Wednesday Wisdom: Signs..

Before I share with you today, I’d like you to take a few moments to read Oil Spill: Taking Personal Responsibility an incredible essay written by Tess sharing with us some very Love based ways we can make a difference in the oil spill experience….Thank you for exploring this with Tess…..

I write this from the clubhouse at the end of a very very long day…  I am grateful that I chose to live in a marina with a beautiful clubhouse overlooking the harbor that I love.  I am grateful for the beauty filled evening.  For the well-lit pool.  For my children who are awesome in so many ways..I write this with a gratitude filled heart.

This past week I have been asking God/the Universe for a sign as to whether or not I am correct in allowing my heart to lead.  If I am asking such a question, I have been hurt..only in the face of pain do I ever doubt.  I’d like to banish doubt and stand strong in faith, so I ask for a sign to help me along my way. When I Ask, I then try to be most quiet; immerse myself in nature; provide plenty of time for journaling, long walks, kayaking, looking at the night sky, basking in the sun.  I know to Listen, and I know to remain Aware for surely when I Ask, an Answer often appears in the form of a sign.  A friend once commented that the world is full of signs, how do you know if the sign is for you???  Something to ponder..today I am going to share with you this common occurence in my life..if I Ask, I shall Receive…

In a post two Mondays ago I spoke about ducks being on the dock as I walked..then ducks in my cockpit…Abundant Love.  There are often ducks in the water, sometimes casually milling about on the finger ways of the dock, but never in front of me blocking my path, and never ever *in my cockpit*.  I knew this was a sign. So, as I mentioned, I looked up the symbolism of ducks:  honesty, simplicity, resourcefulness, sensitive to their surroundings, beauty, agile, and adaptable to nature.  And I concluded then..*there* is the Love…..abundant Love, exactly as I know it to be.  Love is in honesty, simplicity, resourcefulness, sensitivity to my surroundings, beauty, agility, and being adaptable to nature.  Exactly how I live.

However, in life, there are times I don’t process the Answer completely the first time and I need reminding.  Sometimes I need the sign to be so straightforward I know it is for me, so ‘in my face’ that there is no doubt I am to Listen….This weekend–as I was still questioning–I was entering the boat, I went down the companionway stairs, and turned around to look out the open hatch..when in flew a duck..pretty much right in my face.  I screamed out of surprise and also a bit of fear.  As my son was patiently absorbing the beauty of the duck I was frantically thinking of how to close the hatch to keep the duck out of my living area.  Did you catch that??? *grin*  I–who believes fully in signs and had already researched the symbolism of ducks–was trying to close the door on…Abundant Love as I described above.  So, here I am asking for a sign..I receive the sign subtly at first then in my face…and I try to slam the door on it!!!!  I get it okay..I get it…

In all honesty, though, I have allowed my heart to continue to remain open through some devastating hurt this week.  There were some days the pain was great and I wanted to close my heart a bit to alleviate the pain. In my own life, though, I know to work through pain to dissolve it so it loses its future power over my choices…if I avoid it then I give it power…Still, in those moments, I’d like an ‘easier answer’ than to embrace abundant love.  I mean shoot, embracing this week has hurt quite a bit as I’ve begun to settle into this transition to Light Worker. I’ve endured some horrible conversations and texts from those reluctant to allow me to change.  (*That* is about release which I shall cover in a later post).  All of that was balanced out by incredible support and encouragement from those who surround me.  For a moment I let fear take over and tried to slam the door on the ‘duck’…but then I quickly turned off my mind and allowed my heart to rule..and *I’m back*.

As some of you know, for my son’s birthday we went to a theme park this past weekend.  In the middle of the theme parked, jam-packed with people…was :

right…are you with me here???  Incredulous!  Geese!!   The attendant rushed over to tell me not to pet the geese because they are wild and may bite and are absolutely not part of the park’s attractions!  My children were on a ride and did not believe as I stood there waiting that a gaggle of geese walked by!  Okay, what you do not know as you read this is that I had recently read Unity\’s Path Readings for June on Evita’s blog which among other things mentions the importance of swans this month.  And when I looked up the meaning of geese I found that swans, ducks, and geese are in the same family…So….

So, I obviously have my answer.  Unity’s article also mentions amazing information for the month of June, information that parallels exactly all that is part of my journey.  Signs indeed.  All around me in the forms easiest for me to process.

And last.  As I was receiving a text loop of criticism that was meant to wound me, and sure did…I was reading my email (my mind tends to disengage when I am being ‘yelled at’) and the very email that popped up was a surprise email from a respected friends partner with much praise for this path I am on, much praise for living my dream on the boat..much praise that immediately took the sting away from hurtful words.  Now, my journey is not about praise nor criticism.  My journey is about keeping my heart open completely so that I may embrace each moment as it is..about growing the good in my life so that when my garden is plentiful I have much to share with others.  My journey is about faith versus fear.  And when I Ask…I shall Receive..But it’s sure nice when Love immediately takes away the sting of pain.  Just like that!  Answers from God/the Universe before I may even question…

And one of the most inspirational signs of my week appeared through yet another email.  If you choose to watch the following video, you may then be compelled to keep moving forward within your own dreams…and you may even shed a tear (I did!).  May we all live and love with…

No Regrets 

So I ask you…when you wonder if you are on the right path, what do you do with that???  Do you look for signs within your own life?  When you are presented with them, do you acknowledge them or shoo them away? 

Much peace,

Joy

*Please join me this Friday as a few of our beloved blog authors share their adjectives of summer…*

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jay Schryer on June 23, 2010 - 4:55 am

    “Signs, signs…everywhere signs…”~Five Man Electrical Band

    I’m a big believer in signs. Whenever I ask for a sign, the Universe almost always provides one. I might not catch it the first time, or I might misinterpret it, but it’s usually there nonetheless.

    Most of my signs come from nature. Animals, yes, but also a sudden breeze as I ask my question, or a cloud passing in front of the sun, or the sudden scent of flowers or trees can signify that I am on the right path or not. The key is to remain open and aware, just as you said.

    Here’s wishing you many more ducks in your life. 🙂

    • #2 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 25, 2010 - 4:31 am

      Hi Jay,
      What a surprise…
      I believe in signs..so perhaps yours is a sign of peace…
      As I read your comment, I cannot help but think that I wouldn’t need so many duck visitations…LOL…if I remain heart centered and allow only heart centered to interact. I believe in and focus on good and pure..so I shall only allow good and pure in my garden..thank you for the reminder….

  2. #3 by Wilma Ham on June 23, 2010 - 5:16 am

    Oh Joy, I too am so telling myself to ‘pay attention’. Keep seeing what there is to see beyond pain, doubt, fear and worry. I love that you are being so loved that ‘signs’ are taking the trouble to become THAT obviously visible right in your face. Everywhere!
    Is this a wonderful world or what? I love that it is getting through to you even when life is not always that simple to understand in its weird ways. Egos attack, even what they love, it is hard to believe and hard to deal with. But thank goodness for ducks and other friends and an 80 year old woman who still goes for it.
    You go for it too Joy, Ho’Oponopono at its best, just as Tess taught us. Much peace to you, hugs Wilma

    • #4 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 25, 2010 - 4:24 am

      Hi Wilma,
      So many of your fantastic posts have been about paying attention..a great reminder to me to keep my eyes open and my vision clear…
      It *is* a wonder filled world..
      Your comment says so much, Wilma, and touches my heart..so thank you! Thank you for your support in all ways…

  3. #5 by Aurora on June 23, 2010 - 11:31 am

    That video was excellent. Janey Cutler’s No Regrets was a treat!

    And so was your article – a “duck” for me. Not only was it insightfully written in pointing out some things I need to keep clear on, but it also was a sign for me.

    I have been saying I have been reducing the drama in my life, and yet have a friend who is enmeshed in it. It is time to let go of her, and I had been hesitating. No more, it needs to be done in order for me to be healthy on my journey.

    You wrote so well about processing the answer completely. THANK YOU.

    • #6 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 25, 2010 - 4:18 am

      Aurora,
      Thank you for stopping in!
      Janey is certainly an inspiration..may we all have ‘no regrets’…
      If my words were a sign, then I’m absolutely glad you stopped in today!!! The Universe works in wonder filled ways indeed..do those birds know how inspirational they’ve been??? *grin* I shall feed them something special later…
      As for your friend..perhaps your friend is a symbol to you of drama, and since you are ready to release drama, you are ready to release the importance of this connection…

  4. #7 by Sulwyn on June 23, 2010 - 2:54 pm

    I ask for signs but then I have a great ability to ignore them or write them off as inconsequential. Not at all a healthy ability, but I am working on it. Of course, it hasn’t helped that in the past the only “signs” that meant anything (or were obvious) were absolutely gut-wrenchingly horrible events. In so many ways I feel that I am just a little baby, learning how to live all over again and spending more of my time falling than anything else. So I spend my days in my small little world slowly opening doors and discovering who and what I am meant to be. Things I feel I am doing many years too late, but I suppose better late than never, right?

    • #8 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 25, 2010 - 4:12 am

      Hi Sulwyn,
      Ah..I have *that* ability too..which is why sometimes signs are presented right in my face so I may not ignore them..they are *there*…
      As far as signs only in horrible events, I do believe there are positive signs..my life is guided by them..but I need to be ready and Aware as to what I focus on; which is why I focus on only the good so I grow only the good..I’ve been in gut wrenchingly horrible but I learned early on to release it so I may soar…I happen to love the idea of the freedom of flying..which is why I literally like sailing..my skill level is such I can make the boat fly over the waves…
      Your analogy of feeling baby like is awe-some..perhaps you are returning to your previous innocent like state and trust of the world..what a beauty filled way to live!!!

  5. #9 by Evita on June 23, 2010 - 9:57 pm

    Hi Joy

    Oh I cannot tell you how much I love ducks and geese – and they are SOOO abundant in my life. When we lived back in the city, we had so many Canada geese everywhere. They were in every local park… almost any green pasture. It was a pleasure to connect with them and marvel their beauty, their stillness, their grace.

    Now living up north, on the lake there are tons of ducks – more so now duck families. I have taken numerous photos of the baby ducklings at every stage – I just adore them. I feel they are amazing symbols of love.

    I am sorry to hear that you had to go through whatever painful moment(s) you had. I would say please don’t ever doubt yourself and path you are on, but I feel that you know this very well within your heart.

    There are people who may never (at least in this lifetime) understand how or even why to live life from a place of love and light. But that is their journey and they need not impact ours.

    As to being on the right path – I “feel” for it within me. But I also love signs and could probably make even better use of them.

    In the end, know you are exactly where you are meant to be, and for those who may not understand it – allow their thoughts and feelings to flow through you, without getting attached. I believe each one of us on the planet today (just saw 5, 5, 5) as I am writing this, has to deal with their own inner peace, and for those not as open to their inner being, it may come out as extra big anger, rage, putting another down, etc…. Just make sure you never allow another to abuse you. Being nice, does not mean we have to put up with other’s poor treatment of us.

    Much joy and love to you always 🙂

    • #10 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 25, 2010 - 4:07 am

      Hi Evita,
      Such Energy in your comment–thank you!
      Beauty, stillness, grace..all within my heart that I needed reminding of..within all of our hearts…
      Baby ducklings are precious indeed..just following along behind their mama with their siblings…
      Thank you for your support. I needed to read your words; you reflected to me 8that which I know* but allowed pain to temprorarily lose sight of. I knew when I was in the moments that Fear was at work..my own fear mirrored back to me by somone I trusted..and their fear magnified by change…My heart is open as always, and I am absolutely on the right path. Doubt allowed me to confirm that…
      In my life, I too ‘feel it within’; I think the Universe uses signs for me to reassure me since I’m often the leader of change/new and different so don’t always have footsteps to follow…
      Everything you shared here, Evita, is from your heart and my heart accepts that words and the sentiments..Thank you!!

  6. #11 by Jannie Funster on June 23, 2010 - 10:32 pm

    I think the ducks are telling you that “Birds of a feather flock together” and you should stick only with us birds who love and appreciate you. And be open to new love that is waiting for you. Much much more love is on the way for you.

    Have not yet gotten over to that Tess post you speak of, but I know it will be good when I do!! She rocks!! And so do YOU!!

    xo

    • #12 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 25, 2010 - 4:02 am

      Hi Jannie,
      Wow! Thank you so much! I needed your perspective on this!!! You took my wounded place and gave it fresh Light… I am actually celebrating this “birds of a feather flock together”!! I’m incredibly blessed to be in this circle and am full of gratitude each day!! Oh yeah, bring on the chocolate cake and balloons…shoot or shall I say breadcrumbs???

  7. #13 by Tony Single on June 24, 2010 - 12:59 am

    I agree with you, Joy. Tess’ post this week was great. Enlightening. I’m glad I read it, and I’m glad I’m here now to read about all you’ve been doing and thinking this past week. It’s a privilege. 🙂

    The thing that stood out for me in today’s post is ducks. I happen to love ducks a great deal. Michael Leunig an Australian cartoonist that I regard very highly (and even many people who aren’t into that sort of thing) often has ducks in his cartoons. They represent hope for him, and I can understand why. What’s not to love about the resolute way they waddle through life? And their quirky quacks? These little guys make me smile EVERY time, and for that I am grateful.

    • #14 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 25, 2010 - 3:59 am

      Hi Tony,
      Tess is awe-some; I’m blessed to know her…
      As are *you* awe-some; I think reading your blog expands my creativity and opens my mind in wonder filled ways…
      You would be smiling all day here then…ducks are everywhere..just usually *not* in my cockpit! Now I shall notice how they waddle and quack…:)

  8. #15 by Talon on June 24, 2010 - 2:58 am

    I’m a bird freak (thus the Talon) and I think the universe definitely gives us signs. I tend to get signs more when I’m veering off my path then I do when I’m on the right one. And I’ve found, like you have, that when you don’t get the sign right away or you try to ignore it, it comes back again and again and stronger and stronger until you simply have to stop and ask why and what it represents. Always a reminder that we are not alone on our journey even when it feels like we are and that there are answers to the questions we ask silently. I also find it comforting when you get confirmation signs that you are, indeed, on the right path.

    • #16 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 25, 2010 - 3:50 am

      Talon,
      I’m not necessarily a bird freak, yet I’ve been noticing an abundance of a variety of birds all around me. At the same time that my dreams are taking flight…my Being is soaring…as Jannie said may we all flock together..I *love* that!
      Many times I tend to ‘need’ repeated signs as I don’t always accept it fully the first time around. I am Aware of signs as guidance tools at all times–right or wrong path…My children find it fun and unusual as they are becoming aware of the signs around us…

  9. #17 by Evelyn Lim on June 24, 2010 - 9:14 am

    Lucky you! To be surrounded by signs. Ducks, geese, ducks and more! Thanks for the heads up about what they mean. I would like to believe in signs. But sometimes, my own skepticism get in the way. It is great that you kept receiving the same signs, allowing you to be aware that your prayers or requests have been answered!!

    • #18 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 25, 2010 - 3:46 am

      Hi Evelyn,
      I do believe we are all surrounded by signs..however, sometimes Fear blocks our vision or redirects our steps to avoid that which we truly know. In my life, external signs are physical representations of what I know to be true in my heart..a bit of reassurance/guidance from the Universe in a way I can best relate to.
      I think since you do so much work with visioning that your signs are the photos/quotes/creative measures you include in your boards and cards…the difference is you also facilitate the creation of them..whereas in my life I may not ‘create’ them, I have to be open to be Aware of them…

  10. #19 by Lisa@Practically Intuitive on June 24, 2010 - 6:28 pm

    I love asking for signs. I always get them, like you. The trick, as you’ve mentioned, is paying attention! Mine are blue balloons. 🙂

    Lovely post – and you are so right – the only way out is through. Keep on going through!

    • #20 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 25, 2010 - 3:40 am

      Lisa,
      Thank you!
      Blue balloons…fantastic! Do you know the symbolism???
      The only way out *is* through..I have that quote on the wall of my boat…Sometimes Fear wants me to go around, over, under, but if I skip the lesson I know that later in life I will regress back to learn it..so I *try* to learn it as i go…The key for me is to recognize fear and center back into my Heart..

  11. #21 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on June 24, 2010 - 7:15 pm

    I second Jannie’s comment that you should flock together with those who uplift, support and bring out the parts of you that you most want to dwell in! (Well said, Ms. Funster!)

    I can’t swing a dead…wait, that’ll be a bad phrase to use here. I see signs everywhere. Started with hawks when I was 25 and first started on a my spiritual journey. I’ve had two separate hawks nearly hit my car – they were flying so low and RIGHT ON TOP OF ME – and another who got so low when he swooped me that I could practically touch his belly feathers.

    Then there’s spiders, and ants, and birds, and foxes (oooohhh, I love those foxes!), and radio songs, and emails, and texts, and… The Universe is so creative in how it speaks to/with me. I just love it!

    ~And I love you~
    Stay open, moonbeam, and keep shining your light!

    • #22 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 25, 2010 - 3:36 am

      Megan,
      Jannie is certainly the Queen of energy today on this blog!!! She brought with her perspective to allow me to see who I am and whom I’m surrounded by…
      Hawks..did you see hawks when you were here? They circle above the park and fields soaring high..such an amazing wing span…
      Thank you for reminding me of how creative the Universe can be…I am Aware of signs…but you’ve reminded me of how diverse they can be, and the key is to remain open and aware..
      Precious, Megan..thank you!
      And *this moonbeam* is celebrating the almost full moon high in the sky above my mast..talk about Energy!!! And Divine timing:)

  12. #23 by Tess The Bold Life on June 24, 2010 - 10:08 pm

    Hi Joy,
    I so appreciate your love for me and know I send it back tenfold! I love what Jannie says and I almost missed out on the “great gathering of the ducks over here!” Jannie’s sign today on her blog is amazing and she says how you inspired her as well. As for the “young” constestant I’ve sent it to all my older adult wise friends and they loved it too!
    Keep your heart open and continue to transcend above the physical world. We need you for the important stuff. Love ya more. xo Tess

    • #24 by unfoldingyourpathtojoy on June 25, 2010 - 3:32 am

      Hi Tess,
      Thank you!
      I am celebrating this unexpected great gathering of ducks!!! Talk about making sweet lemonade indeed:)
      My heart is open as always..just learning as I continue to embrace the wonder of life and create and share beauty. Thank you for the love–I receive it gratefully:) And the ‘young contestant’ is whom I hope to be at every age–a woman willing to dream to big and to allow Energy to surround those dreams as my Being soars in delight..amazing, fearless….inspirational!
      Thank you for all of your support…

  13. #25 by Hilary on June 25, 2010 - 6:49 am

    Hi Joy .. it is so important to realise that we have so many blessings that need to be counted, it is so easy to forget .. friends here are pretty aware .. but so many if life just go from one step to another without the realisation of the larger world around them.

    I look forward in a few weeks when I can be more settled and can be more quiet and reflective so I am able to absorb (more easily) your thoughts and everyone’s comments ..

    Be peaceful and restful and with thoughts Hilary

  1. One Incredible Cloud | Jannie Funster

Leave a Reply

