Fearless Fun Friday: A Quickie….

Ha…I knew “A Quickie” would grab your attention…..*grin*

I’m definitely a proponent of fun.  *Everything* I do shall be with an open heart, wonder filled, joy filled, fun filled.  The moments I feel anything different from that, it is my choice to release the negative and embrace the positive and *make it fun*.  In fact, if I feel anything different from wonder filled, joy filled, fun filled, then I *choose* to find the fun in it.  It’s my inner *perspective* that needs altering, not anything external.  I have no control over external, all kinds of control over internal.  My life is a direct reflection of exactly how far I allow my heart to open, exactly how strong my Faith is, exactly how many moments I’m embracing wonder, joy, fun……

In my life, the months of June-October are prime sailing season.  Prime beach season.  Prime barbecue, beach bonfires, lazy days at the pool, lazy river at the water park days (we really have a lazy river at the water park–I do nothing but float on a raft all day long!), hours of  letting the sun warm me, enjoy the sunrise/sunset/ brilliant night sky, quality time with my friends….I love this season for all that it brings to my life.  Abundance plain and simple.  Because I recognize the abundance, I tap into it, I revel in it; and I teach my children the same, I share it with those around me….*joy-filled* indeed.  I find it absolutely necessary for my Spirit, my Soul, my Heart to experience joy filled in abundance to balance out challenges and allow for new opportunities…

And yes I do all of this while working full time and being a single mom to my two young children, so you may list one million excuses, but really they are just one million barriers to fun….

Ah, but the warmth of the sun is making me ramble….My point here today is twofold:

  • Identify what *you* consider fun-what delights your heart– then just do it….We all have a list a mile long of responsibilities, obligations, *should’s*, most valid excuses…..so work on that list a bit each day so that you make take the time to enjoy life, revel in pleasure, *live*.  Guilt free. This earth is our playground…so play!
  • Share it.  I think wonder, joy, love, delight, is best when shared…..there are times to experience alone, but there are also times it is effortless to reach out to someone and share the moment.  Someone within my circle…better yet…someone *Outside* of my circle..*That* is fearlessness.  Does it cost you anything to invite someone to your BBQ, pay for the person behind you at the water park, encourage a mom struggling with her baby at the beach, point out a brilliant sunset to someone looking the other way…..

A “Quickie” indeed….a spontaneous burst of pleasure that you internalize for yourself, yet joyfully share with someone else (you have to love the spin on *that* phrase:)  And humor…find the humor even as you are standing in a long line, your significant other doesn’t want to participate, your food is burned on the grill, the sunset is over before you’ve viewed it….the Universe has a sense of humor, tap into that and make it your own….

Much peace,

Joy

  1. #1 by Jay Schryer on June 4, 2010 - 1:14 pm

    “The Earth is our playground – so play!” I love this line! I think that too often, people get caught up in work and responsibilities, and forget to play. Even when their work is done, they’re too tired to enjoy their downtime, and so they don’t take the time to play.

    To me, a balanced life means taking some time every day to play. It might just be a few minutes, and it might just be something simple that I enjoy, but I make time to play. It’s what keeps me young at heart. 🙂

  2. #2 by Chania Girl on June 4, 2010 - 1:55 pm

    Dear Friend Joy,

    You are always welcome to come over to my house to play. I have asked G, and he says it’s okay. The weekends are the most fun time. We cook out, we drink beers, we lie on the beach, we go for coffees. Which one would you like to do? I bet you want to do all of them.

    When you come, bring your swimsuit, your sunscreen, and an empty stomach. (I also think buckets and shovels are a good idea too). I already know you will be wearing a smile.

    Now, can you pass this letter on to God for me? He may need to take care of your plane ticket.

    Your friend,
    C

  3. #3 by The Exception on June 4, 2010 - 5:45 pm

    Ah – Play… I love it. Sometimes my greatest challenge is changing my mood so that I am not frustrated at whatever it is in me so I can see all the fun and the amazing world around me. There is truly abundance – and the wonderful part of life is opening the heart to see and accept it.
    Have a playful weekend Joy!

  4. #4 by Amy on June 4, 2010 - 8:24 pm

    It is the dawn of summer! I’m ready to enjoy lots of beach, pool, park, lazy river, and backyard time with friends and family. Looking forward to seeing you and the kids tonight at Gage’s birthday bonfire tonight!

  5. #5 by Amy on June 4, 2010 - 8:24 pm

    That was a lot of “tonights”…lol.

  6. #6 by Tess The Bold Life on June 4, 2010 - 9:42 pm

    Hi Joy,
    Going to visit my grandchild Henri this week. Last time I taught him to play hide and seek behind the drapes in his home. He would get so excited he’d run to hide, bang into the wall, fall down and get back up again to hide;) He’s excitement in action.

    Which month would you like to schedule our play date? My calendar is filling up;)

  7. #7 by Hilary on June 5, 2010 - 7:44 am

    Hi Joy .. you absolutely identify what I should be doing .. making time in between the ‘chores’ of the day .. to be out and about enjoying the summer sun (here at last!) .. we can all get far too tied up with daily necessities – without realising the jewels of nature out there .. thanks – loved this post .. have fun .. Hilary

  8. #8 by Megan "JoyGirl!" Bord on June 5, 2010 - 11:01 am

    Joy, I love how you pointed out that we should find things that WE find fun. I was talking to someone about that yesterday — how I redefined my life last year to be FUN & EASY. (And just like “quickie” is a fun word, my friend had a heyday with “easy.” !!) What’s fun for me may not be fun for someone else. And what’s more, if I used other people’s definition of fun, I might think I’m NEVER having any fun in my life… And that’s not the case!

    Fun for me is laughing on the phone with those I love; drawing stick figures on card envelopes to depict something a friend and I did, and then sending her a letter with said drawings, knowing she’d burst out laughing when it arrived; mowing a big lawn (and rocking it!); cooking up a new recipe; acting childish and goofy with those I love…

    This weekend shall be all about FUN!

    And love. Always love. (smile)

  9. #9 by Jan on June 5, 2010 - 1:09 pm

    Joy, I love this post, especially the sharing part. Indeed, what does it take for us to invite someone in to our world? We are very blessed to have a beach on a beautiful Bay, part of the Great Mother inland ocean (Lake Michigan). Often we take our beach fires for granted, but when we invite others to share in the fun, there is such joy.

    Two summers ago my 80-year-old mom and her partner were with us for July 4. We had a beach fire. As we sat around the fire, her partner (an 82-year-old dear, dear man) said he had NEVER experienced a bonfire – ever. I was shocked and felt sad that he hadn’t, but overjoyed that we could give him this opportunity. Then the offer of smores. Of course, he did not know what a smore was. Yep! Loved it. And we did too.

    Your heart is so full, Joy, and we are blessed to receive its outpourings. I hope you have a blast this weekend! xo

  10. #10 by Jannie Funster on June 5, 2010 - 4:42 pm

    Wow! You work full-time too? Hula hoop instructor, right? Or should that be instructress??

    Wait? No Lance here yet?

    Impossible!

    I never beat that guy to a post. Ever. 🙂 Better hit Post asap, he could be furiously typing away up there in the land of cheese and marathon training.

    You must have a great tan, eh? (I’m Canadian, eh?)

    All that lazy river hula-hooping. So bronzed and happy.

    xo

  11. #11 by Lance on June 6, 2010 - 1:59 am

    Hi Joy!!
    If I hadn’t been chasing the cat through the house (for fun!!) – then I might have beat Jannie here!! I’ll try harder next time (grin!).

    Fun moments are what make life so enjoyable! And I’ve come to believe they can be just that – just a moment – or something much long (like hanging out on that lazy river all day!). I watched two of our kids go sliding in the mud…for fun…during an afternoon rainstorm today (since it was chilly outside…I passed on this *ahem* fun…).

    Love the quickie here today!!

  12. #12 by Wilma Ham on June 6, 2010 - 9:57 pm

    I have my fun in holidays, I always made sure I had 7 undisturbed weeks in nature, camping. Now I am in for more fun than that, my whole life is aimed to have joy and I am getting there.
    I agree, there are no barriers to joy, that is ego talk, we are here to enjoy this beautiful playground every minute we breath and I am working on it even when I am *working*.
    Much joy and love, Wilma

  13. #13 by Joy on June 7, 2010 - 1:15 pm

    Such fun!!! I will respond to all of your comments by the end of this day…Lots of Light:)

Leave a Reply

