundance…my once favorite song was presented to me again…I wrote honestly about it all, wrote for a while..and as I wrote, the clouds dispersed and the sun was soon shining through!  I felt an inner healing that was manifested in yellow sun:)  And get this!  On the way to my shower this morning..remember I walk down the dock, up the ramp, down the sidewalk to my shower…a yellow kayak literally floated up to me…so the Universe works in wonder filled ways indeed!

You see, the song “Yellow” is to me such a beauty filled love song, celebrating the Love someone has for another’s Light…I wanted to know that Love, I believed it would be a possiblity in my life..I ran laps around this harbor joyfully believing in “Yellow”, joyfully praising the good in my life…I believed in magic, I believed in lovingly being folded in, I believed that God’s hands guided and the Universe provided,  I believed if I released and embraced and cleaned space and allowed it to be filled that my life would be one of joy, peace, discovery, adventure..I believed wholeheartedly..

And then…

Then was the period that I allowed hurt and fear into my inner circle, to misdirect me, to cloud my beliefs..and one day I guess I stopped listening to “Yellow”.  I felt joy, but not abundant joy.  I guess I removed it from my ringtone, and my heart…I didn’t want to look at the stars with clear vision because I didn’t want to notice that they were shining or allow them to *call me*…, nor to think about Love, nor any of it…As my regular readers know, I then stepped out of an abusive relationship and took two years to heal and grow and learn..and now the Universe presented me with “Yellow” at the most appropriate time because I *believe* wholeheartedly, with my entire being, that you and I are stars shining just as brightly as those above, we are so Loved–beyond measure–exactly as we are, where we are…

We are Loved beyond measure…can you feel it, can you absorb it, can you allow it to swirl around each and every part of your Being, can you share it, can you use it as the foundation to Live, Create, Laugh, Play….

Can you “look at the stars..and how they shine for you…all the things that you do”…

For this Monday’s blessing, I’d like to paraphrase the lyrics a bit:

May you look at the stars,

Look how they shine for you…

May you allow the brightness, the glory, the abundance

Of the night sky,

To guide you as those who study celestial navigation

Allow the stars to guide them to their destination…

May you listen to Chris Martin sing

“do you know, you know I love you so”

And feel that Love that he sings of…

Divine and beauty filled

Wonder and delight filled…

Love in so many forms..

Let it touch your heart in its wounded places

Let it touch your heart in its healthy places

Let it guide your life much as the sunshine

Peeks through the dense clouds some days and

Shines gloriously bright and warm on others…

May you allow your heart to be open to experiencing

“Yellow”…

Much peace,

Joy

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Jay Schryer on July 12, 2010 - 10:21 am

    Very cool story; very beautiful blessing. Thank you!

    In color symbolism, yellow is almost always associated with joy and happiness. In fact, some scientific studies have shown that it is the “happiest” of colors, psychologically speaking. It’s also the color of the third chakra, the center for personal power in the body.

    There’s a good list of the meanings if yellow here that you might want to check out:

    http://www.sobrietystones.com/resources/Colors/meaning_color_yellow_3.htm

    May you have an abundance of yellow in your life!

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on July 12, 2010 - 2:38 pm

      Hi Jay,
      Thank you!
      Your comment provided a pathway to amazing insight for me…I shall perhaps write a post about it but for now:
      Yellow used to be my favorite color, I used to be *that* Light and airy…in the last few weeks I’ve been realizing that I have lost sight of fun…if you’ve read my posts I’ve been open to fun and fun has been presented…or perhaps I am now Aware and accepting…
      As I come upon this milestone birthday I am busy releasing so my forties will be with peace, joy, Love, adventure, creativity, passion…with only a few more days before I step over the threshold, your comment has shown me that I am able to embrace happiness because I have finally forigven myself for the “mistakes” I thought I’ve made…On paper, in words, in actions I have healed those wounds; however I must have been carrying the residue in my heart…and now..well now I have released and feel light, airy, completely joy filled…this bliss I have been describing here…I am responsible for each of my actions, I am responsible for what I have allowed into my life, and I have now forgiven myself for what I had considered my ‘mis-actions”. Although I may look back and see how each layer has been laid upon the previous and was most necessary, I was holding on to something negative toward myself…and I have let it go..thank you for allowing me to see that…Will add a dimension to my celebration:)

  2. #3 by Lisa@Practically Intuitive on July 12, 2010 - 2:05 pm

    Good morning!

    What a joyful post! The song has a special meaning for me – my goddaughter Lauren, whom I lost to bone cancer in 2006 (she was 19), loved the color yellow and it’s the one we most associate with her. So whenever I hear this song, I think of her. And it’s such a wonderfully happy memory tinged with enormous longing for her to be back in our life again the way she was. She always sends me little reminders that she’s around (yellow flowers, rainbows and all kinds of signs … she’s “everywhere to me”) and I find comfort in that.

    (I also know to the very core of my being that I will see her again someday and we will laugh and be our dorky 12 year old inner goofs together.)

    So, thank you for the insightful post and a sweet reminder of my girl.

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on July 12, 2010 - 2:43 pm

      Hi Lisa,
      Good morning:)
      Thank you for sharing…how beauty filled…Love precious and true…a layer of your heart rich and full…
      This song for me is a reminder of sunny summer days with the convertible top down zipping around town, running many laps around my harbor praising for all of the good in my life, basking in Light of all forms..pure joy and Love…and you have shared such a wonder filled layer with me…My heart appreciates Knowing…
      You said : “she’s everywhere to me”..thank you Lisa…I needed reminding: we don’t ‘lose’ the people we love, Love just changes shape and morphs into something that fills our hearts…

  3. #5 by Peggy Nolan on July 12, 2010 - 6:44 pm

    Hi Joy,

    First: I love the song! But I love most Cold Play songs and also love my running playlist 🙂

    Second: Yellow – my first thought was the third chakra, Manipura. It’s purpose: mental understanding of emotional life and it’s spiritual lesson is acceptance of your place in the life stream. (self-love) Good stuff!

    Love,
    Peggy

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on July 14, 2010 - 2:05 pm

      Hi Peggy,
      One day I would love to know the titles on your running playlist…I love listening to other’s choices in music!
      Yes, chakra work resonates well with me…I am most mindful of it..has healed my life…And what you express is *exactly* where I am at in life…
      Thank you!

  4. #7 by Tony Single on July 12, 2010 - 11:22 pm

    Yellow is a friendly colour indeed. I think I’d like to be a “yellow being” and spread a little of the friendly too!

    Coldplay are a pretty decent group, and what a great song. I can appreciate why it has such meaning for you, Joy. The good thing about songs is that we can continue to carry them around in us long after we’ve heard them. Some only need to be heard once for that to happen. Just one of life’s many little blessings really. 🙂

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on July 14, 2010 - 2:07 pm

      Hi Tony,
      *grin* May I just say Cass will think life awfully different if after reading my blog you run around as a yellow being chasing butterflies basking in ths sunshine:) I can picture it now…
      Music is such an integral part of my life…I appreciate silence, but when a moment is to be filled, music is one of the best ways to fill it…

  5. #9 by Hilary on July 13, 2010 - 6:37 am

    Hi Joy .. as we go along our days .. colours can give us so much .. send us peace with their gentleness of shades, send us a riot of joy – a suddenness of a flush on a blooming bush, courage as we sit in nature .. so I love your post telling us your thoughts … and reminding us about the lyrics and Cold Play’s song .. beautiful ..

    Thanks so much .. Hilary

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on July 14, 2010 - 2:08 pm

      Hilary,
      “A riot of joy” I *love* that..thank you!! I’m going to carry that with me as I cross my threshold this weekend..”A riot of joy”…

  6. #11 by Sara on July 13, 2010 - 6:15 pm

    Joy,

    I loved that the yellow kayak floated up to you….what a great message. I enjoyed the lightness of this post. It’s obvious that your life has seen some storms, but that you manage to find your own sunlight…that’s so cool.

    Thanks for sharing this:~)

    • #12 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on July 14, 2010 - 2:09 pm

      Hi Sara,
      Thank you!
      Isn’t yellow sunlight?? And I happen to love the sunshine..I tend to bask in the Light even in the midst of storms…

  7. #13 by Jodi Sloane on July 13, 2010 - 7:05 pm

    This post made me very happy. Thanks, Joy! I am so glad that you continue to notice the miracles all around you. This song is one of my favorites, too. I LOVE it that you came across that yellow kayak in your harbor–how cool is that!!

    • #14 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on July 14, 2010 - 2:12 pm

      Hi Jodi,
      I do notice miracles..I *love* that about my life..I feel if I share them here, perhaps others may see their life is chock full of miracles too..We just have to be open to See them, Experience them…
      The yellow kayak floated right up to me..that is how each and every delight has been presented to me..I am ready, and it is *there*

  8. #15 by mespidee on August 24, 2010 - 6:33 pm

    Hey that was amazing… I have never even heard that song… thx for sharing this…. My first time reading your blog and you already given me a sense of peace

Leave a Reply

